We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Place, But Watch Out For The Birds”
Review of Alsisar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alsisar Haveli
Ranked #42 of 383 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Overall, this is a pleasant enough place to stay in Jaipur. Its within easy walking distance of an entrance to the old city but there are no descent restaurants nearby. In fact the entire neighborhood is not that inviting but as I said the property is pleasant enough. Be forewarned though that hundreds of birds nest in the big trees in the courtyard of each section of the property. They start up about 5:30am so bring your earplugs unless you need an early wake-up call.

Rooms: Large, high ceilinged rooms which are beautifully decorated. Marble floors. Dressing area with divan, desk and good sized bathroom. Nice shower; no bath tub. Old style TV that we could not get to work though we weren't all that interested in it anyway. They brought a stand-up heater since it was pretty chilly at night. No safe in room. No mini bar in room. No tea/ coffee maker in room. One tiny water bottle per person.

Breakfast: Eggs made to order. Cereal, yogurt, fruit, white bread, and a few Indian dishes. the staff was very friendly and generally very helpful. No problems.

Restaurant: The foreign food was really mediocre. We had a chicken sandwich which turned out to be ground up chicken mashed into what looked like a patty. Not exactly what we were hoping for. The Indian food was generally good. They have a full buffet for 600 rupees (about $12.00) but I have to say that there weren't enough good looking dishes to spring for that. We ordered a couple of the buffet dishes a la carte and that worked out well. The staff was very helpful as we tried to figure out whether to do the buffet or order a la carte.

Internet: Wireless at 100 rupees ($2.00) for 30 minutes.The signal was very weak and intermittent back in the rooms. The signal was stronger near the front desk/reception area. Once again, why do pricey hotels charge for internet when 400 rupee guest houses offer it for free?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Alsisar Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Boy, what a disappointment !!
Entering from a busy street, it was very peaceful. The room was very mediocre and noisy.
can't complain about the service as that would imply it exists ! Carried our own suitcases to and from room and on departure, once we got to the main entrance staff nearly knock you over to carry your bags through the door (and a tip). Front desk and general staff were the worst we experienced in India. At breakfast no one came near us and I eventually approached person in charge about getting coffee, then again for a cup for my wife, then again for sugar. Was not asked if we wanted eggs cooked and in the end we rose and left after coffee and toast. Message left at reception by our rep were not delivered and they told him that they had gone to our room but no one was there. As we left our key at reception on going out, they should of known that! Unfortunately we had to stay for two nights. Never again.

Room Tip: Not near the dining room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here in early Feb 2012 for about $100 USD per night. While a bit pricey for a solo traveler, I think there's good value here. Beautiful site, staff dressed in traditional garb (which seemed a bit cheesy at first but I came to appreciate it) and playing Indian instruments in courtyard, nice pool and good food. Bedroom and bathroom were both generously sized and very clean. Space heater in room was fantastic. Management was nice about granting late (3pm) checkout.
Major con is having to pay for internet and even wi-fi. Budget hotels offer these services for free; I don't see why a nice, expensive hotel can't manage to do the same.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank AbKo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This place has quite a wow factor when you first arrive. There is some lovely decor and nooks and crannies as well as nice gardens and a rooftop. I stayed a few nights and began to feel it lacked a bit of soul even though the staff were good - especially the guys in the restaurant. I don't have any complaints about the hotel or service. It's an interesting experience for those who like people in traditional costumes and a bit of theatrical display and it is a very nice heritage property, The only problem is that outside the haven of the front gates it's straight into chaos...so be prepared!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here in January 2012, the haveli has a certain charm, nicely maintained etc but lacks a certain 'je ne sais quoi'... may be its the concept of a heritage/family property running as a hotel without any active family involvement front of house that fails to deliver the type of service you might expect from a family run business ... seems more like a mere business opportunity to me... this might explain the large number of tour groups we found staying here. Our room was nice and spacious and room rate included breakfast, which was ample and included good choice/selection. The restaurant in the evening only offered a buffet, which we had on our first night having arriving quite late, it was okay but nothing special and after that we ate elsewhere... Staff were friendly and polite so can't complain really, but I just felt the whole place lacked any soul and for the price didn't perhaps represent value for money. When we said this to our driver, who actually came from Jaipur he seemed to echo our sentiments in what he said about the place and seemed to grasp what we were saying about it lacking that something... dig a little deeper and I think you could find much better options.. we were very disappointed especially after reading such great reviews on TA. Also the room was very cold.. perhaps not surprising given the time of year we travelled - but they did provide a small fan heater and gave us extra blankets on request, but one thing I do recall instantly is the bed sheets felt very chalky may be over bleached or starched and were not nice to sleep on...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is an amazing heritage property to stay in. This hotels has its own charm starting from its beautiful historic Rajputana ambiance to its traditionally dressed staffs & its beautiful & pretty swimming pool. Every evening there traditional folk musician performs & it gives an unmatched experience when you are sitting by the pool & having a sip of wine. Rooms are very well maintained & absolutely neat & tidy. Food is just fantastic in this property. I stayed there just for 1 night I just fall in love with this hotel & dint feel like coming back. Also this property is right at the city center.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhinav56wips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have booked 3 rooms in Alsisar haveli its great hotel for stay in Jaipur. Nice and big rooms with luxury comfort.

The food was good specially breakfast, Dinner. Lunch we have not taken always we take some other restaurant.

In the future we will also book this hotel for stay in Jaipur.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monaco I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 383 in Jaipur
1,215 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 383 in Jaipur
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 383 in Jaipur
845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 383 in Jaipur
1,824 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 383 in Jaipur
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsisar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsisar Haveli

Address: Sansar Chandra Road,, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#34 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#35 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsisar Haveli 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar Haveli: This charming property in rajput architecture style, originally built in 1892 as a noblemans' home has now been converted to a heritage hotel.Alsisar Haveli is set 5 minutes' walk from the walled pink city and 2 minutes drive from MI Road, the business center of Jaipur. Offering free Wi-Fi, Alsisar Haveli has beautiful courtyards,lawns, and an outdoor pool with Spa and steam facilities.Rooms feature antique furniture and painted arches with modern amenities like air conditioning, complimentary bottled water, flat-screen TV and en suite bathrooms.Other facilities include a travel desk and laundry services.The restaurant at this hotel specialises in Indian cuisine but also caters to an international selection. The roof terrace offers pleasant views of Nahargarh Fort.The Cultural attractions of Hawa Mahal and City Palace along with several shops, cafes and restaurants can also be found nearby.Distance from Airport- 12 kms Distance from railway Station- 1.8 kms Distance from Bus Stand-800 meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alsisar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsisar Haveli Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing