We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A poor excuse for a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A poor excuse for a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Upon arrival, at what is clearly a back entrance, low spec reception, told that there was no bar, no lounge of any sort, breakfast room, was cold & uninviting, room was Ok but nothing special wash basin had abasent drain plug ( this we found out to be quite common in Indian- must advise folks to carry a univerasal waste plug ), this is more like a motel than a hotel, would not stay here by choice

Room Tip: Carry a universal waste plug for the wash basins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    97
    29
    15
    2
See reviews for
105
67
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We last came to this place on 4th October 2012 . Then itself we felt we would come again. And we did it. Actually its so different from others because you get the royal touch from the word go. The Hotel staff are almost all from the Royal days . They served the royals and carry the same flavor. The front office gentleman revealed while checking out hesitatingly .. he remembered our last visit and a small story-telling session we had with him about the royal family . Please try this place . It is a part of earlier Royal Guest House . Excellent surroundings, away from the madding crowd. Just right food, excellent service. And ... very competitive tariff.

Room Tip: Just any room.. you won't regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantanuB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great place, large rooms, just next to the ragbag palace.had a walk,to the ragbag palace, the gates were opened for me, had a small walk through the gardens...wow, so many peacoks , first time a saw a peacock dancing.there were around 50 peacoks.this place is good for a rest.

Room Tip: Good place,stay here if you want to go into ragbag palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haryasees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here on a family trip. Hotel rooms are nice and absolutely Taj standard. Property is decent but it is overshadowed by Ramgarh Palace. Staff and service is not in line with the regular Taj property. Food options are limited but its tasty thanks to an enterprising chef. Staff at the reception were inefficient and took 30 minutes to settle my bill.If shopping and sightseeing is in your plans then it is not a bad option but if you are looking for a good property to just relax and enjoy, then this may not meet expectations you would have from Taj.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drmanmohansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is an annexe to the main Taj hotel (Rambagh Palace) in Jaipur. It also inherits the opulence and grandeur of Taj. Rooms are large and beautifully done. It also has large convention centers. Though its in the heart of city, the inside is quite silent and pristine. The only downside is that it has very few rooms.

Room Tip: Garden Facing
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aksmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. This is the annexe to the main hotel and it showed As we walked through the main hotel on the way to the Steam Room Restaurant, we could see how splendid it was. Back in the annexe, despite the welcome with marigold garlands, the rooms while comfortable, desperately needed refurbishment. There was plaster coming of the walls and a general air of neglect. Again there was no free wifi! How can supposedly upmarket hotels justify this?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWDELHI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Recommended for opting for 2 nts package from Taj website as family getaway.Everything nice and suitable.Most suitable for people travelling via or from Delhi by Volvo bus walking distance from Narayan Singh Crossing,which has Volvo bus booking office by RSRTC a govt. of Rajasthan entity.Volvo buses operate between Delhi and Jaipur every 30 minutes.
About hotel no complains.Warm welcome with folded hands and sweet words of NAMASKAR in traditional Rajasthani style.Reception staff was busy with other clients,hence handed over room keys without any hitch and came to our room to complete check-in formalities.Nice gesture !!!!!
Excellent big room,bathroom and toiletries ,plenty of day light,nice and sumptuous breakfast and excellent and friendly staff prepares main course on your arrival only so that you get hot food without expecting nay tips.Overall good experience and strongly recommended as family getaway with 2 nts package.

Room Tip: Opt for left side room which faces greenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIRENDRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
1.9 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
2.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
1.7 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#31 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Property: Taj SMS Hotel
Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing