We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Feel of India”
Review of Explorer's Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Explorer's Nest
Ranked #54 of 507 Jaipur B&B and Inns
1 review
“Authentic Feel of India”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Explorer's Nest is a gem of a find! Affordable rates in a prime location (15 mins walk from attractions & 5 minutes from food & entertainment) with clean rooms, hot water & cultured decor. It's simple, safe & allows you to feel a "true" Indian experience. Trust Arvind Sir's knowledgeable recommendations (fish tikka & kite flying) and try kind Vishnu's morning chai. Just keep in communication and they will happily accommodate. I highly suggest you see the Art & Cultural Center of Jaipur, Jawahar Kala Kendra!!! It boasts a unique outdoor stage, impressive collection, flourishing varied wildlife & worthwhile shopping. Only 10 mins from the airport. Hope this helped :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are so very happy that you liked our place and ernestly thank you for taking time out to mention it here. Such kind and thoughtful gestures on part of our good guests motivates us to provide still better services in future. We also want to mention here that it was a great pleasure being your host in Jaipur. You are such a kind and positive person. We wish you many more happy travels and stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    37
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
50
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed October last year. The rooms were lovely, we stayed in 2 as we stayed for longer than expected so had to move for a guest that had pre booked. The rooms were spacious, really clean and quirkily furnished. In fact the retro/vintage artefacts around the whole guesthouse were really cute and gave it a homely feel. My partner was ill during our stay, so we ate our meals in the guesthouse. The staff were lovely and the food was tasty, especially the vegetable curries with fresh curry leaves from the garden. The owner Arvind can be quite abrupt, but I think this is just his nature and shouldn't be taken personally. He was always very helpful, he was very informative, sold us (for cheap) a useful map, lent us one of his kites for flying with the neighbourhood children from the roof, and he even invited us into his family's Diwali celebrations, for which they had bought sweets and fireworks for the street children. The hotel was in a good location for us, it could have been closer to the main sites, but it was in a quiet gated community which we liked. All but one of the gates close at 10 or 11 at night, so this is something to confirm and bear in mind when coming back from dinner.
The only negative I can say, was that Arvind arranged a driver for us to take a trip to the frescoes of Shekhawati, which he thoroughly recommended, and he was helpful enough to pair us with another couple which reduced the cost. However the driver whom he arranged was absolutely abysmal, he fell asleep at the wheel, drove very recklessly and we feared for our lives and had to wake him up and ask him to drive safer on several occasions. I know that we are Westerners who would judge Indian driving differently, but we have since travelled India for 4 months, and I can honestly say that this driver was one of, if not the worst and most unsafe driver of those 4 months. I know that the quality of this driver cannot be attributed to the guesthouse, but I do think that the guesthouse in arranging the driver has some respo

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our stay at the Explorer's Nest was just perfect and very memorable.

Arvind, the host of the Explorer's household was very responsive & friendly in e-mails for a couple of months prior to our arrival. Our dates weren't firm at all and yet he was very accommodating just the same. We hoped for the Explorer's Home, but it was full, so we stayed in the "Nest".

We arrived in town a little tired (and still ill) coming from Jaisalmer by train and was greeted by a tuk tuk driver that Arvind arranged. The driver was awaiting us with a clearly printed sign, despite the long delay due to fog. (At to my complete shock, the driver was wearing a t-shirt with my college logo on it! What are the chances of a tuk tuk driving owning, much less wearing a University of Connecticut t-shirt to pickup an alum in Jaipur, India!!!? That in itself was crazy.)

We were surprised how quiet the home was (and it is very quiet) despite the proximity to the MI road. It was a quick jaunt over to the MI for great restaurants (Arvind will recommend the top ones), lassi shops, etc.... The home is close enough to Old Town to walk. We were lucky enough to be in town as the kids were practicing for the kite festival. The roof of the house offers great views around the city. The kites were flying all over and the kids were so interactive with us despite the language barrier.

The floors, sheets, blankets and bathroom were all very clean & tidy. The extra blankets were appreciated and provided without requesting them. The water was hot and sufficient ventilation in the bathroom. The lights in the room are not super bright, so not great to read at night by. Breakfast was simple and tasty. The cook makes THE MOST DELICIOUS herbal tea, a MUST with breakfast!! Truly just a fantastic drink (that I've been unable to recreate at home).

Arvind and Shoma are very knowledgeable about the local area, and India in general. We had several very interesting talks. But the best part of our stay was the day spent with Arvind & Shoma at the khadi fair. Just out of the blue, they invited us to spend the afternoon with them at the local fair selling khadi (handmade) goods. This day was so memorable (and our family & friends LOVE the woolen shawls we bought there. In all honesty, these were the best gifts we bought on our whole trip around Rajasthan!) We think of our hosts and their openness and generosity to us each time I look at it.

Thank you for a very, very memorable visit to a very interesting and busy city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Many thanks, not only for your fine appreciative words about us and our humble place, but more for staying with us and making us all so happy with your warm and pleasant presence. We too cant forget the great time we had with you both at the Khadi Fair. It became a day of merry family outing.
We shall eagerly look forward to your return to your family in Jaipur some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gottingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

my friend and me stayed in this place for 5 days and we loved it! arvind is very nice and helpful, which is so important in a crazy city like jaipur! you really feel very welcome and kind of at home or at visit of some friends. the house is beautiful, the rooms are clean, we had a GREAT hot shower (warmed by solar energy)...what can I say! go there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voladoraloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many many thanks for so many nice words about our place. And many thanks for selectiing us to be your host in Jaipur. It was our pleasure to meet such fine people like you. Meeting good people like you is the reward of our running this humble B&B. You both were so full of positive vibes and friendly appreciation of each small thing, specially our initiative to go green for Hot water supply in form of Solar Water Heaters. Thank you once again from the bottom of our hearts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

First of all we arranged pick up from the airport. The driver was there waiting for us with our name even though our flight was delayed. There is no better way to be welcomed to a place than having a pick up service and although they charge a little more than the taxi rate I'd reccomend a pick up.
The guesthouse itself was lovely. We were greeted after having spoken at length via email to Arvind the ever so friendly and helpful owner. He told us everything we needed to know on arrival. It's become a theme in India where you're shown a room and everyone disappears and you have to find everything our yourself. Not here. Arvind showed us a map of the city told us what was where, gave us a tour of the room sorted out our wifi and everything as soon as we arrived.
The room itself was brilliant, centred around a lovely four poster bed and full of great antiques and character. The hot water in the shower worked a treat and was one of the best things to escape the cold after so many hot months and cold showers in the South.
Be warned however the room is cold. There are ample sheets to warm you up, but don't expect any sort of heater. I'm sure if we'd asked Arvind would have supplied but we were simply happy wrapping up in the clean and fresh smelling sheets.
We had a very enjoyable and surprisingly stress free introduction to Jaipur a lot of which I'm sure was down to the fantastic treatment at Explorers Nest.
The place is a little more expensive than lots of other budget joints in the North but if like us, you're coming in off a long flight, the level of service we received was certainly befitting of the higher price r1000 for the superior room we had.
The night watchmen was always friendly and eager to help with our evening requests as well.
Thanks again for a great stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I cannot thank you enough for the so many kind words that you have said about our small humble place. Such words touch our heart. It shows how lucky we were to have a wonderful person like you with us. A person who knows to see and appreciate small things. After the presures of day to day running of the guest house, such kind words indeed are very well taken. Thank you once again and do come back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakon Nakhon Province, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Unfortunately the Hotel rating system is not well understood in India and a four star resort or hotel is often the same as a one star. They often mix the review stars with hotel ratings. This is NOT a 4 star hotel as mentioned on many other websites! It's a lovely small B & B run by a very friendly retired Lt Col and his wife. It has exceptional good reviews but some problems are not mentioned that we found. For the most, the previous good reviews are correct. The staff are lovely, the atmosphere homely and it's a quiet area and ideally situated close to old Jaipur. The owner can help arrange a reliable local taxi guide for a reasonable price. Our problem was we froze in Winter! The beds are not "made" and have no linen; you will need to use the Army style blankets only. There are no heaters and no plan to get any. The water is freezing cold! it is listed as having hot water but the solar hot water heaters are totally ineffective in winter and the Col. doesn't like to supplement the heater with the electric override. As long as you realise this you should find it gives good value overall though, but bring your jacket if you are going to Jaipur over New Year time! Although we were cold I would still recommend it though as it is good value due to the friendly owners and safe feeling of this well decorated house.

Room Tip: They don't have many rooms, and most are booked constantly but if you have an opportunity ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiercesnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
When he came to our place he did say that he thought ours is a four star hotel, because he saw the four stars against our listing in a hotel review site.I was a little taken a back because from the various descriptions, photographs, reviews and finally the price we dont ever come out to be as a four star hotel . So right at the outset he was quite disapointed. But im glad, in spite of that, he gradually liked our small place. Yes he did ask for central heating which we dont have nor ever proclaim. We tried to help him out with a few extra blankets. As for the solar water heater plant that we have put, i can vouch for its effectiveness. Only thing is one has to wait for 30 seconds before the hot water starts coming into the taps/showers from the solar heating tanks. That the guest didnt like waiting for and insisted that we put the back up electric geysers to operation.
We ofcourse do provide linen, bed sheets, pillows with pillow covers , a pull over sheet to take under the blankets, blankets, towels etc. Only we dont "make" the bed like they do in "Four or Five star hotels"
And one sincere request to readers of this review, dont dont take his advise of jaipur being good in summers. It is not. It is hot oven. Months of May and June ( the summers) are the worst months of jaipur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Jaipur is a beautiful city and there was so much to do the entire day, we were glad to be coming back to a warm, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The guest house is well done, and the owners have taken great trouble with the decorations. Definitely worth a trip to the blue city!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbGom567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arvind g, Owner at Explorer's Nest, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We thank you for your kind and good words about our humble place. We were so very happy to host you in Jaipur. Its always a pleasure to meet good spirited travellers like you who are so good hearted. We shall remmeber you for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.4 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 386 in Jaipur
1,877 reviews
1.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 386 in Jaipur
3,524 reviews
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Jaipur
Radisson Blu Jaipur
#38 of 386 in Jaipur
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Trident, Jaipur
Trident, Jaipur
#17 of 386 in Jaipur
2,879 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Amer View
Hotel Amer View
#1 of 4 in Amer
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer's Nest

Property: Explorer's Nest
Address: 3 Gopinath Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a small bed and breakfast traveler's hostel of 5 rooms for the travelers visiting Jaipur. Our Aim is to provide personalized and homey feel to our services. It is a bed and breakfast set up with the comforts and warmth of a family home, where we sit together, eat, drink and share our travel experiences, discuss the next days program and places to see, laugh and sing and create our bonds for life. We are very centrally located, just between the old Pink City and the main MI Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Explorer's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing