We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #15 of 481 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Impressive house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for one nite in Barwara Kothi this early August. Our room was at the garden and it was big and clean. The toilet is huge too. Especially like the clean marble floor. Staff are friendly and helpful. Deepali was not around but we enjoyed our stay there. There is a restaurant opposite the hotel called, Spice Garden which serve good food and has a very nice compound. For certain time of the nite, they have India dance performance. The only shortfall is that most of the power points in the rooms are not working and so it was very hard to charge all the gadgets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    83
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
96
99
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinborough, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although we only stayed in two hotels/guest houses on this trip to India, so not a lot to compare it to, we were terribly impressed with Barwara Kothi. It was peaceful and friendly, and the dinner we had there was outstanding. The air-conditioning was great (we were there in the monsoon), our room was big and tastefully decorated, the bathroom large and clean, and there was a big library of books to read. Deepali asked us each morning if there was anything she could do to help sort out our day which was great, and the driver she recommended was excellent. We look forward to staying there another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We traveled as a large group (18 of us) in April and stayed 4 wonderful nights at Barwara Kothi. Even before arriving-- while we were still planning our itinerary-- Deepali (the owner) was extremely helpful via email in arranging transportation and making various suggestions about our stay in Jaipur. We arrived after a long day on the road (from Agra), and I had asked Deepali to prepare a home-cooked meal for us upon arrival, knowing we'd be hot and tired and desperately needing needing a quiet night "at home." Dinner that night was delicious and plentiful, the warm and friendly service was outstanding.

For the next four days, we were treated like family. A few in our group fell ill and stayed in for almost two days, but Deepali and her staff did such a wonderful job providing them with drinks, snacks, and a comforting dinner. We loved the dinners there so much, we decided to have our final dinner there at Barwara Kothi.

The rooms are all very clean, bright, and cozy. You can't go wrong-- all of them were lovely. The garden was a quiet oasis from the noisy street. The mattresses could have been a bit softer, but other than that, we have no complaints! We enjoyed fresh coffee and masala chai with breakfast every morning... all in all a beautiful, cozy place.

Room Tip: Pick any of the rooms on the second floor of the house-- filled with light, a balcony, large and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orapun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in the garden room, which was quiet and lovely. I was particularly impressed withthe degree of organization - names and numbers of reliable car/driver services provided on printed information sheets in your room.

The meals were fine as was the location which, wile it may seem out-of-the way, is just up the road from a super expensive luxery hotel.

I recommend for someone seeking a well run simple place at a great price.

Room Tip: The garden roomis quiet - and the garden is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Barwara Kothi is simple a brilliant homestay in Jaipur as per me. It is close to the city centre and they served some really great food (I had my dinner with them).

Pros:
Location
Food

Cons:
Furniture in the room

I would recommend this to my fellow travellers. Finally my host Deepali was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulPratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Tucked in the middle of noisy, busy Jaipur is this secluded, quiet gem of a guesthouse. The first thing you will notice are the perfectly maintained grounds and garden. I challenge you to find a blade of grass out of place! The gracious hosts---the Singhs--greet you upon arrival and truly make you feel like you are a guest in their private home (which has been in the family for generations with ties to the Maharajah of Jaipur.) Our room was large, appointed with beautiful antiques, and had a private balcony overlooking the lovely back yard. A delicious dinner was served in the common dining area right outside our room. Everything in the guesthouse was spotless---I mean SPOTLESS. The staff was so friendly and gracious and helpful. My only gripe was that we only stayed one night---I wanted to move in!! The price was very affordable too. We stayed at the Imperial in New Delhi and the Taj Palace in Mumbai but the Bawara Kothi was probably my favorite lodging in India.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in a lovely hotel in Jaipur that was both reasonably priced and holds a bit of the history of India. The family of the cousin of the Maharajah of Jaipur own this hotel and have mementos of this relationship decorating this quaint hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the staff are lovely. A delicious breakfast is included with a choice of Indian breakfast or a western breakfast. The owner is a charming woman with two adorable sons who live in separate quarters but she is around to help in whatever way she can. It is very well located and across the street is an excellent inexpensive Indian restaurant with delightful outdoor and indoor dining spaces. If you are looking for an Indian hotel experience rather than a sterile Western hotel chain experience, I highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#16 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 376 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#19 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#8 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Property: Barwara Kothi
Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 481 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing