We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet, lush family-run hotel in Jaipur”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #16 of 517 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We traveled as a large group (18 of us) in April and stayed 4 wonderful nights at Barwara Kothi. Even before arriving-- while we were still planning our itinerary-- Deepali (the owner) was extremely helpful via email in arranging transportation and making various suggestions about our stay in Jaipur. We arrived after a long day on the road (from Agra), and I had asked Deepali to prepare a home-cooked meal for us upon arrival, knowing we'd be hot and tired and desperately needing needing a quiet night "at home." Dinner that night was delicious and plentiful, the warm and friendly service was outstanding.

For the next four days, we were treated like family. A few in our group fell ill and stayed in for almost two days, but Deepali and her staff did such a wonderful job providing them with drinks, snacks, and a comforting dinner. We loved the dinners there so much, we decided to have our final dinner there at Barwara Kothi.

The rooms are all very clean, bright, and cozy. You can't go wrong-- all of them were lovely. The garden was a quiet oasis from the noisy street. The mattresses could have been a bit softer, but other than that, we have no complaints! We enjoyed fresh coffee and masala chai with breakfast every morning... all in all a beautiful, cozy place.

Room Tip: Pick any of the rooms on the second floor of the house-- filled with light, a balcony, large and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orapun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in the garden room, which was quiet and lovely. I was particularly impressed withthe degree of organization - names and numbers of reliable car/driver services provided on printed information sheets in your room.

The meals were fine as was the location which, wile it may seem out-of-the way, is just up the road from a super expensive luxery hotel.

I recommend for someone seeking a well run simple place at a great price.

Room Tip: The garden roomis quiet - and the garden is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Barwara Kothi is simple a brilliant homestay in Jaipur as per me. It is close to the city centre and they served some really great food (I had my dinner with them).

Pros:
Location
Food

Cons:
Furniture in the room

I would recommend this to my fellow travellers. Finally my host Deepali was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulPratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Tucked in the middle of noisy, busy Jaipur is this secluded, quiet gem of a guesthouse. The first thing you will notice are the perfectly maintained grounds and garden. I challenge you to find a blade of grass out of place! The gracious hosts---the Singhs--greet you upon arrival and truly make you feel like you are a guest in their private home (which has been in the family for generations with ties to the Maharajah of Jaipur.) Our room was large, appointed with beautiful antiques, and had a private balcony overlooking the lovely back yard. A delicious dinner was served in the common dining area right outside our room. Everything in the guesthouse was spotless---I mean SPOTLESS. The staff was so friendly and gracious and helpful. My only gripe was that we only stayed one night---I wanted to move in!! The price was very affordable too. We stayed at the Imperial in New Delhi and the Taj Palace in Mumbai but the Bawara Kothi was probably my favorite lodging in India.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in a lovely hotel in Jaipur that was both reasonably priced and holds a bit of the history of India. The family of the cousin of the Maharajah of Jaipur own this hotel and have mementos of this relationship decorating this quaint hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the staff are lovely. A delicious breakfast is included with a choice of Indian breakfast or a western breakfast. The owner is a charming woman with two adorable sons who live in separate quarters but she is around to help in whatever way she can. It is very well located and across the street is an excellent inexpensive Indian restaurant with delightful outdoor and indoor dining spaces. If you are looking for an Indian hotel experience rather than a sterile Western hotel chain experience, I highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We will revisit India just to meet the most gracious hosts at Barwara Kothi. They do everything imaginable and even beyond imagination to make you feel at home. they took excellent care when one of us had health issues.

The place is immaculately maintained and the pleasant stay makes you nostalgic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We loved our stay here! This was one of the best places we stayed at in India, great property, good service, very relaxing and royal. They have a beautiful garden and beautiful rooms. We were quite sad that we stayed here only for a day. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 386 in Jaipur
1,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#37 of 386 in Jaipur
1,438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing