We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian Village Fantasy Comes True for a little woman from the urban jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chokhi Dhani Resort
Ranked #52 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Indian Village Fantasy Comes True for a little woman from the urban jungle”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The 2 nights @ Chokhi Dhani were one of the happiest moment in my life.

I have difficulty quantifying my experience there, it is a memory I will remember for decades to come... 2 days in my life I'd never wish to forget.

For those who dislike rambling, the pictures below should speak a thousand words,

(1) Jovial Indian village carnival all-in-one
(2) Traditional fanfare of dance, music and simple fun!
(3) Elephant + Camel + Donkey rides!
(4) Astrology, Palmist who speaks perfect English
(5) Grandma making Roti which taste Soooooo authentic that I cannot help but to say "Bahut Accha!"
(6) Traditional Indian village setting
(7) A completely random restaurant name Aarogo Sa! :)

It is such a fun place that I frequently day-dream about it sitting in my office desk...

Can anyone afford to miss Chokhi Dhani? Answer: No.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the carnival may be a lot less noisy during the evening. Make sure you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    199
    91
    41
    49
See reviews for
365
134
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

the word chokhi dhani means-a nice small village;this resort has two parts-the residential and the other one is the village itself.i have never stayed there so i would keep my comments reserved about it though i have heard it's not up to the mark.but yes,the village part is amazing and unique.though it's slightly far from the citystill iwould recommend the tourists to have this altogether different experience.the entry fee is little more but it includes the rajasthani food also which is served inside everytime but yes sometimes u have to face long ques for this.the wait is worth for the awesome food .this village is dimly lit all over by lanterns which gives the perfect ambience to it.here u can have the fun ride of camel-cart,bull-carts on payment.u can buy n taste chach,dal pakodis,bhel puri,jal jeera n aam ka pana.the cost is v.low.and then u can sit on cots lying there n have the fun of watching the kalbelia dancers n snake charmers.u may or may not tip them as per ur will.kids can also have fun in many swings over there.u should avoid weekends as they r overcrowded n then u must have plenty of time in hand so that u can enjoy it fully.

Room Tip: v did not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dprakash533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

While most of the reviews here talk about staying at this resort, you don't have to stay here to enjoy the fun. My kids (aged 7 and 10) and I came for the evening and had a wonderful time. The website really doesn't do a good job of explaining all of the fun.

If Epcot at Disneyworld were to design a Rajisthan area, it would look like this. Exceptionally clean and visually appealling. Lots of sights, sounds. The place is massive (no map provided unfortunately) and it allows visitors to experience cultural aspects of India that are hard to do on the streets themselves. Eating from food vendors without fear of getting sick. Exploring the range of arts and crafts without getting harrassed to purchase. Dancing with performers without wondering how much to tip.

The place is near the airport, about a 45 minute drive from the center of town. Entry to the theme park is Rs 500 for adults and Rs. 200 for children. At the entrance they push you to purchase tickets for the Vegetarian Thali dinner for Rs 500 per person. I am glad that I did not do so because the little food vendors were much more fun and plenty filling. Bhel puri, fresh lime soda, and all kinds of chaats were for sale for 20 to 30 rupees. Things I always want to try on the streets but don't. The kids enjoyed popcorn, cotton candy, coconut water, and ice cream.

The place is set up like a Rajisthani Village with little lanterns lighting the way. Musical performances are ongoing and little stages scattered throughout the area, including magicians, dancers, sword performers, wrestlers, puppet shows, fire dancing, and so on. For Rs 30 all sorts of rids are available including camels, elephants, bull carts, camel carts, and horses. Corracle boat rides are also available. Free Mendhi designs for the arms and hands. Ferris wheel for Rs 30. Carnival games for Rs 10. A maze, slides for free. Plus the arts and crafts area features all major forms of art work with artisans sitting and actually making the crafts right in front of you.

All in all, it was a delightful evening. My main criticisms--the website is terrible. Not even information on when it opens and closes (seems like 6 in the evening until about 11). And no map to get a sense of all of the activities available.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drdana_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

There are two parts to the resort - the hotel and the village theme experience center. We did not stay in the hotel but visited the village theme experience center. Very icely done but usually very crowded during weekends. You can experinec different aspects of a village in Rajasthan including food from a mud oven. The rajasthani food that they serve is awesome. Prefer to take the otpion where they serve you with you sitting on the floor Indian style. They are very hospitable and friendly while serving authentic Rajasathani food. The camel and elephant rides have long lines and can be avoided.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_away_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had visited Chokhi Dhani a few years ago and I remember recommending it to many friends.

However, I was disappointed to see the current state of this place when I visited it recently.

The food is mediocre and the long queues to get in to the dinning area make the whole experience terrible.

The performers (not sure how well they are paid) keep asking for money which makes the whole experience very awkward - the resort discourages tips but the performers literally demand a tip!

It is located far away from the city and totally not worth the long drive. If you are in Jaipur for one night, please avoid this place and attend the light and sound show at Amber fort (at half the cost!)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank purrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurangabad, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

It was a tereffic experience and really loved the place with family. The best part was the vegetarian food and the way it was presented. Though the place was very happening in the night and line for dinner took too long but the wait was worth all the pains. Rooms were Ok not something very strange , just average.

Room Tip: if going for a vacation avoid weekends at chowki dhani as the place is overcrowded at weekends by lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haiderrizvi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went to Choki Dhani around Feb 20th. The cottages where we stayed was nicely done and beautiful from within. The cottages around and the ambiance was also nice. We went to the gymnasium and swimming pool and found the services fine.
However, what the place lacks in is warmth and humility towards guests. At the reception of the hotel, the behavior was cold and even when we used to order room service, there wasn't a very warm response either. The village adjacent to the cottages, well that is superb and worth a visit. However, I aint so sure about the cottages. For the rates which the place charges you can easily stay in a hotel which gives much better service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#38 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
11.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
10.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Jaipur
Golden Tulip Jaipur
#51 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chokhi Dhani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chokhi Dhani Resort

Property: Chokhi Dhani Resort
Address: Miles 12 Tonk Road, Jaipur 303905, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chokhi Dhani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the spirit of Rajasthan and ensuring the perfect Rajasthani experience is Chokhi Dhani, a unique Village Resort. Chokhi Dhani literally means a "fine hamlet" i.E. A quintessential ethnic village that offers an ideal pastoral experience. Away from the urban life the idyllic cottages and suites in the resort give the right blend of traditions - modern amenities in typical ethnic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chokhi Dhani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chokhi Dhani Hotel Jaipur
Choki Dhani Jaipur
Chokhi Dhani Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing