We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, brimming with character”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #21 of 412 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Distinctly ornate exterior and interior, create an impressive impact upon arrival. It feels special, this is no ordinary hotel and the warm, friendly attentive staff made for an incredibly pleasant experience, without breaking the bank!! I shared a room with two friends, the hotel added a third bed to the room, all beds were very comfortable, as was the room overall and very well appointed. Highly recommended, for a memorable experience!!
The style of the room, was in-keeping with the rest of the hotel, but a more slightly subtle version which created a relaxing, characterful space. Excellent and extensive restaurant / room service menus, impressive service, wonderfully delicious food, charming roof top dining all encouraged us to dine in more and venture out less than I would usually. But if was just so good, it was impossible to feel guilty!! The aubergine in yoghurt with cumin was sublime! Good variety offered at breakfast too. We lucked out by booking during a promotional discount but even at the standard costs I'd say this hotel is worth a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWSPIRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel, we had a wonderful stay. The staff was very accommodating, helpful and friendly. The whole place is decorated very well, and had some cool photos from Indian history. The rooftop restaurant is great as well. We will definitely come back if I ever stay in Jaipur again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joyce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we meant to book a five star hotel and mistakenly booked 3 star. However it was absolutely lovely the building is heritage and totally magnificent. All staff were charming and the roof top restaurant was really lovely. We would definitely go back there if we return to Jaipur.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank aston_malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

hotel service ...rooms ....restaurants .....food.....every thing was very nice ....but being such nice hotel i was excepting atleast some complimentary water bottles as the bottles in the mini bar was charged and atleast room service food should be available late night...as i wanted to eat someting at 12 midnight but every thing was closed and nothing available..... please look into it as i myself is a hotelier and always have some advice for improvements.......thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great value accommodation in Jaipur. Looks like a palace inside and out. Room was spacious except for the bathroom which was quite cramped. Shower was great! Excellent water pressure and hot water all the time. Spotlessly clean. Beds were comfortable enough. Did have a noisy air conditioner but not enough for us to complain. Breakfast was fantastic. Great selection of tasty authentic (and hygienic) food. Would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmurfWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Atmosphere was so royal, i like the interior of hotel, we feel like we r in a palace. Hotel Staff was so good, provide evrything during brkfast, lunch & dinner. Brkfast was awesome, i like rajasthani food very much, Also hotel is very near to market & railway station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Aditya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

From the more invisible point of view:
Everyone probably have a place where one feel safe and secure from the moment when seeing something. Umaid Mahal was such. The quiet, protective energy around, along with the sense of caring for the house by goodhearted people makes it a good place to stay in. I wish to thank the family who have opened their doors to give people a place to stay in and I hope that a lot of good people will find it.

The very closest surrounding is peaceful.

I stayed here during the cold season in December. During wintertime make sure to have enough warm clothings with. It is quite chilly in Jaipur during this time. The rooms heaters were plenty enough to keep you warm though.

The staff in the reception was very helpful to guide in all matters and through them and Mr Singh, who took us all around, we could have a good daily portion of sightseeing and errands. It was with ease that we went and returned safely.

The absolutely beautiful house is full of small details. At least for me, there had been a big interest to hear more of the stories attached to them and am certain many others would too. Either in written format or oral. I could imagine there to be guests joining in evening around a storyteller to listen what the little palace has to tell of the battles, joys and sorrows of Jaipur through the eyes of Umaid Mahal and those that built it. Jaipur is full of known places to go for sightseeing to, but I could have spent all the stay just walking around reading the details.

A little palace worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMKL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#17 of 412 in Jaipur
1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 412 in Jaipur
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#39 of 412 in Jaipur
970 reviews
9.7 mi away
Umaid Haveli Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#4 of 412 in Jaipur
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: £40 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing