We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place with an awesome bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Naila Bagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naila Bagh Palace
Ranked #107 of 377 Hotels in Jaipur
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average place with an awesome bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A little unkempt property. Situated in middle of the city, it's close to most historical sights. The room was nice but lacked cleanliness. Hospitable staff, screaming peacocks and an awesome bar with pool inside makes up for the rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Parminder T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    95
    38
    19
    10
See reviews for
63
115
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I travelled lot in India, but the emenities, hospitality and services are just impeccable.
The place is so authentic yet modern for emenities. the entertainment and other services are superb. I made this reservation over phone in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We were very impressed on arrival at the hotel, it all felt very authentic and took you back to the days of the Raj with Peakcocks strutting abouot the grounds. Our room was a decent size and comfortable with a separate changing room together with a bath and a further separate bathroom with shower. Due to the age of this property (1850's) it is looking a bit date and could do with some TLC but overall we enjoyed our stay and found the staff very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

In the style of a school report, I would say that the Naila Bagh relies to much on its success in previous years and does not put in any effort to make any real progress. It has let its general standards drop and is easily distracted often neglecting its guests and personal appearance. It is not prepared for the job of a hotel and spends too much time being distracted trying to entertain others who are not guests!!

It is described as faded grandeur; for that read dirty, dusty with a swiming pool that lacks chlorine and has a constant oily sheen of pigeon poo. The pool was out of action for the four days we stayed at the Hotel; I became very ill from food poisoning when I was staying there.

Breakfast is limited and uninspiring.

I had to request that our room be cleaned, bins emptied and bed linen changed as nobody came to the room in two days; this was done.

The Hotel is trying to generate additional income by arranging events for outside guests. We were there for the Holi festival, the hotel put on entertainment and music for outside guests who were suppled with free beer and soft drinks. We were not invited or infomed of the party which was going on all around us; mostly young Europeans who were not Hotel guests. The 'guests' later jumped into the poo fully clothedl; very unwise which turned it black with paint. It was then emptied and remained empty.

There was a meal and firework display for a group of Dutch guests from outside the Hotel; we were told the only outside seating area was closed off to Hotel guests for the evening which was appalling.

The staff are very nice but have a poor grasp of English; little effort is made looking after the guests and making them feel welcome.

The hotel is shabby in most areas except the old state room which is like a time capsule from the 1920's.

Do go there, the olde world atmosphere is good but be prepared for the shabby aspect and decay which spoils what could be a real gem.

Our room was brilliant to look at, it had 26 light switches and would be best described as a suite; it was however, dusty, shabby and in need of a full makeover.

There are peacocks who squawk all night and pigeons which roost over the pool fouling the water, their feathers are everywhere and the smell of ammonia pronounced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rawson-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I love the idea of this hotel, but it not quite there yet. You can definitely see that back in its day (I think they said it was built in the 1850’s), it was a grand structure and the lobby is fun place to stroll and look at the cool furniture and artifacts from a colonial period. I would love to see a benefactor come in and invest in giving it a proper face-lift, as the potential is endless. However, my “Deluxe Room”, had much more of a dungeon feel to it. It was a bit dark and dingy with a hard mattress and a bathroom faucet that only barely worked. I couldn’t get the TV to work and finally gave up on figuring out how to turn on the bedside lamps. On the bright side, the staff is all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is delicious and it was a real treat for them to make me cappuccinos in the morning. Sitting outside at night amongst all of the candles is also lovely. My other recommendation to management would be to be a little bit more generous with your wine pour. The price per glass is hardly cheap and the portion size per glass seemed much smaller than what is standard elsewhere in India or anywhere else in the world for that matter. It seems like a small concession to make so your guests feel like they are getting a greater value at your hotel.

Room Tip: It might have been that since I was a single girl traveling by herself that they put me in what I co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaWatDeeKah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked two royal rooms for us and our friends. The rooms are spacious and in indian heritage style. furniture should/could be freshed up and cleanliness is not the strongest point. Bathroom and shower is not more than just sufficient. Water pressure was very low. Also privacy is not very good as the room has one side with only windows and glass doors to the back of the building and everybody can pass by there. So you have to keep the curtains closed at all times, which again gives not a really comfortable feeling. A mandatory gala dinner was announced for the 25th of december as we booked by e-mail. As we arrived at 7 p.m., we were asked if we want/need dinner? I asked about the gala dinner - "oh, this was yesterday..." but luckily they could still prepare some food for us, which was not a gourmet experience, but also just ok. All in all an average stay - no problem to survive, but not really the feeling and quality one would expect from a good Rajasthan Heritage Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phototravellerbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We fell in love with this hotel the moment we walked into the arrival hall. Furniture, photographs, art and decorations from a time gone by make you feel like you've walked into a living museum. Once we were shown our rooms we felt we were staying in the bedrooms of a wealthy family of a bygone era of elegance. It was nice to look at the photographs and imagine what it would have felt like to live in that era, and you didn't have to imagine too hard. Our two rooms overlooked the beautiful courtyard and swimming pool where we would see peacocks strolling. Roaming around the grounds, you come across old antiquities, peacocks, geese and even a school. It was a shame no one was using the pool (it was winter I guess) or the pool table (maybe because of mosquitos) because it would have been nice to enjoy more of the ambience of the place. The rooms themselves were beautiful but they could have been warmer for winter. They were very clean and had all the conveniences, flat screen tv, etc. The room my sister and I stayed in didn't have very good curtain cover for the huge windows so I was a bit paranoid at times. We had reliable Wifi connection in one room but not the other. Breakfast was average. The staff were friendly, extremely polite and very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Courtyard and Pool as the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nivedha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
2.0 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#99 of 377 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#33 of 377 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#129 of 377 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#66 of 377 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
6.3 mi away
Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#62 of 377 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naila Bagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naila Bagh Palace

Property: Naila Bagh Palace
Address: Moti Doongari Road, Jaipur 302004, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 377 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Naila Bagh Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Naila Bagh Palace is one of the oldest boutique Heritage properties of the pink city (Jaipur). Originally built in 1870, it was the then Prime Minister's residency. Now run by descendants of Fateh Singh Ji (ex prime minister), it is conveniently located in the heart of Jaipur. Close to almost all historical sights. The hotel has a billiard room, swimming pool and artwork on display amongst other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Naila Bagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage Home Hotel Hotel Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing