We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Commercial - Times have changed the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chokhi Dhani Resort
Ranked #51 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too Commercial - Times have changed the experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have been visiting Chokhi Dhani since its inception in 90's and I recently visited it with few of my European friends, For them it was an experience with no match but I was sad to see how the nature of a true village experience has changed into commercial activity.
The food was good as always and so was the hospitality but I guess even that is loosing its touch. There is no doubt that there is no parallel to Chokhi Dhani when it comes to near traditional experience. The push sales in the shopping arcade and constant follow-up by the shopkeepers is annoying.
Overall I will still recommend it to people who have no traditional Rajasthani experience but I guess its not for me any more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gaurav00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    204
    94
    41
    49
See reviews for
379
137
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It was a loverly experience to stay at Choki Dhani. The rooms are small huts in traditional Rajasthani style and are very comfortable. The tradtional Rajasthani food is fingerlicking good, but the best part is their service. They serve the food with so much love and affection that it seems you are eating at your mother's kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vishal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We are very thankful to Chokhi Dhani members for the special arrangement for us. Really just because of you people (adding Nupur (Manager), Bhupender and other management staff), me and my wife, were able to make an awesome weekend and spend memorable time.

As usual, CHOKHI DHANI's special in their hospitality and cooperative staff. The best part within 6 months, this was our Second visit and we didn't find any change in anything and enjoyed every moment either Drink - Dine or Village.

It was excellent experience and great thanks once again to all of you.
Surely in another 6 month we are coming back. And looking forward to all of you people kind support.
Have a great day :)….

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RahulJyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have heard lot about this place but little disappointed. Very far from Jaipur centre. .very heavy food.and has to pay for each activities. Ok place to spend evening. Bu not so great. May be good for families witg children.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Manoj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I always wanted to take my kids to Chokhi Dhaani resort and village and made a program in March. The property is beautiful and well maintained . But the problem is that if your kids are teenagers , you will have to take a seperate room, even though the cottages are big enough for extra beds. This had not been specified to us initially. The ambience was very nice and the traditional feel was amazing. The breakfast spread was good but the dinner buffet was really bad and we chose to eat out on the 2nd day. WiFi was free only for 12 hours, meaning that if you activate it the first day and only use it for an hour the whole day, yet it will expire which was indeed very silly. The staff was polite especially the restaurant staff , though the room service staff seemed to be very confused. The rooms were not that well maintained AC not working properly etc etc.
Coming to the Chokhi Dhaani village , Oh it was an eyesore. It was dirty , ill maintained , the shows are average. What was worse that the artistes were looking ill kept and very poor, the performing kids were malnourished and unhealthy , few looking really sick. The poverty showed on their faces as they were not smiling at all. There was too much noise and the place was quite dirty. The management has to take care of these poor performing artistes and be responsible for their health and welfare , not think only of filling their own pockets. I have to say I was truly very pained at seeing the local talent suffer so much. Shameful.

Room Tip: All the cottages are good but bear in mind that if having older children you will have to take 2 cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi Aga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was a memorable experience.Firstly I was not at all interested in going to a place which is traditional. But after visiting Chokhi Dhani my views have changed.I now respect the traditions and culture of Rajasthan a lot. The huts there are amazing and i still remember those small chappatis and the chutney I had there. Next we enjoyed going through that small cave and then next was the most amazing and yummy food I ever had. The food in Chokhi Dhani is unique and what I loved most was the rice-dal mixture with sugar. The service there is awesome and the variety is very good. The quality of the food no doubt is commendable. Thats all I have to say for now and if you are reading this review you should actually visit Chokhi Dhani to understand what I am saying.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divu97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Jaipur, the Pink City, has retained its charm for tourists for many generations now. This is as much due to the cultural heritage that this city has been abundantly endowed with as the entrepreneurial ability of its citizens to periodically reinvent ways to present this heritage in ever new ways. Just on the outskirts of the city, this wonderful resort is a must visit for all tourists.

One must dedicate an entire evening to visit this place and ideally plan one's dinner. The place offers an experience encompassing the entire spectrum of typically rajasthani way of life...... the ambience, music, hospitality, colorful culture and sumptuous food. Do take your children along, they would cherish these memories for a long time to come. Also, plan to stay a little longer ..... may be till mid-night since Jaipur is generally safe for tourists.

All in all, a wonderful experience that I have relieved on numerous occasionally and would still love to repeat it as and when possible.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pramod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#39 of 381 in Jaipur
1,378 reviews
11.5 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 381 in Jaipur
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#24 of 381 in Jaipur
1,794 reviews
10.6 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
11.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 381 in Jaipur
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chokhi Dhani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chokhi Dhani Resort

Property: Chokhi Dhani Resort
Address: Miles 12 Tonk Road, Jaipur 303905, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chokhi Dhani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the spirit of Rajasthan and ensuring the perfect Rajasthani experience is Chokhi Dhani, a unique Village Resort. Chokhi Dhani literally means a "fine hamlet" i.E. A quintessential ethnic village that offers an ideal pastoral experience. Away from the urban life the idyllic cottages and suites in the resort give the right blend of traditions - modern amenities in typical ethnic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chokhi Dhani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chokhi Dhani Hotel Jaipur
Choki Dhani Jaipur
Chokhi Dhani Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing