We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiufl Hotel!!”
Review of Shahpura House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shahpura House
Ranked #28 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiufl Hotel!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Beautiful, unique hotel. Friendly staff clean rooms would stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shine311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    425
    117
    40
    32
See reviews for
251
593
71
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Staying in this hotel is an experience full of Rajasthan Culture. Is like a small mansion decorated with ethnics touches all over, but with fantastic taste, specially in the common areas.

It is located in a nice neighborhood, 4 km away from city center where all the markets are, and some few of the local attractions like the wind palace and the colorful pink downtown. So, very convenient location.

It has a restaurant in the roof top with live local music, where you can eat good indian food and relax drinking a chill beer at the evening, after you did your tourist activities during the day.

Just note that for me, the rooms are just OK, good, comfortable, that is all, I am telling you this, just in case you are looking for a luxurious stay, however, for the price you pay, it is value for money.

Generally, I recommend this hotel to my guests coming to India looking for a rich cultural experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beto201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I've twice stayed at the Shahpura House, and I just love this hotel! It's a lovely renovated house (two connected houses, actually). It is built along several open courtyard-style rooms, with a small lovely outdoor pool. The rooftop restaurant is open to the night sky, and there are live musicians and dancers. The renovation is quite nice, with each room done over in a kind of maharajah fantasy style, with big beds and pillars and canopies and tilework and such. One of the central areas has handpainted murals on wall panels. I really love the quirkiness and interesting atmosphere. Plus, this hotel is very clean, the staff is excellent, there is AC in every room, and the food is very good. While it's not in a terribly urban area, there are shops and restaurants and ATMs within close walking distance. The neighborhood itself is upscale and quiet. Shahpura House will always be my hotel in Jaipur!

Room Tip: There are stairs! Ask for a first floor room if that's an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Greeted by Eric who gave us a potted history of this former family mansion. Eric is part of the OTT decor it seems - not sure of his position there but he said he was not the manager. We were then shown to the pool area and served tomato soup before being taken, by Eric, to our top floor room where Eric 'explained' things - he then lingered until we tipped him.
Our room was pretty but small. The bathroom set up didn't quite work, the towels were old and greyish and there was a bad drain smell in the bathroom that despite our complaining was never rectified. We had to keep the bathroom door shut to keep the smell out of the room.
As our room was on the top floor we had access to a large terrace which was quite pleasant - interesting views over the neighbouring rooftops. We enjoyed a snack on the terrace with our travel companions.
Buffet breakfasts were pretty good - chef made good omelettes.
Overall, our stay was OK. The hotel is a curiosity with interesting decor that reflects its past but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, NL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Feel like a real Maharaja. Staff polite, helpful and welcoming. Room clean,big and luxurius, even with tata sky and a silent AC. they let us do late check out with no extra charge. Very good overall, fantastic

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guayomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Shahpura House is a special hotel. The grand reception room is beautifully decorated with photographs showing the former owners. The bedrooms are equally wonderful. The swimming pool makes a great start or end to your day. Dancers on the roof top restaurant are talented, the food is sublime. Thank you - Fiona and Oskar

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Check your bill "carefully" when checking out.
We only got printout of room charge. Credit Card charge did not add up and after dozens of emails and copies of accidentals and signed dockets, I proved we were charged for some other guest's room service which shows on docket as "Ring Mahal" (at first I thought they had charged me for phone call to Tah Mahal which I had not made of course :) - Left bad taste even though they did refund the overcharge to our credit card.

First impressions were good but it did go downhill after that.
I agree with another guest who I overheard saying OTT - Over the Top,
No aircon turned on usually - (portable stand-alone unit available but it blew you away when it was on) and very crammed in breakfast room.
No free bottled water replacement in room.
Pigeon problems at top.
Noisy if room / suite near top dining restaurant
Aircon so close to bed and facing pillows so had to turn mattress around to be away from A/C
No toilet roll holders - packets of tissues on floor or window frame
Stained furniture and cushions in our room/suite
We paid a lot of money for accommodation but I think that was because we booked from overseas - when we were there the prices were much cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't accept room near open dining restaurant - noisy with music till late (11pm). We requested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripadviser23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#37 of 381 in Jaipur
852 reviews
3.1 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 381 in Jaipur
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 381 in Jaipur
836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 381 in Jaipur
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahpura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahpura House

Property: Shahpura House
Address: Devi Marg, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#11 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#32 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shahpura House 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Rajput architecture, a mixture of Mughal and Indian, a facade with domes and frescoes. The house is a very fine example of Shekhawati frescoes and architecture. The family portraits, which add to the charm of this family hotel where tradition still runs strong. Like many historic houses, Shahpura House is a curious mixture of the old and the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shahpura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahpura House Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing