We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Jaipur ”
Review of Shahar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shahar Palace
Ranked #87 of 507 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Jaipur ”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Brilliantly located hotel just outside of Jaipur centre. The family and staff who run the hotel were extremely friendly and incredibly helpful in organising transport, sightseeing etc.
The hotel grounds were nicely kept and the food was tasty too. An oasis from the madness of Jaipur! Highly recommended for those on a budget.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mycroftjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Public Relations Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Shahar Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, also your recommendation. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement and improvement to all of us as we strive to continuously develop the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
fateh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    30
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
29
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The most beautiful area, a lovely outdoor space but the inside has lots to desire. Stayed there in jan 2014 and was very disappointed with the indoors... just a little tacky... while they do look after a lot of cleaning personally but still not clean enough... glasses are dirty, sheets small for the bed and towels torn... specially when jaipur offers so much by way of print and colour and design... a lot can be improved. the cook a bit rude too but the other people, owners etc very very nice and helpful.

shivani

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shivaniis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Public Relations Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Shahar Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive & negative feedback.
I will share your comments with our staff. I am sure that this feedback will enable us and our staff as we strive to continuously develop the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
fateh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The Shahar Palace is a wonderful escape from the crazy streets of the Pink City! It is a calm space where you can take a breather. The location is well situated close to all the places with a short cheap tuk-tuk ride away. The Hotel is run by fantastic people who are willing to help with anything you need. Accommodation is basic and there is free WiFi available.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Public Relations Manager at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Shahar Palace. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and to see that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
fateh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Shahar Palace is a true gem right in the centre of Jaipur. It's location is perfect and the family who run it are absolutely amazing. They are so friendly and helpful. The garden is lovely and each bedroom has a balcony to overlook the beautiful greenery. My partner and I felt right at home here and would highly recommend that other travelers stay here. It's a quiet paradise in the middle of a bustling city run by some of the nicest people we've met.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natasha_A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Director of Sales at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Enormous thanks to the wonderful couple who took the time to write down their thoughts. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Shahar Palace for 3 nights after spending 3 weeks trekking and climbing in Ladakh. The welcoming Singh family and their staff and the beautiful gardens were just what I needed after a somewhat physically exhausting few weeks.
I had very attentive email communications prior to arriving and was picked up literally from my train carriage at Jaipur station by the owners' son Fateh. Mrs Singh was very helpful in arranging a car to collect me to take me for a massage and Mr Singh arranged the use of his driver Annouar for the two days I spent sightseeing.
The only small down side which loses a star was the restaurant being quite small and hot, I was able to eat in the garden as an alternative.
A very pleasant stay and definitely a place to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Director of Sales at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much for your warm, considerate feedback and I appreciate the way in which you have conveyed your note , necessary purchase for the Dining Room has been done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

It is a great place to visit and stay. The family running the place is wonderful and the staff are very helpful. The locality is quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. The garden is beautiful. I had a wonderful stay in the hotel and would definately come back the next time I visit Jaipur

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CShangne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Director of Sales at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback to us , highly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juba, South Sudan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This is one of those places one will make a note of to return to in future.
Caught by time on the way to Bundi from Agra, i emailed Shahar Palace to see if we could book two extra nights. I received a fast reply and we could head straight to Jaipur. The rest of our stay can be described in the same way: swift service, great tips from Fateh and good recommendations. We loved the fact that one was so close to the sights but woke up with the sounds of birds in the morning.
The amenities were really good too and the price is almost too good to be true.
Have I mentioned that we loved the food? Fantastic chicken curry! I just saw another review complaining about the food. In our 4 day stay we had nothing but excellent service from the kitchen staff (although they don't speak English) but that is the reason for the notepads! So one can write down your order! The food was fresh and home cooked. I loved the fried peanuts with onions

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dorette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaharfort, Director of Sales at Shahar Palace, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for your time and consideration , I love the feedback you give. Very encouraging and supporting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#23 of 386 in Jaipur
1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
1.4 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#28 of 386 in Jaipur
1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahar Palace

Property: Shahar Palace
Address: Barwara House Colony, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shahar Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shahar Palace is owned by the formal royal family of Shahar, Colonel Virendra Singh (retd) and his wife Nalini.The Heritage Hotel provides some of the finest accommodation in Jaipur, with a host of comforts and services in a truly regal ambiance.It's exterior design and gardens all reflect the spirit of Rajasthan, its heritage and royal traditions. Besides the grand residences of Chief Minister and Governor of Rajasthan, the area is renowned for its greenery, peace and quiet ambiance. Hotel Shahar Palace has also been recommended as one of the best budget Jaipur Hotel by the Lonely Planet Guide to Rajasthan , RoughGuide Jaipur , Love Jaipur by Fiona Caufield , German & Japanese guide book to Jaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Shahar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing