We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oasis in crazy Jaipur”
Review of The Raj Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raj Palace
Ranked #43 of 385 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a wonderful refuge from the craziness of Jaipur - quiet, serene and peaceful. We stayed four nights. The adjoining rooms were beautiful, large and perfectly clean. Service everywhere was friendly and sincere - especially in the coffee shop, dining room and reception. The staff take great care of the property and everything is immaculately maintained. The complimentary breakfast included Western and local dishes - excellent if you're traveling with fussy kids (as we were). Places of this quality are never cheap and the prices are undeniably very high, but overall it didn't feel exorbitant because of the outstanding quality and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Greetings !!
First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our restaurant and staff

I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories. It is great to know that you found the rooms elegant and comfortable

I will pass on your appreciation to the entire team for having done a fabulous job. They will be delighted to receive your comments

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I am totally amazed with excellence of Jaipur Heritage at Raj Palace. Never Had such a wonderful heritage experience so far, Complete worth for the pay. One can get all the luxurious plus royal treatment under one roof with lots of traditional activities. Staff of hotel always try to give something more then your desire from hotel. Food and Services is never ever forgettable. It's so much enticing that it will keep forcing you to go there again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chatty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for having chosen The Raj Palace hotel in Jaipur in your recent visit. We are very happy to know that have liked your stay at the palace. Thank you very much for your good comments on our location, service and our staff

We hope to welcome you again very soon

Warm regards,

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in this beautiful, elegant hotel for 2 nights. The staff could not be nicer and they all have genuine smiles and all the ones that we spoke to speak very good English. It is not like the bigger hotels with staff who greets you with trained smiles. It makes you feel at home.

There is a puppet show, musician singing while we are having lunch. At night, we dined in their restaurant in the open air, sitting in front of the stage surrounding by little candle lights. The food is excellent. The dancing show is nice and we were invited to dance in the end. It is very romantic and is magical.

The location of the hotel is excellent, next to the famous bazaars, Amber Fort, etc. You hardly hear any noise and is very tranquil. It is also very tastefully done - very elegant and with beautiful marbles. It is not over the top like some other palace hotels, nor do you see any other modern buildings or roads which spoil the atmosphere.

As it is a smallish heritage hotel, the breakfast is not like cooperate hotels with hundreds of choices. I personally feel it is fine as the breakfast is adequate and good.

I can understand why some guests found the rooms cold in the winter. The staff now come at certain time to turn the small heater for us for the evening. We do not feel cold at all.

All in all, we would highly recommend our friends to stay there and hope we can return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 201 which has 3 windows overlooking to the beautiful courtyard and lots of light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelineBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience.

I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories.

It is great to know that you found the rooms elegant and comfortable.

I will pass on your appreciation to the Housekeeping and F&B team for having done a fabulous job in keeping your room tidy and serving you good meals. They will be delighted to receive your comments. This is a big recognition for the staff, most of whom work behind the scenes.

Yes, you should come back for longer and will chart out an interesting plan for you to indulge in some carefully crafted unique experiences and take back more beautiful memories to cherish!

Many Thanks
Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here from 27 till 30 Dec 2013. The good part of the hotel is that it is walking distance to shopping area.The restaurant has a very nice ambience . Bad part , very run down toilet which was always flooding with water from the shower. Breakfast variety was horrible to the extend that we didn't like to eat breakfast there. Even no option for juice. A 3 star hotel serves better breakfast. Food was over priced. Hotel was overpriced as it was not 5 star hotel standard.We booked the hotel after viewing the remarks in the trip adviser. But it was a total contrast. Nothing wonderful about the hotel for the amount we paid. I paid extra 80+ a day for my 11 year old son. But they did not provide any extra bed for him.The extra cash we paid for the extra person was not worth at all as there was nothing much my son could eat for breakfast other then bread and hot chocolate.My Room was very cold. They had a portable heater which was too old and small. They didn't even have a tea making facility or hot water facility in the room. Overall , the hotel charge for a 5 star hotel rate and give a service of 3 star hotel. I would not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kumar389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thanks for your valuable feedback.
I appreciate your comments and observations and would like to present my reply to your concerns and observations one on one.. !!

We stayed here from 27 till 30 Dec 2013. The good part of the hotel is that it is walking distance to shopping area.The restaurant has a very nice ambience .
Thank you that you liked the ambience

Bad part , very run down toilet which was always flooding with water from the shower.
As you know we are a 300 years old building that has taken 17 painstaking years to restore and the rooms of the property were refurbished just 3 years back and also we are a part of SLH a No.1 luxury brand in small boutique hotels of the world further we are the only classified Grand heritage hotel in Jaipur meaning that without having both tub and shower cubicle in bathroom these classification is not possible. I completely disagree to this remark of yours maybe you forgot to open the drain which must have given you such impression.


Breakfast variety was horrible to the extend that we didn't like to eat breakfast there. Even no option for juice. A 3 star hotel serves better breakfast. Food was over priced. Hotel was overpriced as it was not 5 star hotel standard.
We have checked our records and found out that you had free continental breakfast in the value of room cost. The continental breakfast is different from full American breakfast and English breakfast , may be this is why you are feeling that the quality of breakfast was not big enough. There is always an option of adding a surcharge for an American breakfast in the restaurant


We booked the hotel after viewing the remarks in the trip adviser. But it was a total contrast. Nothing wonderful about the hotel for the amount we paid. I paid extra 80+ a day for my 11 year old son. But they did not provide any extra bed for him. The extra cash we paid for the extra person was not worth at all as there was nothing much my son could eat for breakfast other then bread and hot chocolate.
The policy of an extra child and an adult is specifically mentioned in the website as well as all the booking engines that takes booking. Please refer to that we have not charged you anything extra. IF your complaint is because of the money that is charged for an extra guests , then I think the complaint is non genuine as you could have re think your decision on making a booking if you had more guests to share the bedroom.

They didn't even have a tea making facility or hot water facility in the room.
As regards Tea and coffee maker this is clearly mentioned in the in room directory that it is available on request and maybe you overlooked it this is because we are a high end luxury Boutique hotel and all our suites have Butler service here the Tea and coffee maker is useful rest we generally do not want to bother the guest with this effort and they generally either request to place the same in room else order tea and coffee from in room dining. But I have taken this point of yours and will take a feedback from some more guest and in case we have a strong request from many guest we shall make it a standard facility in all rooms.
Though you stayed in heritage room our basic category and we have only 6 rooms in this category which don’t have tea coffee maker.


Overall , the hotel charge for a 5 star hotel rate and give a service of 3 star hotel. I would not come back to this hotel.
Please note that our guest choose us for our Luxury Heritage experience which has made us win the world Travel Award for best heritage hotel in the world continuously since 2007 for 7 times.

I once again thank you and assure you the best experience during your next stay with The Raj Palace

Many Thanks
Ankur Rara Jethlia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Feels like staying in a palace, service is great and food is excellent. They have a lovely swimming pool and a nice big lawn which is like an oasis of peace in the city which is full of hustle and honks. Our room had a little museum of its own, a little tea set and chairs where the royals ad their tea.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Nirav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Sir,
Greetings !!!

So nice to hear that you enjoyed you stay at the palace and had good memories while staying. giving best guests experience is our continuous effort and every morning i call my team in morning briefing just to know what extra they did for their guests and results post thet are fabulous ..

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again as our guests next time in future
Kind Regards

Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Absolutely magnificent - a real jewel tucked away in jaipur. Raj Palace is a heritage property with exquisite period furniture rooms with all modern amenities, the room sizes, toilets with baths were just perfect. Above all the staff and quality of food was exceptional. The staff have a simple motto which i learnt at the end of my trip to treat every guest as a queen or King and how they live up to this motto is amazing.

Room Tip: Every room is different!! and they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience. I am happy to know that you had an excellent overall stay and have taken back lots of fond memories.

It is great to know that you found the rooms elegant and comfortable and the location very convenient

We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel sometime in near future

Warm regards,
Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is not as lush as other Taj properties, but has impressive grounds and has been beautifully converted.
The rooms are nice, but less impressive than the common areas. You only get one key per room, which locks by padlock on the outside or latch on the inside. Made it a little difficult when having different plans during the day than the person I was rooming with.
If you want space in the room, request a room with a separate sitting area from where the beds are, as well as lots of real windows. Our first room felt small, but they were able to give us other options, and showed us before we committed to switch.
There was only one staff member who spoke English well enough to get requests on the first ask, but all tried to be helpful.

Room Tip: Be specific with your room request, as specified in my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrajpalace, General Manager at The Raj Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to review your experience. I am sorry to know that the staff you interacted with was not as fluent in English as you were expecting but most of our staff are highly qualified, well educated and speaks not just English but other languages including French and German as well .

Also would like to let you know that we are first of all not a TAJ property, secondly we are not made as hotel. We are a real palace and we are the most historical palace in the city 300 years old. when 300 years ago ruler was making this palace he did not knew how the city would shape up 300 years later so we cant do much about the huge grounds that you are talking but definitely our the location is quite convenient as far as site seeing areas and shopping is concerned

We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel sometime in near future

Warm regards,
Ankur Rara Jethlia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
3.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
3.1 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 385 in Jaipur
1,757 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 385 in Jaipur
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 385 in Jaipur
1,237 reviews
5.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 385 in Jaipur
706 reviews
6.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 385 in Jaipur
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raj Palace

Address: Jorawer Singh Gate, Amer Road, Jaipur 302002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#19 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#37 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: £369 - £774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Raj Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent Maharaja's palace, located in the heart of Jaipur city. Tucked behind fortified walls, The Raj Palace is Jaipur’s former royal residence and palace. A multi award winning hotel. It is a first museum hotel, stately mansion and pleasure palace with restaurants, a spa, exclusive cinema, pool, gardens, courtyards and stunning decorative features. The Raj Palace is located on the main Amber Road and near to all the major sight seeing places and shopping areas are very near to the palace. It was built in 1727 to be the Jaipur first palace; it is an unrivaled specimen of the Pink City character, charm and grandeur. The palace was converted into an exquisite luxury hotel in 1996. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in India. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of old world charm with old royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. Think grandeur to the highest degree. 24 Carat gold fittings, stucco, brocades, mirror work, hand-painted frescoes, massive crystal chandeliers, antiques and priceless artifacts, this is a monumental palace with an immense wow factor. Museum suites have been created giving the Raj Palace the honor of being the first palace hotel with such accommodations in the world. The Raj Palace is a perfect blend of old world charm with old royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with the world’s most modern facilities to make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Swapna Mahal Restaurant has been richly decorated with real gold leaf work, a majestic rare crystal chandelier, rich palace furniture and a crockery museum housing centuries old collections. The Shikarbadi Bar decorated with finest hand paintings depicting hunting scenes, housing the finest wine. The Kebab Shop live bar-b-que restaurant serving the most authentic Mughlai cuisine dashed with rich Indian spices is a food lover's delight, and any moment of the day The Royal Lounge (Coffee Shop) is a privileged place. The choice of cuisine is extensive, from international feasts in the restaurant, delicious kebabs on the grill outside to traditional afternoon tea. Watch marionette theatre or a film and browse the various museum collections, from crockery to celebrity to hunting. Go to the spa to relax, the onsite Princess Boutique to shop and the countryside for safaris. A perfect blend of old world charm with old royal architecture, gardens and beautiful courtyards united with modern world facilities the Hamam swimming pool, Prakriti spa, Manoranjan multimedia theatre, puppet show, palmist and choice of booking special gala theme events can make the guest experience most unique and unforgettable. The Raj Palace is a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World property and Five Star Alliance Club and also rated as Worlds Leading Heritage Hotel by World Travel Awards seven times in row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raj Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raj Palace Jaipur
Raj Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing