We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jaipur and much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savista Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savista Retreat
Ranked #67 of 377 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Jaipur and much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Planning to take four days off after a Mumbai business trip to visit Rajasthan, I came across Savista when I googled "boutique hotel Jaipur" and having read the reviews on this site immediately decided to base myself there. I could not have made a better choice, since I discovered not only the local village but many of the splendors of the region without once feeling rushed. Indeed I even took a rare day off: having reveled in fresh guavas and chili for breakfast before my Rajasthani massage, I spent time on the roof terrace reading books from the well-stocked library, then trundled round the village on the local camel cart, receiving gifts of sugar-sweet peas fresh from the field and spicy masala chai, before coming back to one of Savista's delicious multi-course vegetarian dinners served with a smile and spent discussing the charms and challenges of India.

Before that, the owners and staff had arranged a memorable drive for me from Delhi airport, taking in a never-to-be-forgotten sunrise at the Taj Mahal, followed by the extraordinary Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri. The same excellent driver helped me discover tourist-free gems in Amber village - which I found just as wonderful as the big monuments in Jaipur - as well as the amazing blockprinting workshop at Bagru and a fascinating factory for handmade paper near the airport.

Hard to believe this all happened in such a short time, and I can't wait to go back! Had I stayed in the city in Jaipur I would have missed out on an essential part of my excitement in discovering this amazing country.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisH137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    28
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
37
105
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were at Savista with Zandy R in January and couldn't agree more. Savista is authentic India - an ancestral home lovingly restored by it's owners with a fresh water pool gracing the center courtyard of a stunningly beautiful white stone building featuring wrap around terraces and balconies. Team Savista is there to accommodate all your needs with good humor and grace - they are truly your hosts and can arrange reliable drivers/cars for travel to Jaipur or nearby sites as well as provide you with unique local experiences like a block printing workshop with artisans in Bagru or cooking classes with their "chef". You can watch the sun set from the rooftop balconies overlooking tree-lined acres of rolling wheat and mustard seed fields, share drinks before dinner with other guests in one of the lovely decorated sitting rooms and after dark amaze at the starry night sky unsullied by city lights. If you are looking for an experience and not just another hotel room, if you value attention to detail and like home cooked vegetarian Indian food, this is the place for you with bathrobes made from Bagru hand block printed fabric, the deep well water (safe to drink) waiting in your room in a heavy silver pitcher with silver glasses covered with hand crocheted beaded doilies and each room individually decorated with family antiques, local art and artifacts. I can't wait to go back.

Best time to stay at Savista is October/November and mid February through April when you can swim and enjoy the outdoor grounds at night as the nights are a bit cold in December/January but we didn't mid. Plan to stay at least a week if not more. Savista is definitely a destination in India.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and have private balconies. Rooms facing west enjoy the sunset over the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Tripadvisor
Dear Fellow Traveller
How do you find a place that gives you rest, conviviality, food for thought- and more than that- food for body and nourishment of the being. First you need a travelling companion (my wife) who is able to trawl web sites and find that nugget. It did help that ALISTAIR SAWDAY made a recommendation, but sadly in order to defray carbon emissions and save the planet , his books on India Accomodation sites are no longer published.  Happily places recommended previously, and I endorse this one,are still in place.

We were able to be guests @ Savsita Retreat in Jaipur District of Rajasthan, India. Our visit co-incided with the Jaipur literary festival where Indian and International literature was celebrated in generous form.

As for the Savista Retreat: as you travel along a busy highway from Jaipur it is hard to conceive of ending up , as you really do, in a stately quiet establishment on the edge of rural Rajasthan. Your hosts and owners are unassuming real people with deep roots in the community. Both have a background in economics and agriculture and social fabric of India from an academic and practical angle.
If you are interested you can learn a lot here to augment your pleasure and understanding of what you see around you.

The entrance and courtyard is a cool enclosure with calming candle light and soft music. Rooms are luxurious with personally chosen and cherished items that have grown to make the priviledged guest feel more comfortable than being home from home. ( It may seem banal to mention, but the en suite bathrooms will make any India traveller who needs to rough it at times, feel they are back in heaven).

Meals are made from locally sourced products and vary all the time. You may be surprised at the delicious variety of tastes that can emerge. Guests can meet at sunset over a sundowner and meals often accompany liveley discussion.
Aside from visiting the sites of Jaipur (facilitated by an efficient pooled taxi system) my best day was spent walking in the rural outback. This can be done for miles and miles. Local farming families are seen working their lands in time honored fashion. If you have a calm inner demeanour and the day is auspicious you may be invited to sit on a charpoy and drink fresh aquifer water, followed by a sweet chai rich in buffalo milk.

On arrival back, rest on the deck, stretch your legs, have a swim and reflect on vibrant meaning of life.......well the rest is up to you.

Zandy and Elke Rosochacki, Cape Town, South Africa

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at Savista end of October 2011 and can honestly say it was a most wonderful experience. We were made so welcome by our hosts. To say they put themselves out for us is an understatement, nothing was too much trouble, information and advice freely given and the staff were all so attentive. The food was lovely home cooking, It was varied and there was nothing we didn't like. The gardens were well tended and the birds and nagali antelope wandering the grounds a real treat to see. One of the other fantastic things about Savista is the fact that the water is so safe to drink straight from the tap!! No ill effects, we didn't have to drink bottled water the whole time we stayed there. On the strength of the hospitality, food and surroundings we will definately be going back there on our next trip to India

Room Tip: Check website all rooms are lovely just choose the colour that you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally123308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebank, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We spent 3 wonderful days at Savista at the end of a month in Rajasthan. We loved the idea that we could spend time in the frenzied heart of Jaipur and then retreat to this wonderful sanctuary.
The warmth and generosity of our hosts, the care and kind attention of the staff and the amazing, delicious food all contributed to our great experience. We found the accommodation to be very, very comfortable (wonderful bed!) and the decor warm and welcoming. Having the extra sitting/living space in which to read and drink delicious chai was a great bonus.
We felt absolutely nurtured and our spirits uplifted here and can recommend Savista to all!
Lel&David
Australia

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

An oasis just a few km from Jaipur with the most fantastic hosts, delicious home cooked food worthy of a write up of its own all set within the grounds of this elegant home. We felt priviledged to stay in such well tended and relaxed surrounds, which gives some tranquility to the crazy nature of the city. Two days here and you'll find all balance restored. Unsurprisingly we could not recommend Savista more highly!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BairdLondonTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Savista. Its wonderful ambience and serenity was an excellent contrast to the hustle and bustle of colorful Jaipur. Radhika and Bhanwar were excellent hosts who were very friendly and helpful and we had many discussions ranging from Indian music and food, the history of Savista, recommendations of places to go in Jaipur and so on. It was so easy to relax with the lovely pool, tennis court, hammocks, roof terrace, outdoor breakfasts, dinner and drinks in the candle lit courtyard, the well stocked library and overall ambience of the property. Our room, the Lapis room, was very comfortable and overlooked open fields and the tennis court. It had a very attractive sitting room with a day bed, coffee table and chairs so there was lots of space. We especially appreciated the friendly but non intrusive service of the Savista staff as they, with our hosts, described the food we were eating which we really enjoyed. It was a delight to spend time in such an eco-friendly place which we would highly recommend to all travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
10.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 377 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
16.0 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 377 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Sujan Rajmahal Palace
Sujan Rajmahal Palace
#47 of 377 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
18.3 mi away
Lebua Resort Jaipur
Lebua Resort Jaipur
#104 of 377 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
13.0 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#30 of 377 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savista Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savista Retreat

Property: Savista Retreat
Address: Sanjharia,P.O. Thikaria | Off Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302026, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#57 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savista Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savista Retreat is a boutique hotel in Jaipur, Rajasthan. A stand-alone property, Savista Hotel/Resort's location and design make it a welcoming environment and a lifestyle destination for individuals and small groups looking for a special experience of Rajasthan. It is an excellent base for combining sightseeing in Jaipur with eco travel, wellness, and cultural enrichment within a single travel plan and at an unhurried pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Savista Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savista Retreat Jaipur
Savista Retreat Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing