We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Property in Center of the City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur
Ranked #36 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Property in Center of the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Good Hotel for family per say in the center of the city. Hotel is close by the Railway Station.
All the major markets and office places are nearby. Food is OK.
Hotel, though the entrance is small, the rooms are spacious. Washrooms are a bit small in size.
Overall good experience. Front office staff is courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahoolgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avneesh280, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !!!


We are thankful to you for your encouraging comments, this is our team Country Inn & Suites , Jaipur . We look forward to see you more often & also take care in future.

With Regards,

AVNEESH K MATHUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    528
    171
    47
    45
See reviews for
397
244
64
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great city centre hotel in a very central area. rooms are not huge but are well appointed and modern. No Grounds to speak of though so no where to go apart from a very small roof top pool area that only has about half a dozen sun beds and a few chairs and a pool thats the size of a big bath. Service in the restaurant is a bit slow and OMG the "entertainment" in the evening has to been seen to be believed. If he could find a tune any tune and stick to it with words that match the song that would be an achievement.....

Room Tip: A room at the back would be quieter but would not have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamishhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avneesh280, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !!!

We are thankful to you for your encouraging comments, this is our team Country Inn & Suites , Jaipur . We look forward to see you more often & also take care in future.

With Regards,

AVNEESH K MATHUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We left the UK on 23 Feb 14 for a 5 day whistle-stop tour of India as a Silver Wedding treat to ourselves. All our hotels on the tour thus far had been perfectly good (Delhi - very nice) and Agra (exceptional!) and we were hoping that the hotel for our last 2 nights would be of a similar standard... alas it was definitely not to be! The Country Inn and Suites in Jaipur was by far the worst of the trip and my wife actually wanted to cut the trip short and go home early!

To start, on arrival we found a number of security staff on duty at the entrance together with a 'concierge?' in turban and dress robes. All pretty much ignored us and lounged about which was a bit of a shock after our outstanding experience at our hotel in Agra (read my other reviews for details). The bell boys unloaded and moved our bags inside. Check in was ok and handled largely by our tour rep. We were duly shown to our room by a member of staff. The second shock... the room absolutely stank of stale smoke and an awful, cloying, musky perfume (coincidentally the same aftershave we smelt on a waiter later that night) that appeared to have been liberally applied to mask the smoke. The room rug was obviously very dirty, the bathroom was filthy with black mould growing on the bathroom tiles and rust stains on the bath etc. We didn't even unpack because my wife announced that we were not staying here! (Very decisive is my wife :-) ) Oh... and while washing my hands I found a distinct 'tumbleweed' of what appeared to be human 'body' hairs (black and curly if you get my drift) next to the hand basin. I put it in the bin with a tissue... If my wife had seen that she would have gone apoplectic!

I went back to reception and spoke to Ms Ruchi Mathur, the guest relations manager (and one of the only good things we can say about this hotel... she really saved their bacon!). She came back with me to the room and having seen the poor standard of cleanliness (and smelt the air) immediately offered us a new room. The new room at least had breathable air and although it was still pretty grubby inside we accepted it, in part because we had just spent 7 hours in a minibus from Agra and needed to rest. My wife then got on to our travel company and told them our concerns about the hotel that had been sold to us as a 5 star and was more like a mediocre 3 star to be honest.

We were then visited by the head of housekeeping and we pointed out some of our obvious concerns about the standard of cleanliness and he said he would get the cleaner back in to our room (he did... but it was still pretty dirty even when they had finished!). While they were dealing with it we went to the bar to grab a drink with the other couple who were travelling with us. It soon became apparent that there were strange fumes in the bar that stung our eyes and gave us headaches. We suspect that they may have been arising from the engineering works next to the hotel (they are extending the train line I think) but the bar area soon became uninhabitable. It was the same in the restaurant but we had to eat having had nothing since breakfast. The food was not great to be honest and the service very poor. The first contact we had with a waiter was a young chap whom marched up to my wife, thrust a wine list at her almost hitting her in the face and saying very brusquely "Wine!".

We found something to eat and as the bar was unusable, went to bed early.

Day 2... we woke up and my wife found that she had been bitten quite badly by something during the night. These bites were very red and became increasingly weepy and itchy through the day and thereafter. We are 100% convinced they were not mosquito bites indeed we never saw one single flying insect in our room throughout our stay. Incidentally, we are used to living in mosquito countries and know how to take the proper precautions... these were not mossie bites and we suspect something in the bedding. I had a few bites but they did not 'come up' as badly as those on my wife.

We went off for our day touring Jaipur and returned later that evening. I will now confirm that the management of the hotel seemed to take our concerns very seriously and worked hard to make amends. We were specifically sought out by a procession of department managers throughout the evening and received many apologies and assurances of better service to come and to be honest, they did try very hard but it was all a bit late for us. The damage had been done. We later found out that our travel company had been on to the management and put the proverbial 'rocket up them'.

Anyhow, the shortlist of problems we found was:

The hotel is shabby and quite unkept in places, well overdue a redecoration and in places very dirty.
The ladies facilities in the foyer area are particularly poor.
There is a shopping area below the hotel where work seems to be in progress and the stairs etc are littered with rubble and metals screws etc (which are deadly slippery underfoot should you happen to step on one!).
The swimming pool area is quite dirty.
The majority of the staff are quite abrupt and almost surly and offer poor customer service (except Ms Ruchi on reception). This only improved on day 2 once our travel company had interceded on our behalf... even then you felt they were going through the motions rather than being genuinely welcoming.
Security staff somewhat scruffy and dismissive of guests arriving and leaving the hotel through the main doors.
The hotel smells of strong fumes and traffic inside on especially the 3rd floor so we were unable to use the bar area at times.
The hotel is noisy (constant noise and music on every floor... there is a club of sorts on the ground floor and even on the 6th floor the incessant beat is a real annoyance) and due to the location of the hotel, the noise from outside the hotel is unending.
The food in the restaurant is not great (and the service is worse) ... we found the best food was available from the Kasbah Bar (next to the main bar and opposite the Chinese Restaurant).

Our first room was wholly unacceptable.

The second room still had issues such as: power sockets not working, fridge not working, dirty light fixtures and fittings, dirty and stained rug, and another dirty bathroom (see attached pictures for examples).

To conclude. although some staff seemed to make genuine efforts to improve our hotel experience, this hotel is at best a poor 3 star hotel and certainly not a 5 star hotel as advertised and it rather spoilt the end of our trip in India. The owners need to invest money in the facilities, fixtures and décor as it is well overdue a refreshment. Perhaps more importantly, they should also invest time and money in a radical programme of staff hospitality training without delay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seamus4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avneesh280, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed these issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Regards,

AVNEESH K MATHUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is very security conscious with guards patrolling each floor.
It did make me think what they were guarding against !

The Dragon Chinese Restaurant was expensive for what it offered.
The buffet restaurant was OK but spartan, a bit like a canteen.

Rooms where spacious and comfortable.

I had a very early check out to catch a flight and the front desk staff were very efficient and even phoned the taxi company I had booked a cab with to find out why he was late !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed there in Oct 2013 with my wife. nice hotel centrally located but too much costly. Food is ok. Front desk staff is not good. i specifically ask them for non smoking room but they allot us smoking room and sent us to smoking floor. when i again ask them to change the room they said that they do not have any room but later in just 15 mins they arranged the same.

Not advisable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TarunDang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avneesh280, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed these issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Regards,

AVNEESH K MATHUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Located in the center of Jaipur, it's traffic noisy outside, overlooking a dual carriageway flyover.
Hotel is clean and modern,and popular with the locals for parties and functions.
Dragon chinese restaurant was first class.
Buffet restaurant was ok, too brightly lit for evening meals(no ambiance), helpful staff.
More than adequate for a two night stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the entrance, away from the flyover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avneesh280, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !!!

We are thankful to you for your encouraging comments, this is our team Country Inn & Suites , Jaipur . We look forward to see you more often & also take care in future.

With Regards,

AVNEESH K MATHUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We visited in August so got a good deal bieng offseason for our 3 day stay in jaipur...The property was as expected from a Country inn chain hotel...Room service was upto the mark...We had no issues in our stay and the property was very well maintained..The location of the hotel is a prime one and is suitable for visiting places of interest..Will definitely stay there again once in jaipur again

Room Tip: Any higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manojp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avneesh280, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar !!!

We are thankful to you for your encouraging comments, this is our team Country Inn & Suites , Jaipur . We look forward to see you more often & also take care in future.

With Regards,
AVNEESH K MATHUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jaipur City Centre
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#35 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune Select Metropolitan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jaipur, City Square
0.2 mi away
Park Inn Jaipur, A Sarovar Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#32 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur
Address: Khasa Kothi Circle, M.I.Road | Khasa Kothi Circle, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jaipur
#33 Business Hotel in Jaipur
#38 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#54 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From tasteful meticulously crafted rooms for the discerning traveler to culinary delights that tickle your taste buds adding another dimension to the art of gastronomy, standing eight stories tall with 112 designer rooms and a vibrant, in-house shopping mall, the Country Inn & Suites Jaipur offers architectural beauty in a city renowned for lovely historical buildings and monuments. One of the top Jaipur hotels, the hotel is thoroughly modern but no less personal. Take advantage of excellent amenities, including concierge services, Business Centre, Health Club and on-site discotheque ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Jaipur Hotel Jaipur
Country Inn And Suites Jaipur
Country Inn Jaipur
Jaipur Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing