We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget but not worth the Taj brand”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj SMS Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj SMS Hotel
Ranked #16 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Budget but not worth the Taj brand”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

So it was a very quick leisure trip over a long weekend I decided to make last minute with some friends from New York. Since my friends were from USA, I thought booking a Taj would make the whole experience comfortable for them at a reasonable budget (I paid Rs 4800 + Taxes per night for a twin sharing room), it was far from a comfortable experience. The hotel looks like a convert of an old time servants quarter the Kings used when they lived at the Rambaug Palace. We reached at 10pm after a long and delayed flight. The hotel staff were mostly trainees not really upto the mark. The rooms were cold (without central heating), there was no hot water for 2 days (we had a bath in cold freezing water) and the resturant is grossly overpriced for the quality of food served. For Rs5k a night, I'm sure there are lot many better hotels and one can easily give this a miss

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anandberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    97
    29
    15
    2
See reviews for
104
67
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We reached there after our out of the world experience @ Ramgarh lake lodge ,which is also a Taj property.
We had high expectations from this hotel specially after our pleasant stay at Ramgarh lodge ,that was one grand place to stay BUT.....
SMS hotel
This was one of the worst hospitality experiences ever on the day of you anniversary.
The room had absolutely nothing in it to be called a five star property.
The matteresses were pathetic.We all have better mattresses @ our homes
A simple 25 inch old samsung TV was placed.
Bathroom was not great.No mineral water.
The worst part came when were were rudely deined by the guards @ the RAMBAGH palace to even roam around the palace as they said..that guests at SMS are not allowed to even come to the adjoining property.
That was very unpleasant and discriminating...
what is someone wants to go and have a look at the palace,and get something to eat from the restaurant.
What a sham!!
dissapointed.....this is more of a wedding venue with guest houses and deserves to be stripped of its 5 star tag,a 3 star will do.
and yes the silver lining was the guard at the main gate who greeted us with a nice royal namaste every time we passed by

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanjaraFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BombayMerchant
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Reached Jaipur at 7 30 in the morning and to my delight the staff let me check in as soon as I arrived at the hotel. A buisness hotel run by the Taj Group, nothing really fancy but true value for money. The rooms are spacious and elegant. The staff was super efficient but in true Rajasthan tradition went out of the way to make our stay comfortable to a point of making a "customised breakfast" to filling the swimming pool as my daughters wanted to swim. Peacocks running in the garden, the hotel is well located in the buisness district and very accessible. Would love to go back there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merchant1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed at SMS for two nights last year in Oct. The location is nice, right next to Ram Bagh and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was decent and the charges were OK too. Overall, a nice place to stay, if u dont want to be in the heart of the PINK city all the time!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varuniaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I stayed at this Taj property for a week. It is just adjoining the palatial rambagh palace hotel. The hotel was once part of the Sawai Mansingh palace property and now is a small hotel, with under 30 rooms. The rooms are big and airy and are well furnished. The hygeine is maintained in the bathrooms, though the absence of tubs is glaring.
There is only one restaurant in the hotel and as the menu options are very limited. As the staff mentioned, most pople who stay there have their meals outside in the city and often do not use the restaturant servives. The breakfast buffet too is very limited and not very attractive. Just passable, the buffet fare.
So stay just for the room and the location. For food, explore Jaipur. It hasmany options.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv_Phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at the SMS over New Year,2009(31st / 1st ) and found it to be really a pleasant experience! We had a suite, which was huge but I checked the other rooms and they were large as well. It was so terrific waking up to a peaceful view of the garden and the peacocks! The service was good... I realised that the staff must be the erstwhile staff of the Rambagh, but they were very efficient and always with a smile!! There is no 24 hr room service but they do have it till 11at night which suited our purpose this trip as we were out at night. My son stayed in both nights that we were there and he truly loved the Biryani...whatever we ordered from room service was good...had breakfast on the last day...very nice! The best part was walking through the grounds into the Rambagh...it was literally like staying there at a fraction of the cost!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreakDelhi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This is very small hotel adjusant to Luxurious Rambagh Palace hotel. Rooms are spacious, food is nice. You can wake up to birds chirping around the hotel in the morning.

It doesnt provide 24/7 services and food is offered on set menu available in buffet everyday. Electricity is an issue but not a major one.

Very very affordable hotel with serenity around.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WomenTravelClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaipur
1.9 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 376 in Jaipur
1,913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 376 in Jaipur
1,623 reviews
2.0 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#17 of 376 in Jaipur
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
Jaipur Marriott Hotel
#15 of 376 in Jaipur
1,661 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ramgarh Lodge Jaipur
1.7 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#31 of 376 in Jaipur
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj SMS Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj SMS Hotel

Property: Taj SMS Hotel
Address: Sawai Ram Singh Road | Opposite Reserve Bank of India, Jaipur 302005, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj SMS Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj SMS Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing