We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a 3-night booking, left after 1 night”
Review of Tara Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Niwas
Ranked #80 of 412 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Generally it was a very bad experience, although location is excellent near a bus station that can take you to lots of places, and although the Wifi connection was good, everything else was really disappointing. I had to leave the hotel after 1 night stay although I originally booked three nights. Staff was not able to meet my request to get a room with a view! big disappointment. The A/C was broken and very loud, with a note written 'don't change the fins position as it is broken'!. There is a window in the room on the hotel interior corridor!!! The is no Kleenex or any kind of tissue provided in the room or bathroom! the water provided as complimentary was filled by the hotel! not closed bottles! breakfast is not included in booking, you will have to pay for it. The portions of breakfast and dinner are very very weak! I got a mild poisoning from a very bad orange juice I had in the first (and only) breakfast I had there.

Room Tip: It was a very disappointing experience, if it happens that you choose this hotel, check every single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas.

Tara Niwas is a city hotel, centrally located with a nice GARDEN in front, side garden, old trees, sit outs, verandahs and courtyards. The hotel is an old renovated bungalow.

All rooms have TWO SETS OF WNDOWS, one in the wide verandah and the other facing outwards.
The hotel is in BANIPARK AREA that is CENTRAL, GREEN and NICE with wide roads and lots of parks etc.
However, as the city has grown, many new buildings have come up not just in Jaipur but in all Indian towns. This means that rooms from the hotel no longer enjoy expansive views, but the hotel still has lots of interesting and quiet areas to sit and relax, enjoy nature. The rooms also HAVE LOTS OF SUNSHINE AND CROSS VENTILATION.
I inquired from the reception and you were shown three rooms of which you picked the room in question.
As for the air conditioning, which was working fine, I am sorry for the fins of the AC unit on ONE SIDE - the fins are held in place by a small plastic notch, which in this case was broken. Till the time we could replace it, the fins were kept in place but could not move. HOWEVER THIS DOES NOT IMPACT THE EFFICIENCY OR COOLING OF THE AC. I am sorry for the fins being not changed before you checked in.

As for the JUICE, we served you FRESH LIME AND NOT ORANGE JUICE. We use freshly cut fruit and DO NOT add water or Ice.
On check out my wife personally asked you if you had a good stay and also for a feedback. You did not give a feedback and also told her that everything was fine! I WISH YOU HAD told MY WIFE IF ANYTHING WAS AMISS AND WE COULD HAVE TAKEN CARE OF IT there and then itself.

Tarun Bansal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Recently we had been to Jaipur and stayed in this wonderful hotel. Tara Niwas is our wonderful experience in Jaipur. The hotel has excellent and helpful people. We were greeted at the reception in a very nice manner. The receptionist was wonderful with his support and information. The most important thing was, when we inquired about the nearby places, the receptionist gave us a map with detailed location and made everything crystal clear to us. All the staffs were very generous with everything. They have large and spacious rooms along with all modern amenities.

Definitely we will recommend this place to any visitor to Jaipur.

Room Tip: Just tell the reception about your requirements, they will arrange you everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arif_dhaka_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked the services and facilities at our small hotel.

Jaipur is a lovely city with many well known and not so well known places of interest. I do hope you will plan another trip, possibly soon, to our lovely home town of Jaipur.

Tarun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had stayed in this hotel for 2 days for official purpose. The best hotel i had ever stayed. Value for money and very peaceful and decent staffs. Thyou can stay here for months and it is worth staying here. while i stayed here i felt as if i am staying in a divine place. i will definitely choose this hotel whenever i visit jaipur. just for this Hotel i am planning a family trip to Jaipur all the way from Chennai!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selvaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked the services and facilities at our small hotel.

I look forward to your next visit, with family! Jaipur is a lovely city with many well known and not so well known places of interest.

Tarun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We explored few hotels at Jaipur & decided to stay at this place as it was quiet open & ventilated compared to other hotels in Bani Park ,wide corridors & a small garden upfront ,it has got big size clean ,homely and modestly decorated rooms and bathroom ( though the bath tab had some stains ) .

Size and simplicity of the rooms was most attractive and homely with delicious home cooked deluxe thalis to add to.

The only low side was average room service, the food menus were not places and we need to ask again and again, there was no courtesy call for the last serve after the order has been placed for Lunch/Dinner, you need to ask similar things more than once. Tea /Coffee was not served in thermo flasks when send to the rooms etc. Apart from these minor things it`s valued more than the money put in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rare side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manish_Kalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Greetings from Tara Niwas. Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words.
All of us here are happy you liked our services and atmosphere at the hotel, and wish you return again to our lovely hometown of Jaipur!

I am sorry for the irritants in room service, i will try and improve the communication skills of our serving staff.

Tarun Bansal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good hotel for budget stay.It was a good comfortable stay here.It is more of a homely feel than a hotel feel.Cozy rooms,neat and clean.Clean washroom.Small kitchen included.Pantry Type with refrigerator and Kettle for boiling, Almirah and AC was there too for summers.Cooperative and soft spoken staff. Food was very yummy.Again homely food.Veg noodles were delicious and fresh. Veg thaali was sufficient per person and good taste. Overall In reasonable price if you want to stay.It is good Lodge. The places to visit are also close by. Amer fort is hardly half an hour away, Same goes for chowki dhani and other market place. I will prefer to stay here if i visit next time.They have other properties too. Om niwas and jai niwas etc.But the location of Tara niwas is better and close to general market.Like medicine shop and Regular Shop for buying Eatables.

Room Tip: Clean and neat stay.!enjoy.We stayed at first floor.It was comfortable with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shavinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Greetings from Tara Niwas.
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words.
All of us here are happy you liked our services, food and atmosphere at the hotel, and wish you return again to our lovely hometown of Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We tried to book Arya Niwas but the hotel was full booked but blessing in disguise, Tara Niwas is just perfect for us. The room provide us complete amenities - bath tub, hotel water, heater, comfy bed and big TV! On top of that, we just love the kitchen menu ambience, which reminds me like sitting in Paris! They have quite a nice concept however perhaps can be improved by providing more Western food for breakfast. However there was one incident happen where a crazy stinky lady crash into our room and shouted as us, we couldnt understand anything and in the end i had to ask for the manager's help to chase the crazy lady away. Security need to be tighten.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with bathtub and big TV towards the corner as its quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotSoBudget-Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words. All of us here are happy you liked our services.
I am so sorry for the crazy lady managing to sneak in, there is a guard but despite him the lady managed to get in. Pretty embarrassing for us. Sorry once again and rest assured that we have tightened the security
Jaipur is a lovely city, and Tara Niwas is ideal base for your visits to this magical home town of ours! Hope to see you again:)

Tarun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishekcdot
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#55 of 412 in Jaipur
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#26 of 412 in Jaipur
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel H R Palace
Hotel H R Palace
#64 of 412 in Jaipur
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
0.5 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#83 of 412 in Jaipur
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#119 of 412 in Jaipur
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Niwas

Address: B - 22 - B Shiv Marg | (besides Chandni Crafts), Jaipur 302016, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 412 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range: £17 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tara Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tara Niwas - a small friendly hotel set in a quiet and green part of central Jaipur. Tara Niwas offers a pleasant environment, modern amenities and friendly service at attractive prices. Charming garden and sit outs, with a great collection of bonsai landscapes, an aviary, water bodies with lotus and fishes, rabbits on the lawn, tall trees and the visiting peacocks and above all a peaceful atmosphere make Tara Niwas the ideal retreat to retire to after a hard day's work, travel or sightseeing. We have a sunny and cheerful restaurant with an open kitchen and daily changing menus to ensure freshness of produce. We make food using very less chilly and oil, we have our own bakery, we ensure quality of raw material is always of the highest standards and the food remains tasty and homely, healthy and hygienically prepared from an open kitchen that you are welcome to visit. We serve vegetarian plus eggs fare from Indian and continental cuisine. Our room services include air-conditioning, running hot and cold water bathtubs and showers, 32 inch LCD TV sets with local and English channels, telephone with distance dial facility, electronic safe deposit lockers, writing desk and room clocks. All deluxe rooms also have tea coffee makers and fridge. We are a family managed hotel with personalized services and attention to details. Our other services include, travel desk, train air and bus ticket booking, foreign exchange, doctor on call, elevator to all floors, backup power, rainwater harvesting, same day laundry, business facilities and a wi-fi enabled building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tara Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing