We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great heritage hotel!”
Review of Umaid Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Umaid Mahal
Ranked #24 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Despite it's location being a bit away from main markets and pink city walls, my family and I enjoyed our stay here. The staff was courteous and attended to our needs as required. The room itself was very well decorated and it had one of the best showers I have ever seen in a hotel. It is a delight to roam around the hotel itself due to all the heritage photos, architecture and colors. The breakfast was pretty good too and had one or two new items every consecutive day. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would recommend it again to anyone looking to find a good deal. It would take 20-30Rs fare for auto-rickshaw from the hotel to go to the main markets. So, I guess it wasn't too bad in terms of location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samboi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,824)
There are newer reviews for Umaid Mahal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel that was well presented, tidy, and had excellent service. The complimentary breakfast was great and swimming pool awesome. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely decorated and had large bathrooms. Beds a bit hard but seems to be the trend in India. AC was a bit loudish but not an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SimonG-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here in march 2014. The outside of the hotel was impressive, the resturant served a lovely tandoori. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special. The pool was pleasant with four sunbeds. The real complaint about the hotel , was the very miserable head waiter in the restaurant, he was miserable to the point of rude, everything was too much. The other staff were ok, but a little bit unhappy, and given we were on holiday a smile wouldn't of hurt.

The room was fine, some of the electrics seemed a little doggy though.

Overall it is an ok hotel with a good price, but I would not return. If you a just looking for a few days and using it as a base it is fine, if you are looking for home from home this place is not for you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Hello037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just finished a trip of the "Golden Triangle" (Jaipur, Delhi, and Agra) with friends. Jaipur was first, and the Umaid Mahal was the first hotel we stayed at. I guess I can sum it up by saying that I really missed this hotel during the remainder of my trip. While in Delhi at a different (more expensive) hotel, we kept talking about how much we missed the Umaid Mahal.

For the price you pay, it can't be beat. Location is a bit out of the way, but there really isn't a 'center' of Jaipur. And being that transportation is so cheap, being a bit 'out of the way' was just fine by me.

Staff was friendly (and sincerely so! Not fake customer service-friendly...), the rooms were clean (with great air conditioning!), and the food AMAZING. I'm sitting here back home wishing I could be eating at the rooftop restaurant sipping a Kingfisher at the Umaid Mahal!!! My buddies feel the same way....

I miss this place so much. Will stay there again when back in Jaipur. Without question.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in sizes. I got a smaller one, whereas my friends got bigger ones. I didn't care, a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paella747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was a lovely hotel with nice decor and ambience. The room and bathroom were clean and the shower was very powerful! Finally, the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast could be improved but overall we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KLM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A small property centrally located in a residential area of Jaipur city near M.I. Road with nice spacious room & bathroom. Overall the place is laid out like a mini palace of moguls & rajputs who were ruling India a few centuries ago. In a nutshell, Umaid Mahal gives you a feel and experience of how the royals used to live a few hundred years ago plus modern amenities to make today's traveler comfortable. Overall, we had a good experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooftop restaurant was nice and most of the kebabs we tried were good. The breakfast buffet gets a thumbs down as it was very average with very little to choose from. Umaid Mahal is value for money

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with balcony on 3rd or 4th floor. Lower levels are a bit claustrophobic as the prop...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank afabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The rooms were wonderful. The ambiance recreated a heritage property. The stay was comfortable and the staff helpful. Though some of the advise given was incorrect, I appreciate the help extended.
The food definitely needs improvement and the service in the restaurant staff is poor. They ran out of food during breakfast and the refills took forever and other items were over by 9.30 am even though breakfast is supposed to be till 10 am. They could add nonveg items like bacon and sausages to improve the variety. Dinner was also disappointing with cold meat served in grilled starter. Good place to stay but not eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GowriRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 381 in Jaipur
1,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 381 in Jaipur
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 381 in Jaipur
694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#42 of 381 in Jaipur
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Mahal

Address: C-20 / B-2 Bihari Marg | Opp. Lane of K.P. Automotives, Bani Park, Jaipur 302016, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Jaipur
#22 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Business Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Umaid Mahal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique experience in Jaipur Umaid Mahal - one of the most classic Jaipur Hotels welcomes you to the world of traditional Rajasthani hospitality in this pink city Jaipur. Forget your worries in this beautiful and comfortable mini castle whose warm hospitality and splendor will linger in your minds forever.Umaid Mahal is built as heritage style Jaipur hotel with some of the most exclusive interiors and ambience in Jaipur city.Being a world popular tourism destination, Jaipur always has a longing to serve its national and international guests up to the mark with perfection. To solve this purpose, our hotel in Jaipur is always prepared for welcoming guests with warmth, love and care for their convenience. Though the hotels in Jaipur are built with historical and ethnic touch, there are available all sorts of advanced facilities for the tourists so that they do not feel any sort of difficulty in here. We welcome you to Jaipur, we welcome you our small paradise.This Jaipur budget hotel is run by the members of the erstwhile family of Borundra (near Jodhpur) under the able and experienced guidance of Wing Commander B.S. Rathore (retd.) and his charming wife Aarti Rathore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umaid Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Mahal Jaipur
Umaid Mahal Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing