We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to calm down”
Review of Broadlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broadlands Hotel
Ranked #80 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Broadlands Hotel, located just on a sidestreet of Triplicane High Road, can be a little difficult to find. But once entered, a whole palace (this was the building's old function) opens up. This 'palace' is totally old and all the paint is worn of. But it for some reason breathes a lot of athmosphere. The rooms are very basic, as are the toilets and showers. But this also is reflected in the low price you pay for a room. The best part of the place is the people staying there. I was slightly disappointed there were only foreign guests staying, but it is a great place to make some new friends. The staff is friendly and to have a view over Chennai from the top roof of the building is a must!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Many of the other reviews stay "not the cleanest" or "run-down but charming" which is exactly the kinds of places I've found good bargains all over Asia and been perfectly happy with. But Broadlands is different - our room was not just a little dirty but rather it looked like it had never been swept. The sink in the bathroom had a layer of dirt that would have been easily wiped with a rag but no attempt had been made. I don't mind staying in old buildings, but the boarded up windows made our room (#12) really dark and depressing. We didn't have sheets or towels for the 3 nights we stayed there because the cleaner hadn't returned yet (for 3 days? with no spare sets?) The staff was friendly, but not overly helpful or knowledgable. The garden area could have been nice if there were chairs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I loved this place for what it is: A 5 star backpacker hotel. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel is a little rough around the edges but the service from the staff was excellent and the room was big and clean.
This was one of my favorite hotels in India for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

but has a certain charm. The building is very old and in many ways is showing its years. Yet, there is an undeniably pleasant feel about being there. It's hard to explain. I had a room on the top floor that was very spacious and quite clean. The central courtyard of the hotel is quite nice and there is a common TV/sitting area that allows for conversation with other guests. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Internet only works down in the office area. The hotel also has 24 hour checkout, which is important to remember when you arrive. I will be back in Chennai in a few months and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregandGuylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If one wants a clean bed to sleep in and no frilly amenities, I have found, this lovely old lady can't be beaten.

The staff are very pleasant, including an old guy, in a dhoti, who falls over himself to please and be noticed, should there be a tip in the offering. On my first stay I chose a room without a bathroom and decided to have one with a bathroom the next time I visited, as the place consists of lovely courtyards and a number of floors making navigation in the middle of the night for 'nature calls' a bit difficult (GPS?). However, this place does get booked out and if you need to have a room without a bathroom, and you are not of the precious, 'princess and the pea' type, you'll be fine. If you are a precious little darling, move on and leave the room for devotees or prospective devotees of this quaint place.

It is well placed for catching local buses, despite directions/instructions often appearing far more convaluted than they are (its just the unique style in which they are delivered) draw a map or write the instructions down. Food and the fantastic 'Broadway' shopping mall is walkable from here for those wanting to shop themselves silly before catching their plane home after paying for their extra luggage!

I don't think I would accept an offer of a 5 star hotel over this place - this is a real Indian experience and if you are like me, that loves 'real' India, this is the sort of place and experience why I can't stop visiting this frustrating, exasperating, infuriatingly.....delicious country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Filthy, hot, noisy (muezzin at 3am) and uncomfortable.

However.... I first came here 16 years ago and it hasn't changed at all. Wonderful, wonderful building full of pot plants, balconies, mature trees, courtyards, walkways and twisting staircases. This is old India. Highly, highly recommended if you like heritage and dirt. (It's therefore my favourite hotel in Chennai)

I agree with the previous reviewer though. Child friendly? Absolutely no way!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I read the reviews here before visiting, both the good and the bad, and the simple truth in my mind is that they are all correct!

This place DOES feel at times like it is falling apart. It is grimy, there is bird crap covering some of the outdoor staircases, some of the shared bathrooms are dingy, and they charge hourly for wi-fi...

BUT... yeah the place has character, but it more than that. People do come back here time and again. The social vibe of the place is great, mixing such experienced returnees with newbies.

Chennai was my very first experience of India. Broadlands was not the luxurious comfortable splurge that many friends suggested would be the best way to ease myself into the country. But with pleasant courtyards, a higgledy piggledy layout with staircases and alcoves everywhere (meaning you feel like you just have to explore) and a spartan but sunny roof area overlooking the nearby Mosque, it did the trick.

Broadlands does feel like a traveler oasis within the city. It may be showing its age, but there is something about the place that grabbed me and made me feel most comfortable. It is far from the best guesthouse / hotel I have seen in India so far (I have been in the country a month now), but if I was ever to return to Chennai I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor seem dingier, try to get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Royapettah
New Regency
New Regency
#159 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
7 reviews
Royapettah
Hotel Himalaya Residency
Hotel Himalaya Residency
#204 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#291 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Sudha Inn
Sudha Inn
#318 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
15 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Melody
Hotel Melody
#279 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#117 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadlands Hotel

Address: 18 Vallabha Agraharam Street | Triplicane, Chennai (Madras) 600005, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Royapettah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £7 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing