We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice , value for money BB”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #15 of 502 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice , value for money BB”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We visited Jaipur in December 2011 as a couple , stayed for 3 days .
We stayed in the super deluxe room at first floor with a private balcony .
our room was large and airy with and LCD TV in room .
The bathroom had a nice shower area with running hot and cold water.
The stay was comfortable , we did not have any meals ( took W/o BF option ) .
But did ordered some sandwiches, tea, pakoras(fritters), which were nothing much special.
The host is quite warm and did help us in giving some useful tips for itinerary.

But yes it is located very near to crossroads, with Metro work going on , a bit off the main tourist places, near to a railway line , and is near a banquet too .
I guess once metro work completes, it will be easy to access different places in city from here , will be a plus point in future.
By God's grace I sleep like a baby so was not a problem for me .

Overall I was satisfied with my stay :)

Room Tip: try to get a room with a private sit out with Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehamalhotra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Neha,
Thank you for appreciating the property. It is our home and we try and ensure the upkeep of the guest rooms is the same as our personal rooms.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    85
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
97
101
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A really beautiful space. Run personally by the owners, its not quite a hotel, and yet much more than a B and B. All I know is that there were lovely rooms, lovely service, and real thought to every item in our rooms.

The food was great, and its in a pretty part of Jaipur a bit off the main track, but not by much at all. We were driving from Mumbai to Delhi and it was a great place to put our feet up for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JehanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear JehanSam,
Thank you for your kind comments. You are right - we are not a hotel..ours is a heritage homestay..akin to a B&B but we serve dinner too. Do stay with us when you visit Jaipur again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for one nite in Barwara Kothi this early August. Our room was at the garden and it was big and clean. The toilet is huge too. Especially like the clean marble floor. Staff are friendly and helpful. Deepali was not around but we enjoyed our stay there. There is a restaurant opposite the hotel called, Spice Garden which serve good food and has a very nice compound. For certain time of the nite, they have India dance performance. The only shortfall is that most of the power points in the rooms are not working and so it was very hard to charge all the gadgets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although we only stayed in two hotels/guest houses on this trip to India, so not a lot to compare it to, we were terribly impressed with Barwara Kothi. It was peaceful and friendly, and the dinner we had there was outstanding. The air-conditioning was great (we were there in the monsoon), our room was big and tastefully decorated, the bathroom large and clean, and there was a big library of books to read. Deepali asked us each morning if there was anything she could do to help sort out our day which was great, and the driver she recommended was excellent. We look forward to staying there another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We traveled as a large group (18 of us) in April and stayed 4 wonderful nights at Barwara Kothi. Even before arriving-- while we were still planning our itinerary-- Deepali (the owner) was extremely helpful via email in arranging transportation and making various suggestions about our stay in Jaipur. We arrived after a long day on the road (from Agra), and I had asked Deepali to prepare a home-cooked meal for us upon arrival, knowing we'd be hot and tired and desperately needing needing a quiet night "at home." Dinner that night was delicious and plentiful, the warm and friendly service was outstanding.

For the next four days, we were treated like family. A few in our group fell ill and stayed in for almost two days, but Deepali and her staff did such a wonderful job providing them with drinks, snacks, and a comforting dinner. We loved the dinners there so much, we decided to have our final dinner there at Barwara Kothi.

The rooms are all very clean, bright, and cozy. You can't go wrong-- all of them were lovely. The garden was a quiet oasis from the noisy street. The mattresses could have been a bit softer, but other than that, we have no complaints! We enjoyed fresh coffee and masala chai with breakfast every morning... all in all a beautiful, cozy place.

Room Tip: Pick any of the rooms on the second floor of the house-- filled with light, a balcony, large and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orapun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed in the garden room, which was quiet and lovely. I was particularly impressed withthe degree of organization - names and numbers of reliable car/driver services provided on printed information sheets in your room.

The meals were fine as was the location which, wile it may seem out-of-the way, is just up the road from a super expensive luxery hotel.

I recommend for someone seeking a well run simple place at a great price.

Room Tip: The garden roomis quiet - and the garden is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Barwara Kothi is simple a brilliant homestay in Jaipur as per me. It is close to the city centre and they served some really great food (I had my dinner with them).

Pros:
Location
Food

Cons:
Furniture in the room

I would recommend this to my fellow travellers. Finally my host Deepali was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulPratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 381 in Jaipur
1,564 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 381 in Jaipur
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Property: Barwara Kothi
Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing