We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home”
Review of Hotel Meghniwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Meghniwas
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My business partner and I, one American woman and one Indian woman, are both based in New Delhi, but our work takes us to Jaipur frequently. For more than a decade, Hotel Meghniwas has been our Jaipur "home away from home." We have never sent a review to Trip Advisor (for the selfish fear that Meghniwas might become so popular that we would not be able to book rooms!), but it has occurred to us that we really do owe the owners and staff the courtesy of telling the world about this lovely and very special place. It is large enough to offer all necessary services (swimming pool, restaurant, wifi, etc.), but small enough to feel like a personal guest of the elegant and extraordinarily gracious owners, Col. and Mrs. Indu Singh. It is extremely comfortable, immaculately clean, well-located, and amazingly inexpensive. In ten years we have stayed here perhaps three or four dozen times, usually as business travellers, but sometimes with family and visiting friends. We have not had a single negative experience, ever. For families, there are suite-like rooms with small drawing rooms and two baths; or a family group could book the four front rooms with their private lawn. Children, business travellers, vacationers, guests with special needs -- we have seen all welcomed, taken care of, and extremely happy. Just please leave one room for us!

Room Tip: The four front rooms have their own lawn and are perfect for a group of friends. There are two &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have been here many times since 2007 (almost every year) with our family and it always feels as if we're coming home. We use Jaipur as a base to visit Rajasthan and stay for 2-3 days at a time. They have two large suites which are ideal for us as we have 5 children and we can all fit in quite comfortably. The welcome is always warm. Nothing is too much trouble. If we need something special for our meal, it will be organised without hassle. The same staff have been there for years and know us well and Mr. & Mrs Singh are like family. Highly recommended if you want a simple, home-style, safe and pleasant family run hotel with a personal feel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We visit Jaipur regularly for the Literature Festival and always stay at the Hotel Meghniwas. We would never consider doing otherwise. The rooms are extremely comfortable with all the conveniences one would want including wifi and the food is amongst the best we have eaten in India. The ingredients are fresh and organic being supplied by the Hotel's farm in the north. Most importantly, however, is the wonderful welcome we always have from Mrs. Singh, colonel Singh and their charming and helpful staff. This really is our home from home in Jaipur and we would miss them if we didn't return every year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZakiyaP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGHNIWASJAIPUR, Owner at Hotel Meghniwas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I wish to Thank you for all the kind words you have to say about Meghniwas.We are grateful to you for using our place. We will try to always have a room for you we are here because of you.Love. Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We are frequent visitors to Jaipur and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. There's a swimming pool--the perfect way to end a long (and hot!) day of exploring the city. There is a large dining room, but if you wish you can have your meals in the garden in the morning sunshine or under the stars in the evening. The food is excellent--a mixture of Indian and European--and it is prepared by a kitchen staff who fully understand the hygienic requirements of foreign visitors. The location is also good--not in the chaotic heart of the city, but close enough for easy access by auto rickshaw or taxi. The biggest plus of all is the wonderful couple who own and run Meghniwas, Col. Fateh and Indu Singh. The perfect host and hostess, who will sure that your stay is a happy one and will tell you all you want to know about Jaipur and Rajasthan.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AlanB896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGHNIWASJAIPUR, Owner at Hotel Meghniwas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I wish to Thank you for all the kind words you have to say about Meghniwas.We are grateful to you for using our place. We will try to always have a room for you we are here because of you.Love. Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Working all over in India since 1999 I am staying at many places: fancy hotels, medium standard, guesthouses and sometimes not so good hotels. Of all these places there is only one place where I really feel at home - Meghniwas. Being a frequent guest to Jaipur four times a year I am always happy to meet Mrs. Singh, Mr. Singh and all the wonderful staff. They all take care of you and the hotel in an excellent way. The hospitality mixed with the nice and simple Rajasthani decorated rooms, the cleanliness, the beautiful garden, the lovely food, the swimmingpool, the safety, gives you the most value for money you can get in India. On top of that, Meghniwas cares for the environment, especially regarding the prescious water. Working with ethics and environment, Meghniwas is definitely my home. Renée Andersson, Indiska, Stockholm, Sweden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ReneeA960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGHNIWASJAIPUR, Owner at Hotel Meghniwas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I wish to Thank you for all the kind words you have to say about Meghniwas. We are grateful to you for using our place. We will try to always have a room for you we are here because of you.Love. Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I think the place is very good (location, ambience), but rooms were not that great (we had 2 rooms, one was lawn facing and other was on 1st floor). The place is very close yet beyond the torist locations so a real retreat. The good thing was custom made food for kids and nice breakfast in the morning by the pool. The place is small and cozy and good for evening conversations with fellow tourists. Service was good, not great. The best thing i liked was the personal involvement of the owner into the operations and making sure the guests are taken care of. Not much activity for kids except front lawn to run around as area around the pool was risky for them. There are no lifts for elderly. but overall a nice option for its overall look and feel and a quiet quick getaway.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms away from road as there was night time traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sachinbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGHNIWASJAIPUR, Owner at Hotel Meghniwas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I wish to Thank you for all the kind words you have to say about Meghniwas. We are grateful to you for using our place. We will try to always have a room for you we are here because of you.Love. Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed with a friend of mine at Hotel Meghniwas over New Years and we had a wonderful time. Our room was spacious and clean. The buffet-style dinner was good. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at the airport upon arrival in Jaipur and despite our flight being several hours delayed, everything worked out well. The owners were also very friendly and helpful. When we had trouble getting a reservation for a train to leave town, they provided us with excellent advice, so that we could still leave as planned.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEGHNIWASJAIPUR, Owner at Hotel Meghniwas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

I wish to Thank you for all the kind words you have to say about Meghniwas.We are grateful to you for using our place. We will try to always have a room for you we are here because of you.Love. Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 386 in Jaipur
1,840 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 386 in Jaipur
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meghniwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meghniwas

Address: C-9 Sawai Jai Singh Highway | Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#25 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meghniwas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Meghniwas is small twenty four rooms Boutique Hotel in Jaipur Rajasthan. It is a family owned & managedHotel run by Colonel Fateh Singh & his wife Mrs Indu F Singh.Meghniwas is an ancestral family home converted into a Hotel. It is built on a 2500 sq yd plot with a pool & extensive gardens. Our USP is personalized services,Warm, friendly , relaxing , clean & unpretentious atmosphere with a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Meghniwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghniwas Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing