We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be parted from your cash”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Ranked #7 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Prepare to be parted from your cash”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

In India, we have almost always stayed with the Taj group. It's a great chain. We expected the standard fare, luxury but not too much, sensible staff, service to a standard, decent food. We are model guests, we never complain, we vote with our wallets; if we dont like a place we just dont go there again.

This hotel tested our patience to the limit. The greed was everywhere. Cabs were 10 times the cost if you take it from the hotel, chargeble water provided in the room (and trust me, in India, you have to consume it from a bottle) @6-8 pounds for 500ml, 100 pounds for dining inhouse, 10 quid for a small whiskey, the list goes on. Breakfast, which was the only thing that was "free" (I use the term generously as the room was about 200 pounds a night) was meagre fare, nowhere near the spread you would expect from a 5 star hotel, certainly the poorest I have ever seen in any Taj hotel anywhere in the world.

Food was really bad, don't bother eating here at all.

Not that they are well trained either; the bartender insisted on dipping his measure cup in a grubby bowl of water even though I kept asking him not to, the staff in the restaurants were no better some being downright rude, most of them were indifferent even though it did not look too busy.

Pay for wifi too, and pay per device mind you. So if you are going with your Ipad, blackberry and laptop as a family be prepared to pay a small fortune to get your emails.

Temperatures of 40 degC prevent you from going to the outdoor pool in the day, but do they keep the pool open late in the evening for a cool swim ? No, the pool shuts at 7pm.

To their credit after I complained they did look receptive and a very sombre looking manager came and heard me out.

The rooms were good, (we took a couple of levels above the basic) and the hotel itself is very pretty and picturesque.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool if you can get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    412
    88
    32
    23
See reviews for
800
643
59
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

It is great to see a beautiful palace properly maintained as a hotel. You get a feeling of being Royalty yourself, when the staff bows before you in a typical rajasthani greetings saying khama ghani. Which the staff of the Kings used to do in the Princly India times. Enjoyed dinner at the Gardens el fresco. From the moment you arrive into the lobby the greetings with Jasmine garlands and refreshing Ice Tea as welcome Drink, the views of the Royal Gardens and the walking on the royal corridors to reach your room is a great High. Lived my dream of being a Maharaja!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room on the upper floors facing the gardens above the coffee shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

i had availed family package tour recently and gr8 exp was there.If u have small kids below 5 and looking for a family tour within Rs 20000,then this hotel is all value for money.Best part for me was they packed extra food at lunch ,to be eaten later in dinner time ,as only 1 major meal is included in the package.It saved money,time and going out in the city to eat as food from the menu was very expensive.
Pool ,table tennis ,swimming area is very good and less crowded otherwise at any other hotel or club,these things are all crowded.
Only thing that they dont provide costume for swimming in the pool,
Before going i had read one user review here that they charged for himalyan water but i saw that even then they provide aquafina free of charge,which is good.
Overall gr8 experience.

Room Tip: Take 1st floor rooms as they are much better in view from window side and near the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anand12304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Jai Mahal Palace is the most comfortable hotel I have stayed in so far. They are incredibly friendly and accommodating, and even sometimes a little cloyingly sweet. They will go far out of their way to make you feel at home and comfortable (including preparing food for you even when the kitchens are closed if you ask), and they have tons of amenities. The Marble Arch restaurant serves very good food and excellent martinis, and Cinnamon has excellent desserts. They also have an outdoor track and gym, which I used - my one complaint is that a man with a towel stood by the treadmill the entire time I was running (wanting to offer me the towel to wipe my face), and I found it very disconcerting. The hotel is also very well located, the staff give great recommendations for things to do, see, and eat, and they help arrange cars at the drop of a hat. The complimentary drink when you first arrive doesn't hurt, either :)

Room Tip: I would highly recommend staying in a Garden View room, but they can be noisy during Wedding Season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yampalin@aol.com
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I wish to express our gratitude to the management of the Jai Mahal Palace hotel in Jaipur for graciously granting us reimbursement of our non-reimbursable reservation for 3 nights, made through Orbitz. We also wish to express our gratitude to Bella, in the Philippines, the agent of Orbitz who interceded on our behalf. We were forced to cancel our Golden Triangle tour that was to begin in Mumbai, because the cruise taking us to India was canceled by the cruise line, due to a fire in the engine room of the ship a few days before our cruise was to begin. We hope to reprogram our trip in the near future, most likely in 2013, and expect to program our stay in Jaipur at the Jai Mahal Palace hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yampalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

March 2012 we stayed 2 nights in this palace hotel-a very nice place indeed- our room very spacious and comfortable with the garden exit,outdoor sitting place and the big terrace gardens.
Very nice to have breakfast surrounded by many interistingplants and trees and maybe in the late
afternoon have a look to the elphants playing polo in front of you (of course that is touristic,
but nevertheless very enjojable to look at!
Service normally is excellent, one restaurant very good (the so called Italian restaurant for us
was not: poor service and they confessed that what we ordered was not fully available-so we only got half portions).
But everything else was perfect- the place is to be recommended.

Room Tip: garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at the Jai Mahal for 2 nights and even though the building is beautiful, I was not impressed at all.
I agree with some other reviews on the service level, which was pretty rough with the exception of a few employees, specially those working at the Giardino Restaurant.
The room was very dated and the beds not very comfortable....It is hard to believe this is a Taj Property.
Also, by the pool, there were so many pigeons that it was not pleasant at all...
I did try the spa and it was pretty good, no complaints.

Being honest, I will not come back to this hotel nor recommend it to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 386 in Jaipur
1,710 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,515 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#16 of 386 in Jaipur
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 386 in Jaipur
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur

Property: Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Address: Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India (Formerly Jai Mahal Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#5 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the main shopping centre and historical monuments, Jai Mahal Palace is ideal for exploring the fascinating city of Jaipur. The majestic palace, a vast complex of regal rooms, pretty pavilions and charming colonnades set amidst 18 acres of landscaped gardens, traces its origins to 1745. The heritage palace has been painstakingly restored and recently refurbished to offer guests the exclusive experience of a royal lifestyle complemented by legendary Taj hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing