We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #15 of 527 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Lovely home stay, friendly clean, big room. we stayed here over Christmas and had a lovely time right down to the Christmas stocking on our door.easy to arrange day trips from here. we ate in the evenings a few nights and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: perfect place to relax and enjoyafter a day visiting this hectic City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evertonsupporters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at Barwara Kothi in early Feb 2014 and it was a real pleasure. Here are a few highlights.

Staff: Superb. They were attentive, even to our smallest needs (a cup of coffee or a bottle of water) without being intrusive.

Owner: Deepali checked on us every morning at breakfast to see how our stay was progressing. She always had a smile on her face and really made us feel welcome

Food: Outstanding. We ate breakfast and dinner there. The food was home-cooked, tasty, and healthier than eating out.

Hotel: The rooms are very spacious, extremely comfortable, and nicely appointed. There's ample closet space, an in-room safe for valuables, a coffee/tea station in the room, and provided bottled water. The gardens are beautiful and a welcome diversion from the hustle of the city. There are also several portraits and photographs in the stairwell and entrance area of the hotel. Finally, there is a large sitting area just beyond the dining room. It looks out over the gardens and adds some great ambience

We totally recommend Barwara Kothi for anyone's stay in Jaipur!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A delightful old residence which has been in the same family for many years. A real heritage feel about the place. It has a lovely garden allowing you to escape the busy city, which is only a short tuk-tuk ride away. The owner and the staff could not be more helpful or courteous. On our departure we had an 11.45pm train and were given use of the lounge and a room for changing. Overall I could thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a room with one of the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us..take care and we would love to host you again when visiting Jaipur next. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I wanted a different type of place to stay in Jaipur this time, with a garden, and it took me a while to choose BK for my stay in January 2014.
I booked in July 2013 for five nights for a stay that coincided with the Jaipur Literature Festival. It was a good choice, and I would recommend and stay again, as long as ... I got a room at the back that looked on to the back garden.
I was disappointed that despite booking so long in advance (and I know at least some other guests had not) we got a room at the front of the house where we got noise from the street and railway a few blocks away, despite the double glazing the owners have taken the trouble to install. That said, we didn't notice the noise as much after the first few nights, and it might have bothered us more than it would other people.
But my advice is to request a room at the back when you book - I wish I had. That said, the front room was absolutely OK, but perhaps should be charged out at a lower rate.
Nevertheless, the place was meticulously kept, and our twin room had extra wide single beds and was large with room for our suitcases. The bed linen and towels were good quality and the bathroom was large and also very clean, with hot water almost always available.
The dinners served were great local cooking - much tastier and healthier than the richer meals served in many restaurants in India (and Australia ...). Deepali is a welcoming hostess, and the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful.
Be aware bookings are paid 100% in advance - so my credit card was debited in July 2013 when I booked, which rubbed a bit more salt in the wound re our noisy room.
It's also important to remember that Jaipur is a big city (maybe not by Indian standards ...) and the Civll Lines is 15 mins drive from some of the central attractions. But there is lots of transport and advice for getting around available, including taxis and auto-rickshaws.
Having stayed in an haveli-style hotel on previous visits to Jaipur, I wanted something with a greater sense of space and calm this time, even it it didn't have the antique-style frescoes and artefacts, and BK certainly provided space and calm. It's also handy to guest travelling by rail, with the main Jaipur station only minutes away.
Overall I would certainly recommend BK for people looking for personal, low-key guesthouse style accommodation in this increasingly busy city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We enjoyed having you both over. The room you stayed in is one of my personal favourites as it is a large room, the french windows give a lovely view of the trees and greenery around..gets the first rays of the sun in the kothi..is one of the recently refurbished rooms with double glazed windows and a new AC. Decibel levels is low in the front rooms due to the double glazed windows.
I do look forward to having you over with us on your next visit to Jaipur, Lit Fest or otherwise.
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Situated in one of the best localities in Jaipur (Civil Lines) Barwara Kothi is the place to be if you want to soak in the culture/lifestyle of Jaipur. Its a good break from the opulent, listless hotels. The room sizes, patio, sit outs, artifacts, antiques, powder rooms are just perfect for a relaxed and pleasant holiday. The Kothi is right opp to some first rate Jaipuri stores and restaurant (Spice Court, one of the best eating joints in the city).

If you cannot afford to stay in one of the 5 stars and are fatigued by the uniformity, this is the place to be put up at. Going back there for certain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shraddhasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are quite well located with good eating joints and shopping boutiques located within walking distance from the kothi.
Look forward to having you over with us again on your next visit. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a really nice guest house. We had fun staying there. Price vs Value is really good!
They were really helpful and it was way more friendly than staying in a chain hotel. It is good located and it is easy to move to the old city from there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamiloLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you both over and staying with us.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Dec 2013/Jan 2014 and it was freezing! Although heaters were available, they were pretty ineffective. On top of this, there was no hot water for 2 days and, when it came back, the shower took approx. 10 minutes to heat up. In addition, the free wifi was intermittent at best. Having said that, the bedrooms were a good size, the breakfast was perfectly adequate and the staff were delightful. When it comes down to it, for approx. £20 a night bed & breakfast this is pretty good value for money but, would I go back - probably not

Room Tip: Don't go during the cold season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank You for your comments and appreciating what you liked about us.
For hot water we have a 1000 litres solar tank on our terrace which on days that are cloudy or foggy we switch on the inbuilt geysers to heat up the water. For a 9 room property like ours this works fairly adequately . The hot water does take 2-3 minutes to come as first the cold water(amounting to half a bucket) in the pipe connected to the solar needs to be emptied. We have kept a note in all rooms informing the same.
The WIFI was down as the service provider had a problem. So in the entire area the wifi system was down and out and not just ours.
We do not have centralized heating like bigger chains or hotels. Ours is a homestay wherein we use carbon heaters for our personal use and the same we have put in all our guest rooms.
These are relatively safe and warm up the room effectively.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 410 in Jaipur
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sarovar Portico Jaipur
Sarovar Portico Jaipur
#50 of 410 in Jaipur
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#8 of 410 in Jaipur
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
3.1 mi away
Ikaki Niwas
Ikaki Niwas
#7 of 527 in Jaipur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 527 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: £47 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing