We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of Fort Chandragupt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Chandragupt
Ranked #224 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Batticaloa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed as part of a tour, so can't comment on the prices. The hotel lobby is fabulous, the rooms nice and tidy and the beds comfortable. They do charge for wi-fi, which is a downer. Service was very good.

I started my Delhi-Belly experience here, just after we arrived. I had got the bug in Delhi that morning. The front desk arranged for a doctor to visit me; he arrived in under half an hour, and was a charming middle-aged gentleman with an excellent bedside manner. I was charged 1,200 (about $20US) and this included the meds and re-hydration packets. He even sent one of the hotel staff to bring the meds to me directly, so I only waited an additional 15 minutes and didn't have to venture out to find a pharmacy. He was obviously proud of his home city, so we had a nice chat about what I ought to do on my free time: I wasn't about to let the bug deprive me. I'm glad I didn't spend the time in my room, as the TV offerings were few and all in Hindi.

There's an ATM a couple meters to the left as you exit the front door.

The hotel is in a good location, despite the construction going on in the street. Would book there again if going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastwokitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    33
    15
    17
See reviews for
35
32
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

At first this hotel seemed fabulous - gorgeous Rajasthani lobby decor, flowers everywhere, garlands, welcome drinks, marble features, spacious rooms. Then we discovered our bathroom was being devoured by tiny cockroaches. They moved us to a room that wasn't nearly as great, and our shower curtain was covered in black mold, but that was nothing until I discovered my sheets hadn't been changed since the last guest, evidenced by stains and a considerable amount of shed hair. However, to their credit, they promptly changed the sheets and shower curtain, and breakfast and the laundry service were quite good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Ambience wise hotel is very good...hotel provides small but a clean swiming pool. No changing room provided along with swiming facility...services are good but location is not good as it is situated in dense location...so much around hotel....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vivek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here 2 nights over New Year as part of a tour.

First thing I noticed was that the prices were ridiculous. Wifi was charged on a 24hr period whereas most places was free. Laundry was expensive too but well done.

Lots of confusion and chaos on the reception desk for a multiple of reasons. Seemed grumpy and unhelpful.

The first room we were given was horrific, in a damp dark windowless part of the old hotel. We changed for a much better double room overlooking the pool. Rooms were small but warm! A blessing in January.

Not much bar action to be had in Jaipur so ended up paying the rather steep price for New Years Eve Gala dinner. Was very good fun, mainly because there were lots of Indian families booked in, so got an authentic slice of Indian fun!

Food in restaurant was average, and expensive. Had a huge problem here with overcharging and incorrect change being given. Prices kept changing, and I assume waiters pocketing the cash. As a group we complained about this.

One of our group had someone come in the early morning walk into the room as it was unlocked and steal everything. So lock your doors at night!!

Location near the bus station, not too far from the old town. Would suggest staying somewhere else as there seems to be lots of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gampertons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It was a comfortable and reasonably priced hotel that provided decent rooms to relax in after coming in from the frantic streets and bazaars. The breakfast was pretty good. The staff wee also pretty helpful. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a G adventures tour. The hotel is located fairly close to the old city. It is bautifully decorated. We had a beautiful room overlooking the terrace/pool. The breakfast was good in the hotel restaurant. Internet was down while here. ATM conveniently located right out the front entrance doors. Not a lot of hot water here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This Hotel Is Located Very Conveniently At The Bus Stand And The Jaipur Railway Station Is Walking Distance. There A Few Restaurants And The Place Abuzz With Traffic And People With Shops And Hotels.
The Restaurant Serves Good Food And The Service Is Not As Expected.
If They Focus More On The Food And Service This Can Be A Better Than Average Hotel. The Rooms Are Decent, Not Luxurious Though. Towels Are Old.

Room Tip: The Suite Room Has A Huge Bathroom And Average In Terms Of Luxury. Road Facing Rooms Are Noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWPROBLEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#127 of 380 in Jaipur
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#66 of 380 in Jaipur
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
WelcomHeritage Traditional Haveli Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
RnB Select Jaipur
RnB Select Jaipur
#116 of 380 in Jaipur
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 380 in Jaipur
1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chirmi Palace
Hotel Chirmi Palace
#141 of 380 in Jaipur
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Chandragupt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Chandragupt

Property: Fort Chandragupt
Address: Station Road | Near Central Bus Stand, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Chandragupt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Chandragupt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Chandragupt Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing