We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Summer but Cold for Winter”
Review of Explorer's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Explorer's Nest
Ranked #53 of 502 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Sakon Nakhon Province, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for Summer but Cold for Winter”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Unfortunately the Hotel rating system is not well understood in India and a four star resort or hotel is often the same as a one star. They often mix the review stars with hotel ratings. This is NOT a 4 star hotel as mentioned on many other websites! It's a lovely small B & B run by a very friendly retired Lt Col and his wife. It has exceptional good reviews but some problems are not mentioned that we found. For the most, the previous good reviews are correct. The staff are lovely, the atmosphere homely and it's a quiet area and ideally situated close to old Jaipur. The owner can help arrange a reliable local taxi guide for a reasonable price. Our problem was we froze in Winter! The beds are not "made" and have no linen; you will need to use the Army style blankets only. There are no heaters and no plan to get any. The water is freezing cold! it is listed as having hot water but the solar hot water heaters are totally ineffective in winter and the Col. doesn't like to supplement the heater with the electric override. As long as you realise this you should find it gives good value overall though, but bring your jacket if you are going to Jaipur over New Year time! Although we were cold I would still recommend it though as it is good value due to the friendly owners and safe feeling of this well decorated house.

Room Tip: They don't have many rooms, and most are booked constantly but if you have an opportunity ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiercesnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
When he came to our place he did say that he thought ours is a four star hotel, because he saw the four stars against our listing in a hotel review site.I was a little taken a back because from the various descriptions, photographs, reviews and finally the price we dont ever come out to be as a four star hotel . So right at the outset he was quite disapointed. But im glad, in spite of that, he gradually liked our small place. Yes he did ask for central heating which we dont have nor ever proclaim. We tried to help him out with a few extra blankets. As for the solar water heater plant that we have put, i can vouch for its effectiveness. Only thing is one has to wait for 30 seconds before the hot water starts coming into the taps/showers from the solar heating tanks. That the guest didnt like waiting for and insisted that we put the back up electric geysers to operation.
We ofcourse do provide linen, bed sheets, pillows with pillow covers , a pull over sheet to take under the blankets, blankets, towels etc. Only we dont "make" the bed like they do in "Four or Five star hotels"
And one sincere request to readers of this review, dont dont take his advise of jaipur being good in summers. It is not. It is hot oven. Months of May and June ( the summers) are the worst months of jaipur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    37
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
50
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Jaipur is a beautiful city and there was so much to do the entire day, we were glad to be coming back to a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The guest house is well done, and the owners have taken great trouble with the decorations. Definitely worth a trip to the blue city!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbGom567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We thank you for your kind and good words about our humble place. We were so very happy to host you in Jaipur. Its always a pleasure to meet good spirited travellers like you who are so good hearted. We shall remmeber you for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This small family run guesthouse is perfectly located in heart of Jaipur, yet nicely tucked away from the busy streets. Great breakfast and comfy rooms. The owner is very friendly and he went out if his way to help us. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola5064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are extremely thankful for your appretiation of our small humble place. We are so glad that you liked it. We also want you to know that it was a delight to be your host and share all those fantastic travel stories. We wish you all the best and many happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of days at this small hotel in Jaipur. Really enjoyed the calm location in a residential neighbourhood but still close to restaurants and old town. It felt like a calm haven in the chaotic Jaipur. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated, especially the big room in the front with door to the terrace.

The owners live in the house which gives it a warm atmosphere. The staff was also very friendly. We felt welcomed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heiduli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We are so very happy that you liked and appreciate our small place. Its very kind of you. It was a great pleasure hosting you both, such fine polished people. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again some day. Wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This place is a haven in Jaipur. The location can't be beat. Right off MI road and only about a 10-15 min walk to the bazzar's and train station. The manager Arvid is a wonderful host. Our plane arrived very late at night and our pre-paid taxi from the airport refused to take us to the explorers nest and tried to drop us off at his brothers hotel. When we refused he became angry and drove off. Now well past midnight we called Arvid and told him our sitation and he came and picked us up! Free of Charge. We loved this guesthouse so much that we stayed here again on our way back through Jaipur, this time organized a pickup from the train station. The lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy the evening after a day in the markets. We love the Explorers Nest!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you very much for your so many kind words about our place. It makes us happy and raises our spirits. Its always such a pleasure to host such pleasant people like you. Makes our B&B experience all the more fruitful and fulfilling. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

So happy to find Explorer's Nest reviewed on TripAdvisor and wish to add my bit. Me & my nephew stayed here couple of nites and Mr.Arvind arranged our tour of all the major sites in and around the Pink city.
His wife Shoba was very helpful giving us tips about shopping and we made some good bargains of sarees for our womenfolk back home in Sri Lanka. She was also a mine of information and I had very informative discussions about many subjects. The antique amourry in the house was very impressive. We also had nice breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asoka_una
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
thank you for all the so very kind worlds about our place. Its always such a satisfying pleasure to know that the guests who selected us as their hosts have gone back with good memories of our place. It also energizes us to go ahead with fresh zeal to welcome our next guest to our B&B. We are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stay at Explores Nest during 6 days in April 2013. We stay in a room with double bed and with bathroom, without air-conditioned but with a silent fan (essential in this time of the year) and pay 650 rupies per night. The initial price was 750 rupies, but as we stay for a long time Mr Arvind make us a discount. It was given sheets, and toilet paper, but no towels.
Mr Arvind, the owner of the house is very gentle and helpful, given us lots of information about the tourist sites around, transportations, prices, etc…
The afternoons spent in the balcony to avoid the heat where really relaxing and the company of Mr Arvind and his wife was very nice.
They serve breakfast and dinner if you order. The food is good but really soft compared the traditional Indian “spicy” style.
The location is good, in a quit street far from the confusion of the MI Road, and a walking distance from the Pink City.
We recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpiedade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#19 of 381 in Jaipur
3,427 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 381 in Jaipur
1,815 reviews
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#39 of 381 in Jaipur
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 4 in Amer
350 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Tree House Resort
The Tree House Resort
#6 of 410 in Jaipur
572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer's Nest

Property: Explorer's Nest
Address: 3 Gopinath Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a small bed and breakfast traveler's hostel of 5 rooms for the travelers visiting Jaipur. Our Aim is to provide personalized and homey feel to our services. It is a bed and breakfast set up with the comforts and warmth of a family home, where we sit together, eat, drink and share our travel experiences, discuss the next days program and places to see, laugh and sing and create our bonds for life. We are very centrally located, just between the old Pink City and the main MI Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Explorer's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing