We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #18 of 535 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I would highly recommend Barwara Kothi if you want to experience a typical Rajasthani home as suppose to your usual run of the mill 5 star hotels. Barwara Kothi is conviniently located to many highlights of Rajasthan, the owner and hostess of this lovely bungalow is very gracious and full of information on what can be done in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mareena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

very cozy and authentic colonial house. It's a simple place with great attention for details that make your stay very comfortable. There are few rooms (I think 8), a nice garden and people are still living in a part of the house but you barely notice it. Food is also incredibly tasty there. A bit pricey but you pay what you get, so overall a good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michela233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Thank you TA for this wonderful find. It is a beautiful and gracious home situated in a quiet part of the city- yet convenient to the sights. Our room was beautiful, with an enclosed verandah. There was tea and coffee and an electronic safe. The bathroom was modern with a great shower.
After a long day of sightseeing, it was just fantastic to come back to such comfort, and spotlessly clean rooms. And the wi-fi was pretty decent!
Breakfasts were healthy and wholesome if a tad boring- you might miss a cheese plate or some cold meats. But that said, there was plenty to eat!
We ate our evening meals across the road at Spice Court- delicious, convenient and very reasonable.
I would love to return to Jaipur and this is where I'd stay.
We called them directly to book and got a really good rate!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mani8kgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This small hotel with only eight rooms greeted us so kindly and friendly , also extremely helpful with recommendation , as if staying in your own house. Rooms, large, gushing hot water, excellent wifi , a lovely simple meal supplied at short notice . A relief to be little further away from the bustling noise of Jaipur,very easy to get to .Being my first visit to India, where there are so many wonderful surprises , this is one of them , congratulations I will be back and would highly recommend it to every traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgianakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed a night with parents, great location, quiet, nice place to stay and unwind before venturing out into the city, well located, rooms spacious, bathrooms very clean, dinner and breakfast excellent, nothing to complain about, would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank papooatagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked 4 rooms for our group from India, Hong Kong & Singapore from 31 January to 04 February, 2014. Jaipur has fabulous Hotels - mostly converted Palaces - but we wanted to stay in a place where we could constantly interact with each other in a relatively secluded area of our location.

We found this gem via Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It is simply a home away from home!

The rooms were large, very large and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms had all the usual comforts and facilities that you would expect. A very high standard of cleanliness was maintained. Most of our time was spent in the large sitting/dining area and on the adjoining balcony for long chat sessions with friends we were meeting after a long time. The food was wholesome and well prepared and presented and the additional charge very reasonable. For those interested in Rajasthan's Royal heritage, the pictures on the walls were a treasure trove of memories of the Royal connections of the owners. It is simply excellent value for money.

Ms Deepali Singh, our host, took exceptional care of all her guests. From advice on shopping to suggesting a friendly chauffeur service, she made sure our stay was most comfortable. The Civil Lines location is quite posh but away from the bustle of central Jaipur. It is close to a couple of very nice restaurants and ethnic shopping as well.

Barwara Kothi is a tucked away gem in Jaipur and we would certainly go back there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Barwara Kothi is a wonderful gem in Jaipur. We stayed there for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it! The rooms are spacious, with lovely block-print bedcovers fitting its location in Jaipur. The bathroom was modern, with a great big shower with nice hot water and pressure. Our room had a fantastic balcony which took in the morning AND afternoon sun, where we drank lovely tea and planned our days. The service is impeccable and our host Deepali was most helpful with tips for shopping (the main point of our stay) and dining. Its located a walk away from some lovely shops (an antiques store with furniture, etc behind it, textiles shops with clothing and bed linens, and one of the best shops in Jaipur to find the lovely "blue" pottery--and other colors!--famous there). Its also a very short walk from the Jai Mahal hotel which is a lovely grand place with a fantastic outdoor Italian restaurant filled with ambiance and excellent service. Deepali even recommended an extremely helpful driver during our stay ($25/8 hrs) which we used each day. I normally stay in far more expensive places to be frank, but we were recommended this through friends who stayed there, and without question I'd return. It was a really lovely place to come back to at the end of the day, peaceful, clean and well-appointed. As its not huge, it felt a bit like coming home each day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anamericanindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.3 mi away
Sarovar Portico Jaipur
Sarovar Portico Jaipur
#51 of 412 in Jaipur
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 412 in Jaipur
1,674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 412 in Jaipur
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
1.1 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#8 of 412 in Jaipur
1,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dera Mandawa
Dera Mandawa
#2 of 535 in Jaipur
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: £42 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing