We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramshackle Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Narain Niwas Palace
Ranked #135 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ramshackle Elegance”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

If this had been our first heritage hotel in India, it would have been what we expected: it was a glorious old building that had become a bit tatty, a bit dirty and the service a bit haphazard. The other places we stayed exceeded our pre-trip expectations, however, so we know that it can be done. Over the two nights we stayed here, this place did grow on us: it was a peaceful oasis in bustling Jodhpur.
The main building is grand and brightly painted but peeling. The dining room is lovely, though, and in good nick. We had the buffet dinner on the lawn our first night, so we could watch the entertainment. The food was okay to start with but quickly became stone cold. The puppet show was interesting, but the pounding beat of the accompanying drums made conversation impossible and the guy selling souvenir puppets pestered us for the rest of the evening. Then came the dancers, with more pounding drums. If the hotel makes the buffet and entertainment compulsory, they should pay the entertainers enough that they don't have to bother the guests for money. The next night we insisted on having dinner in the dining room, despite being told that this wasn't part of our package. It was a fabulous meal.
Our room was quite nice, high ceilings with fancy paintwork. It just didn't seem very clean, especially the towels, which were greyish and stained. As with most of the places we stayed, there were far more switches than lights, so there was the nightly game of "which switch", and some of the light fixtures were not working and/or hanging from the wall by a wire. Still, it wasn't a bad experience.
One thing that irritates for a hotel in this price range is having to pay for WIFI. There was a hokey system of paying by the hour or half-hour, which got you a little slip of paper with a password that gave you access only while you stayed near reception.

Room Tip: Unless you can sleep through anything, don't take a room down at the end of the row (#46 & 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    96
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
65
72
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

An old Palace, lots of old furniture, rather tired. We stayed in one of the standard rooms which was out in the garden, rather like a terraced cottage set up where the doors lead onto the garden.  Clean, quiet, rather shabby but acceptable. The bathroom was fine, plenty of hot water, everything supplied apart from hair conditioner. Bodyshop across the road in the shopping mall.
 Big gardens and a lovely swimming pool - all very grand, from bygone days.
I was disappointed as there was no wifi in the rooms, even though on the agoda website it states that there is. The only available wifi was outside on the terrace near the reception area, WHEN it worked it was very slow. Not at all satisfactory.
Another disappointment was that there was no tea or  coffee making facilities in the room.
The food is satisfactory - dont bother with the club sandwich....stick to Indian food!!! Capuccino at breakfast - a lovely surprise! Good breakfast.
Large grounds, peacocks.
Peaceful and not a lot of staff hovering. 

Room Tip: We had one of the cottage like rooms in the garden, very quiet and we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here in November for 3 nights. Convenient location for what we wanted to do, and loved the atmosphere. Great pool and gardens. Spacious rooms, but would have liked a bath as well as the shower. Acoustics not good, but understandable, given the age of the hotel. Unfortunately our room was close to the aviary and whoever should have covered the cages had forgotten on the first night, hence we were woken by the birds at an ungodly hour.
Loved the breakfast, especially the large pots of chai masala and dhosas. No point expecting a typical English breakfast everywhere you go. Wi-Fi worked fine for us, though only needed half an hour a day; far too busy seeing the wonderful sights, to be wasting time doing what we can do at home.
Lovely staff on the whole.
Don't choose this hotel if you expect perfection at every turn or if you want to be with compatriots all the time. Wonderful that the obsession with mobile phones hasn't reached here , so that meals can be eaten mindfully.
Had an excellent pedicure for a fraction of the UK price in the spotless spa.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the aviary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcastlekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Its was a Majahra Palace, now a heritage hotel. Vehicles park at the fountain and you walk the 'Red carpet' to reception, I was in room 47, it was a nice large room at the end of a row - beds hard as was the norm in India, with TV, furniture is rustic in keeping with a bygone era. Nice toiletries supplied in bathroom. Had a problem with the shower rose on arrival but it was fixed with half an hour and supplied plenty of hot water. Laundry is cheap and Wifi chargeable @ R50 - 30 mins or R500 for 24hrs. Buffet Breakfast was very good, had good selection and would you believe very good coffee!. I particularly liked the Masala omelettes and when not served on the buffet the chef made it for me by order and it was the first hotel I have found that actually served real brown bread. the dining room staff were very attentive and gave excellent service.
Beautiful grounds with peacocks walking around a spa and swimming pool. Buffet dinner was a let down and expensive for what you got (R850 + tax), however they provide entertainment during the meal time. All round enjoyable enough to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Though the grounds were beautiful, this hotel left something to be desired. As you drive up to the hotel, you feel as though you are embarking into a beautiful, heritage hotel, but the service and amenities are not up to par. We had to change rooms upon arrival because the room we were given had no hot water.The included buffet breakfast was mediocre at best. Though the hotel claims to have wi-fi, there was no signal unless you sat in the hotel office, which is very inconvenient to keep up with emails/work. The highlight of the hotel is Hot Pink, a fantastic store located at the entrance of the hotel's compound.

Room Tip: Hot Pink, the store associated with the hotel is fantastic, located right at the entry into the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The place is noisy, freezing and the service is terrible. Breakfast of boiled vegetables, nescafe and mashed potatoes is just a joke. Overpriced. The staffs English is terrible or they pretend not to understand. Internet does not work. Rooms are cold, dark and offer little comforts. communal areas have no heating in the freezing winter months. Do not come here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terhikukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
240 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

When you drive up to the property, you think you've in for a real treat. The grounds are lovely, but the history and age of the property doesn't equal a nice comfy stay. Our "king size" bed was two twins pushed together. The beds were really hard. When you walked into the room, you could smell the little white cubes that are put into the drains to prevent bugs/etc. I really disliked that smell and tried to keep the bathroom door closed to keep the smell in. The room decor was nice, but the appearances from afar didn't look so great up close. You could see the old school tv, janky outlets, and all around rough around the edges. The staff was pretty great, I will say that, except for one of the managers that seems pretty arrogant. The breakfast buffet was poor to average. BUT, despite all of these things, it was a heritage hotel and the fact that it wasn't a big brand name property made it kind of special.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.8 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#63 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#34 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#5 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#30 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narain Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narain Niwas Palace

Property: Narain Niwas Palace
Address: Kanota Bagh, Jaipur 302004, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#46 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Narain Niwas Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Narain Niwas Palace Hotel, a Heritage Hotel, provides a good example of history amalgamating with modern times. Centrally located in Jaipur, the Pink City of India, the palace was built in the 19th century by General Amar Singh Ji, the then Thakur of Kanota. Designed in a fanciful version of The Anglo-Indian style popular in the Victorian Era, the palace now serves as a hotel. The Palace has all the modern amenities and a place where one can enjoy traditional Rajput Hospitality. Decorated with Rajput Flourishing, Rajasthani Furnishing and Traditional Jaipur painted wall decor in a typically bold colour palette; Narain Niwas was built in the 1928 by General Amar Singh, Thakur of Kanota, and Commander of the Jaipur State Force. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Narain Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narain Niwas Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing