We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good advice and luxurious travel”

Colourful Indian Holidays - Private Day Tours
Ranked #42 of 272 Tours in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Planning to Visit India. Email us For Golden Triangle Tour, Rajasthan Tour, Kerala Tour, North India Tour, Leh and Ladakh, South India and North India Tours
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good advice and luxurious travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This service was excellent. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the train station and on arrival at Agra we were collected and the day commenced from there! The guide was great and knew what he was talking about... the only downside for us was going to the 2 craft workshops as we felt pressured to buy and didn't really feel comfortable. However- this aside it was a wonderful trip and value for money taking into account the amount of travel and guidance...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    18
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing service, incredible value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We coulnd belive how good was their service and the value of what we paid until we received.. Excellent company. 100% recomended

Helpful?
Thank Marco4902000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent assistance for a great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I travelled from Delhi to Agra, Jaipur and back to Delhi with this agency and I was more than satisfied. The driver was extremely professional, he gave us the directions we needed to see the best of the cities, without imposing the usual mandatory visits to affiliated shops (if you have been travelling through India, you know what I'm talking about).
I had some minor inconvenience with the planning of the trip, but the driver and the manager were more than available to help and we were able to sort it out smoothly.
I strongly suggest everyone to travel India with them!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easton,ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go to the Taj Mahal without this guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Following a three day meeting in Hyderabad, myself and two other traveler friends planned the trip to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. From an internet link I somehow connected with Colourful Indian Holidays and was able to arrange for a custom trip that included a pickup at our hotel in Delhi, transferring luggage to another hotel in Delhi for our return from Agra, and then driving up to Agra for an overnite stay and day tour the next day. As I recall, this all came about following an unsuccessful attempt to make reservations for the high speed train from Delhi to Agra. Don't even bother with that. I recommend anyone wishing to make the journey to the Taj to use these guys. Our driver, Bobby, was excellent. He showed up on time, polite, sincere, conscientious, and a good driver. His English was very good and he knew much about the area we travelled through. Our trip included our staying over night in Agra and Bobby did so as well and was ready to pick us up promptly at 7am for the early morning access to the Taj. He handed us off to our Taj tour guide that escorted us around the Taj, knew where to take good pictures and fended off the hawkers that can sometimes overwhelm visitors outside the entrance. but don't believe the portrayal of the Taj area in Slumdog Millionaire. It's not bad at all. The grounds are well kept and the Taj itself is well worth the 15 hours in a plane it took me to get there. Again, our guide was knowledgeable about the site and had a good sense of humor. He then took us on to the Agra Fort and ultimately saw us off for our return with Bobby getting us back to Delhi for some R&R. Very reasonably priced, a clean vehicle, and dependable. Just be sure to tip Bobby well!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
1 review
“9 Days in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I are in our 60s. We live in the Chicago suburbs and traveled to India in middle October 2012. We've only gone on group tours with American travel agencies so we were apprehensive about booking a private tour with an Indian travel agency. We were pleasantly surprised by Colourful Indian Holidays. Everything was exactly was represented in the itinerary. The cost was very reasonable. We felt safe everywhere we went.
We arranged for a private car and driver for 9 days and nights. The car was immaculate and large. The driver ( Paja) was exceptional. He not only had excellent driving skills but was extremely friendly and answered all our questions in English. We felt like he was a good friend by the end of the trip. Neither my husband nor I are particularly fond of Indian cuisine. Paja was always able to find very nice restaurants that had a wide variety of foods. We never got sick from any of the food. We requested 4 star hotels with swimming pools and they were gorgeous. We received a booklet with all our vouchers for the train ride (Agra to Varanasi), hotels, and internal flight (from Varanasi back to Delhi for our flight home) when we were greeted at the airport by the Colourful Holiday rep. All the hotels had fabulous breakfast buffets (American and Indian food-made to order omelets, pastries, lattes, etc.) included. We particularly enjoyed the Royal Plaza in New Delhi, Tiger Den Resort at Ranthambhore National Park and the Ramada in Varanasi. The weather was wonderful. We fully expected it to be very hot but the daytime highs were in the mid 80s with very little humidity. We visited the following cities: Delhi, Jaipur, Ranthambhore National Park, Agra and Varanasi. Colourful Indian Holidays provided a private English speaking guide who met us in each of the cities. Our favorite cities were Jaipur and Varanasi.
The only unpleasant part of the trip was the train from Agra to Varanasi. The only way to get from Varanasi from Agra (no flights) is a very long car ride or overnight train. The train station outside Agra was extremely dirty and had mice running around the floor of the 1st class waiting room. We did have a lockable private compartment on the train, however the communal bathroom on the train was filthy. We almost missed getting off the train because it arrived earlier than we expected. We were never worried about our safety in the station or on the train, it was just very dirty.
Mr. Poonia, the owner of Colourful Indian Holidays only required a deposit before we arrived. He met us at our hotel in Jaipur on the third day and we paid him the balance. We paid by travelers checks. He is a very honest and reputable man. He was extremely prompt about replying to all my e-mail questions prior to the trip and keeping us informed about any new information we needed to know. We particularly appreciated that he informed us of the possibility of the Indian Supreme Court closing Ranthambhore National Park. He suggested an alternative place to visit just in case it was closed.
We were very thankful we decided to tour with Colourful Indian Holidays and we would highly recommend them to anyone wishing to visit these cities. I understand they also can arrange for trips to Nepal and other parts of India. Happy traveling, Namaste!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colourful Indian Holidays - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Colourful Indian Holidays - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing