We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Maharaja”
Review of Rambagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rambagh Palace
Ranked #3 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Live like a Maharaja”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Former palace set in immaculately-kept grounds with vintage cars, an old steam train, peacocks and other birds, patrolling horsemen and lots more to amuse and impress. For a special occasion e.g. honeymoon you can even order a royal reception with elephants, camels and dancers. Rooms are equally impressive. Ours had superb view onto gardens. Stylish bathroom, though getting in and out of bath might be a problem for anyone with limited agility.
Service is very good. After a couple of minor problems on the first day of our visit the staff pulled out all the stops to make sure the rest of our stay was perfect.
There are two pools indoor and outdoor. The indoor one is larger and in a spectacular hall, but it is unheated and just to cold even for a fairly hardy Briton like me.
The extensive grounds mean the the rooms are quiet, though the noises of the city can't be completely excluded.

Room Tip: One looking onto garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Sir,

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel.

We thank you for the feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely invaluable as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We are concerned regarding the shortcomings during your stay, which are being taken up with the concerned departments in order to take corrective measures for the future.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    139
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
425
692
58
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Apart from not allowing us to have an extra bed for our 9 year old son in our room like all other hotel we've been during this trip, our stay was more than excellent. We had to book two rooms but we were upgraded to a Heritage Suite and connecting room, we end up having more than 100 m2 of room!

The hotel is an old palace of the local maharajahs and is worth a visit by itself. Reception with guided tour ending with welcome glass of champagne is just brilliant. Having a receptionist take our son around for a tour in horse cart and vintage car was just over the top.

The fine dining Indian restaurant served us the best Indian food we ever had (and we had a lot).

Staff is always friendly and helpful; drinks and food prices are similar to same level hotels.

By a long way the best hotel we've been to in our 12 days in India this year.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are brilliant and big, heritage suites are huge. Must try the fine dining restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LePoulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The bar at this hotel is one of those places you want to chill and drink g and ts.The waiter here was first class(sorry I don't know his name because he got our best waiter vote!)
The service at this hotel is outstanding with one exception, afternoon tea when we were served
by a really surly inefficient bunch.
The rooms are tastefully decked out.although rooms in the inner courtyard area have windows that look out onto the albeit beautiful corridors,but you would need to keep the curtains closed for any privacy.We were upgraded to a beautiful suite for our last night(and it looks like some of the actual named suites would be mega).
The hotel reception is filled with rose petals and smelt divine and we were each presented with jasmine garlands on our arrival.One of the restaurants is the most opulent room I've ever dined in.

Room Tip: If you can afford it one of the named suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The tariff for Rambag is quite high in comparison to other hotels in Jaipur, but when you are treated as good as royalty suppose it is well worth it. We were in Jaipur for a couple of days and decided on Rambag only because of an off-season discount offered after a lot of coaxing. The property is huge with the verdant gardens, lots of peacocks and abundant greenery

We loved the buggy ride in the evening and the tour of the palace especially the polo club and complimentary champagne. In the evenings dinner was organized at the patio accompanied by live Rajasthani dance and folk music. They also have a replica train station on the property which now houses a restaurant.

We were pampered by the staff and enjoyed the complimentary cholocate delicacies every evening. Also, the lovely and soothing lighting of the palace grounds in the evenings is just fabulous

All in all we came back with a royal experience!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We loved our stay at the Rambagh Palace (which was actually a palace used as the home of the former maharaja of the region). The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the service was outstanding. While the location is not the most scenic, the property itself is a tranquil oasis, with many birds and peacocks on-site, along with an inner courtyard and a garden with fountain in front of the building. The arrival experience alone sets the tone, as you walk up the stairs to the front entrance while being showered with flower petals from above. The rooms are gorgeous, especially the former main dining room (now an Indian restaurant) and the Oriental room (formerly a library). While we were not there long enough to use the spa, we did see it on our tour of the hotel and it looks lovely, especially the outdoor pool and the massage tables, which open out onto a small courtyard area. We do recommend doing the 45-minute tour of the hotel to get some of the interesting history behind the place and the family (who still own the property, although it is managed by Taj Hotels). We also recommend a casual dinner in Steam, which is an old steam locomotive and railroad cars converted into a restaurant specializing in bar food and pizza - the thin-crust pizza is delicious. We loved sitting in one of the converted railroad cars for dinner. Cannot speak to the price as our two-night stay was a small part of a two-week package deal; likely not inexpensive, but for a short taste of luxury we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recommend the third floor. There are a couple rooms on the second (lobby level) floor that are right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful feedback.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Rambagh Palace is just magnificent - colourful history, beautifully kept and excellent service. Can't say enough about the welcome we received and special thanks to Ms. Chandni Malhotra for her courtesy and helpfulness. We were checked in very early in the day, well before the official check in time and upgraded to a beautiful historical suite - probably the most beautiful hotel room we have ever stayed in. Thanks to everything at the hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back at Rambagh Palace in the near future.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
181 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I spent a lot of time trying to decide between this hotel and the Oberoi before my visit. I was so pleased that I chose Rambagh. Prefering boutique hotels over large chains, I had my concerns. However, Rambagh succeeds at making a Palace feel like a small chic hotel. The service is both friendly and unrivaled. It is like living in a Merchant Ivory movie. An Indian Downton Abby! Have dinner and drinks on the Verandah looking at the stars while having your palm read and listening to music. All the modern amenitities one wants as a business traveler but all of the elegance that takes you to another time and totally relaxes you. Could have never left the property between the spa and the antique cars but glad I did as Jaipur is a magical city. However, I was always thrilled to return each night to my Palace.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the first floor (number 123) with a private patio. We were awoken by peacocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdkflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShreeLathaSajeev, Manager at Rambagh Palace, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Rambagh Palace.

Comments such as these always encourage us in enhancing our efforts to provide the best in hospitality and service.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at the Rambagh Palace and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,


Satyajeet Krishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 380 in Jaipur
2,005 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
1,355 reviews
1.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#17 of 380 in Jaipur
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
670 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#18 of 380 in Jaipur
1,752 reviews
2.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambagh Palace

Property: Rambagh Palace
Address: Bhawani Singh Road, Jaipur 302005, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#1 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rambagh Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces: Established in 1901, Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is one of Asia's largest and finest group of hotels, comprising over 119 hotels in 61 locations across India with an additional 17 international hotels in the Maldives, Malaysia, UK, USA, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Africa and the Middle East. From world-renowned landmarks to modern business hotels, idyllic beach resorts to authentic Grand Palaces, each Taj hotel offers an unrivalled fusion of warm Indian hospitality, world-class service and modern luxury. For over a century, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, the iconic flagship has set a benchmark for fine living with exquisite refinement, inventiveness and warmth. Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces is part of the Tata Group, India's premier business house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rambagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Taj Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Jaipur
Rambagh Palace Hotel Jaipur
Rambagh Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing