We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Savista Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savista Retreat
Ranked #74 of 389 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I don't remember how I stumbled upon Savista while researching our trip to India...but I'm so glad I did. It was a fun and lovely stay. We chose to stay on a 3 night package. This included a driver all 3 days, as well as airport/train station transfer.

The food was great. Our hosts were wonderful. The setting is serene. My wife enjoyed doing yoga. I watched some Indian films and had a whisky in their home theater. One day it started to rain before heading over to the dining area for a meal. They had placed two umbrellas right outside our door for us. A nice touch. All in all it was a lovely experience.

It's worth noting that Savista is a solid 30-45 minute drive outside of Jaipur. So plan accordingly. We were happy to not stay inside the city though.

The negative: The sheets on the bed were a bit stiff, like sleeping on paper. Also, this place runs a little bit more like a home than a hotel. The service is just not as efficient at times as a hotel. But as long as you are aware of that, it's not a problem.

All in all a great stay that I would recommend to just about anybody. I wish we had one more day to spend at Savista to explore some of the activities they offered. Be sure to check out their website.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your impartial review. It is heartening that you found
the place fun and satisfying for both your and your wife’s interests,
and that you left feeling that there was much more in and around
Savista to keep you engaged than you were able to cover in the three
days that you were here. We enjoyed hosting you both and hope to have
you back with us again. We acknowledge and regret the shortcoming
that you have pointed out and will ensure that it does not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

An absolutely wonderful retreat. We stayed for a week, and were sorry to leave, there being so much more to see and do in this part of the region.

Savista provides a perfect contrast to the chaotic hustle and bustle of the heart of Jaipur, and it was a joy to return to the tranquility and homely, luxurious comfort of this beautiful haveli, after days out exploring.

Our hosts were extremely warm and friendly, and thoroughly attentive in a relaxed and discrete manner, nothing was too much trouble.

The ambience of this beautifully restored ancestral home both during the day and at night was calm and inspiring - colourful and well maintained, and a feeling of contentment emanated.

We breakfasted and dined outdoors each day, and all the Indian style food we experienced was delicious and varied, and served with a smile!

So all that remains is to set a date for our return, and then with a little more time to allow for relaxation beside the beautiful courtyard pool, and opportunity to further explore the lovely semi arid countryside surrounding Savista.

Room Tip: most rooms are accessible from within the courtyard with views outwards over the undeveloped country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Annetta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for choosing Savista and for taking the time to post this
encouraging review. It was impressive to see how well prepared you
were when you arrived, to make the most of your time in Jaipur and
Savista’s immediate environs. It was not just a question of
maximizing your holiday; what was also notable was your openness
to the nuances of the local culture and region which helped you feed
your passion for the crafts and cuisine of the region, and enhance your
interactions with the local people you encountered. Your enthusiasm
and enjoyment of the place were palpable throughout your stay, and
spurred us to try and make your stay with us even more pleasurable.
We look forward to your return with your family. We have many plans for
you up our sleeve:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at Savista for 4 days on their detox programme in November. I was looking for a retreat close to Jaipur to take some time off post a work engagement. As I didn't have a lot of time, I wanted something that would be easy to reach and would from the moment I arrived offer me relaxation. I knew straight away that I had made a great choice. I was warmly welcomed by the owners, who accommodated my requests for an early pick up from my hotel in Jaipur. Yoga 3 times a day, a delicious diet of fresh fruit and vegetables in the Indian style, traditional Indian oil massages, saunas, swimming in the fresh water pool all contributed to my returning home relaxed and re-energised. The knowledge and experience of the owner was shared so generously and contributed to my leaving equipped to integrate a number of the healthy living practices into my daily life. Savista also has a well equipped gym and interesting walks through the village and farmlands. I was struck by the quiet and peace of the place as well as the abundant bird life. I loved resting on the roof with a book in the afternoons overlooking the agricultural land and watching the birds. A camel cart ride through the farmland and villages meeting the local community, sharing a cup of chai in their backyards, roasting peanuts on the side of the road, gave a real feeling for the culture, and was a heart warming experience. A visit to the block printing factory in Bakru offered a rich insight in to this traditional industry. The owners were wonderful company, so interesting and interested, going out of their way to make my stay more than what I had expected. The staff is friendly and polite and from the local community. The rooms are beautifully decorated and of a high standard. The booking process and all the pick-ups and transfers were smooth, contributing to the stress free experience. I would highly recommend Savista to the discerning traveller who is looking for a boutique hotel off the beaten track yet within easy reach of the city. Thank you for a wonderful visit Savista.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your generous review which is so well rounded it would
be hard to improve upon. It was a great pleasure to have you with us
for the detox programme and to work with you through it in a way that
seems to have been rewarding for you. It also proved rewarding for us.
However well we may try to devise a mere three day "introduction to
detox" (as we call it) into a potentially long-term set of lessons and
tools for better living, it takes maturity, focus and tremendous
openness on the part of the participant for that objective to be
realised. You were a model participant. We also enjoyed your company
and the many opportunities for long conversations. We look forward to
staying in touch with you as you continue your journey on the path of
wellness of mind and body.
>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel in the early evening only to find the gates closed. After managing to open the gates ourselves we went into the hotel only to find that they did not know we were coming. We showed the manager our reservation and he apologised saying it was an oversight on his part and offered us complimentary beers whilst we waited for our room to be made up.
The hotel itself is lovely with a very beautiful courtyard with a large swimming pool which, as they weren't expecting guests, had been emptied but the owner assured us he would clean it the following day and we could use it in 2 days! We were only staying for 3 nights.
As they hadn't been expecting us we asked if we could eat and they provided us with a meal - no menu, no choice. It was ok.
The room was very nice but no complimentary tea and coffee.
The breakfasts were very limited - cereal and eggs of some description although we had to ask for cold milk as this wasn't provided- there was no buffet. The staff were very attentive but we felt they didn't really know what they should be doing. The evening meals did improve over the three nights but it would have been nice to have had some choice - it was all just served and we were told what it was.
We had limited internet access near the pool but not in the room. The signal kept coming and going.
We were disappointed in the lack of facilities for the price of the hotel. The owners wife was not around and perhaps she is the one who deals with the comfort of the guests.
This could be such a wonderful retreat- it's quiet and has beautiful gardens and wildlife but the facilities don't match the price so for that reason we can't recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Themacfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

There is no denying that we could do better. We ourselves are aware of
how and where to go forward, and we welcome every constructive
criticism from our valued guests. However, the limitations pointed
out by the reviewer were a product of the very peculiar circumstances
of their arrival, and are not perennially operative. The reviewer’s
booking was made through an OTA portal that does not reveal contact
details of hotel and booker for mutual communication. The booking had
apparently been amended to bring the dates forward considerably. But
due to some cyber glitch the amended reservation intimation went into
our spam folder. Savista does not take walk-ins and our gates usually
remain closed except for those we are hosting or expecting. After the first
few moments of confusion, the guests were made absolutely comfortable.
Since we had no clue about their arrival, and the pool needed to be cleaned,
we had deliberately not taken any bookings for that day. In any case, we
were able to make the pool available for these guests on the day following
their arrival. As for the food, we generally do very well and this is amplified
by many who have reviewed us. In the case of the reviewer, we received
confusing signals as to how and what kind of preparations they wanted,
and it took us some time to fathom their unusual taste pattern. Their
strong preference for very spicy food was a bit alarming even for us and we
proceeded cautiously. As regards our breakfast offering, the focus is on
freshness and simplicity. Breakfast did and does include a variety of:
fresh cereals, fruits, fruit juice, wheat bread, eggs, tea, coffee and, indeed,
hot and cold milk (including an Indian breakfast option). But we do not serve
varieties of other kinds: cold cuts like ham and salami, or bacon and sausages,
etc., as might be expected of a standard hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Savista Retreat in early November and it was a heaven from the bustling Jaipur. The hostess was on premises and made sure that all of our needs were attended to. The meals were wonderful like true home Indian and were taken with other lodgers. The breakfasts in the garden were delicious. The rooms were extremely comfortable and since the evenings were a bit cool, we were able to sleep with the windows open. Just wonderful. Thank You Savista!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Indigo Room. Just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We greatly enjoyed having you with us. Thank you for bringing the warmth of your presence into our community; the long evening conversations when we traded five hundred year old histories from across the globe, were a pleasure! We hope that the rest of your India trip was a success, and that you had a safe flight home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My friend and I travelled to Jaipur selecting the location as we both have an interest in textiles and block printing. Looking for a small heritage boutique style hotel, Savista is it. All the staff really did make our stay special and treated us like royalty. The rooms are to a very high standard, each one designed differently. My friend stayed in Jasmin and I had Madura. In the evenings, we were led down the garden to a candle lit area where dinner was served. The food was wonderful, mainly vegetarian. One afternoon we took an Indian cookery class with the chef where we learned to cook some of these amazing dishes.

Savista may be rural but there is so many things to do from the Hotel. One day we took a camel cart ride to the neighbouring settlements, witnessing a buffalo giving birth and meeting the children of the homes was one of the highlights of our trip.

Jaipur is about 30 mins drive away, Savista organised a driver for us, paying special attention to our safety … eg seat belts, car in good condition, and sensible driving.

Amber Fort is about 40mins to an hour away, but makes a great day trip. The highlight is of course the block printing experiences and we did two contrasting days. The first in a cottage industry at Bakru, which was a fabulous place to find, wonderful working with this small business which is really trying to establish itself in a growing market. Following this day we had a second day at Anouki Museum in Amber. This course was more refined, teaching us four colour printing techniques. You cannot go to Jaipur without seeing the block printing, again Savista can advise … but it is a must!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, select one with a balcony area to sit in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank akaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We appreciate your vesting trust in us by choosing Savista for your extended explorations of Jaipur and its environs And we enjoyed playing host to two busy professionals creatively using their holiday to bond over a shared interest in crafts, particularly block printing. We are pleased that you found Savista's location an asset in being able explore both, rural Bagru’s hand block printing industry and the city of Jaipur’s hand block printing resources. We look forward to your planned return next year with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Well, the up side first. It is a beautifully and very tastefully done exclusive property with really good indian food.Apart from that we had lots of flips though. The water temperature in the shower was completely un-predictable. Either too cold or boiling hot. I almost burnt my skin. The hosts are polite only until it is small talk. We wanted to change our room and were told that if you want to change then you cannot use the present room until the second one gets ready. This response was too unfriendly when we were the sole guests (11 out of 12 rooms were vacant that day). For dinner, the manager at about 5 pm told us that we needed to say yes or no in "Five Minutes",,,, Did not expect this behaviour when one is paying USD 150 per night.....! All in all a lovely place which can be run better and more politely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secondpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipurmeditator, Manager at Savista Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Our response to this review is totally out of our character. We do not claim to be infallible, and are the first to admit when there have been occasional lapses on our part, which we then set about improving upon. However, the points raised in this review do not fall within that category. Without meaning to join issues with the reviewer we will rest our case by simply pointing out that from the moment that he and his partner entered our premises, they tested our patience and forbearance from one episode to another for the one night that they stayed with us. By their own admission there was some problem amongst them necessitating a particular kind of sleeping arrangement. We provided them with a suitable arrangement but could not have given them the use of two rooms for the price of one. The hot water saga was a result of their messing around with our mixer mechanism. Our spa-head showers have been commended by many of our guests in their reviews. The food episode was, again, very peculiar and we were accommodating enough to cancel the order that they had placed earlier and provide free-of-cost kitchen and table service so that they could eat in style the food that they had brought with them. There are times when one is presented with a dubious and unfair situation, but we kept to our sense of propriety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
14.3 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#102 of 389 in Jaipur
366 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 389 in Jaipur
475 reviews
10.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 389 in Jaipur
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Taj SMS Hotel
Taj SMS Hotel
#12 of 389 in Jaipur
348 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dera Rawatsar
Dera Rawatsar
#22 of 389 in Jaipur
693 reviews
20.9 mi away
Talaibagh Palace
Talaibagh Palace
#2 of 6 in Amer
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savista Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savista Retreat

Address: Sanjharia,P.O. Thikaria | Off Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302026, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#31 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#57 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range: £150 - £757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savista Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savista Retreat is a boutique hotel in Jaipur, Rajasthan. A stand-alone property, Savista Hotel/Resort's location and design make it a welcoming environment and a lifestyle destination for individuals and small groups looking for a special experience of Rajasthan. It is an excellent base for combining sightseeing in Jaipur with eco travel, wellness, and cultural enrichment within a single travel plan and at an unhurried pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Savista Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savista Retreat Jaipur
Savista Retreat Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing