We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahpura House
Ranked #31 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is an incredible property, a palace right out of a storybook. Each of the rooms has its own unique character so you could come back again and again hoping to get a different room each time. Marble floors throughout!

This hotel got all the details right. Nice in-room toiletries; the softest towels I have found in any hotel in India so far (they tend to be scratchy), big-screen TV in an ornamental wooden case to match the period decor. Also the only place in India so far that I've seen an actual bathtub rather than toilet and shower sharing a room with a drain in the middle. Minibar and laundry service. The Wifi is free and it kept kicking my computer off every few minutes but when it was working it was fast. The rooms aren't as private as they could be (a door with large glass panes separates you from the hallway; voices go right through the glass and echo off the marble, so anyone outside can hear your phone conversation), but what can you do in a historic place like this? It is beautiful.

The staff were extremely helpful and efficient. The swimming pool area is gorgeous. I really hope to be able to return someday because I feel I left a piece of my heart here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DigrajSingh, Owner at Shahpura House, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and this has boosted up our moral.

We are very thankful to you for this and when you come next we shall make your stay a most memorable one.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the others on Trip Advisor.

Stay well

Regards,
Digraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    420
    116
    40
    32
See reviews for
244
579
69
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel filled with antiques and elaborate artwork. The larger rooms, or suites, are very nice. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Via the front desk, I booked a car and driver for the entire 4 days I was in Jaipur and was very satisfied with that service-especially as I was travelling on my own. I was also picked up and dropped off from the train station. The hotel had free WiFi throughout, a definite plus. Contents of the mini-bar were affordable--my daughter ate almost the entire contents of that mini-bar and the bill was only 350 rupees--imagine if that had happened at a Taj property! I was very satisfied with this hotel and their amenities and would recommend. The food is only so so-nothing spectacular, but perfectly adequate. Room service can be a little slow and breakfast is good, but not spectacular (but it comes with the room, so is a definite plus). I also used the laundry services-which were inexpensive and did a good job.

Room Tip: Some of the deluxe rooms looked very small. I stayed in a suite-which would be what I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were greeted on arrival with a bowl of soup before being shown to our impressively large room. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. There were pretty areas to sit scattered around the hotel and you can also sit by the pool. The restaurant was good and the entertainment during the meal gave a taste of local music and dance without being intrusive. However it is a rooftop restaurant and in January we needed to wear our hoodies and jumpers. Room service is available though!! Wifi was free and worked well in afternoon but v erratic in evening when everyone trying to get online.
We would be very happy to return here if visiting Jaipur again 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We paid for a night to stay at shahpura house and it was a terrible experience. We were expecting to stay in a nice place playing over $100 a night, and when we got there they said the hotel was full even though we requested early check in. We arrived at 6am and were old rooms woould not be available until sbout 3pm. But they very conveniently still had rooms left in their sister hotel - marvat haveli or something - on the other side of town.

The second hotel was clearly inferior and we had to repay for wifi and breakfast again, which were supposed to be free. They even had the audacity to ring us at our second hotel to try convince us to have dinner at shahpura house.

Avoid at all costs, we were furious and it almost ruined our experience of Jaipur.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at Shahpura House overnight while travelling from Ajmer to Delhi. The hotel offered us a great price for a group of 5 people. The hotel is located in a residential area and you need a good reference to be able to reach the place unless you're a local. It took us more than half an hour after entering Jaipur to reach the hotel.

We reached Shahpura after midnight, hence couldn't spend much time to visit the property. The hotel is beautiful, with references from the royal period right from the time you enter - a buggy welcomes you on board with a side way directing to the small reception area. The rooms were pretty large with all the amenities of a good property - LCD tv with satellite connection, mini bar, king size bed, attached bath with tubs etc. The management had taken a lot of time in working on minute details on the interiors of the property.

The manager on duty at night was not at all friendly and he insisted that we must show/submit ID proofs of all the passengers travelling with us, something that was not told to us before. Luckily all of us were carrying our identify proofs in the local travel. On asking and insisting the reason for the same, the manager showed a copy of the order from the local authorities stating the same - however the order had expired few months back. Since we're travelling from Pushkar/Ajmer and had planned to reach to the hotel on time but couldn't, we expected a 24 hour coffee service (atleast) with some quick bits to grab, but there wasn't anything available other than the pack of chips and nuts in the room.

The morning breakfast (included in the package) was above average but the service cut down on the overall scores.

Overall, a nice experience for an overnight trip which could have been better had the staff and service been spruced up.

Room Tip: - Please carry ID proofs for all the people travelling. - The manager on duty (especially at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights while on tour. Beautiful exterior with gorgeous, individually decorated rooms. Large bathroom and dressing room and very reasonable mini-bar. The highlight were the excellent omelets freshly cooked to order by the chef, with many fillings and as light as a feather. Tented rooftop restaurant was atmospheric, with entertainers. 'Quiet' and 'green' street with a supermarket not far away. Good base for Jaipur and would recommend.

Room Tip: They're all quite unique, so enjoy what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We spent two days at this hotel as we travelled round the Golden trianangle, not the worst hotel but not the best.
The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms are nice and quaint. the rooftop restuarant is nice but the kitchen is on the ground floor whilst the restuarant is on the 5th by the time the food gets there it can be cold, the waiting staf are great.
Our issue was that we were to catch the overnight train from Jaipur to Udaipur at 10.30 pm on our 2nd night so we asked on our arrival if we would have to vicate the room, we did not get the answer there and then, so we asked again later that night, still no answer, we asked twice the next morning at reception before going out sight seeing but the receptionist was more concerned about our 100 inr bill for our tea.
We did not find out the answer to our question until 7.30 that night almost 48 hrs after first asking the question, we paid the 100 inr bill.
Staff training is highly recommended

Room Tip: dont expect answers if the boss or his son are not around
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#34 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Property: Shahpura House
Address: Devi Marg, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#32 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shahpura House 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing