We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its best days are behind it -- Nice location, was nice once, hasn't upgraded with times”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Manhattan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #359 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The hotel is relatively clean.
The fittings have not been upgraded with time ... there are very few power outlets, the bathroom also seems older.
If you are willing to adjust still good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

Sorry to say this... This Hotel doesn't deserve a review.
I would rate this hotel as one of the worst I had stayed ever in my life. The room charges are of 3 star hotel and service is worst than a lodge in Chennai.

No time to spend on reviewing this hotel. Terrible it is...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The only saving grace was that this was walking distance from the marina beach. Otherwise the experience was totally crappy.

At check in, the person at the counter wasn't friendly at all. Had to request twice that we wanted to have a look at the room first before checking in. We went upstairs and the room was quite old. There were water leak stains on the ceiling, there were rust marks on some of the fixtures and the room smelled stale. The corridor was dark and musty as well. We asked him to show us a few other rooms and the others looked worse. Since it was late, we decided to stay. The view in the room we stayed wasn't great either.

There were no toiletries in the toilet. The electric kettle in the room had stains in it and was unclean. The bottles of water in the room weren't sealed so we went out and got some.

However the walk to the beach was just 5 minutes and so we stayed overnight and visited it early in the morning.

Considering that we had just come from an excellent stay at kodaikanal, it was extremely disappointing and a bad way to end the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank graydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The staff is highly inefficient and can understand only Tamil. Restaurant is a nightmare with a limited menu. Bar charges are those of 3 star hotel. Only plus point is the location because it is close to Marina beach. But incompetent and careless staff has turned this place into a very ordinary hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xailmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The only reason to book this hotel is to be able to walk back to your room from Marina Beach - a distinct advantage when you don't fancy an auto or bus ride in wet clothes, but probably not worth the price - especially as there are guest houses (and this "hotel" is in fact worse than most guest houses) in trendier locations (Whites Road, etc.) for two thirds of this hotel's tariff. There are so many ways in which this hotel fails at hospitality, I'll just list them:

1. When booking by web or email, no confirmation of the amount to be paid, and no warning that service tax is not included in the stated tariff.

2. A tired room, scuffed walls, scraped furniture, torn bedsheets.

3. Refrigerator that doubles as mini-bar is unplugged and when its door is opened a cockroach scurries out.

4. No ceiling fan (only AC) and no All-Out repellant: mosquitoes will feast on you every night!

5. The de facto smoking area is at the top of the open staircase, UNDER THE "NO SMOKING" SIGN, outside the top-floor 'Brooklyn Bar.' The smoke blows down the staircase and can be smelt on every landing. When I complained that people were smoking next to the 'no smoking' sign, the desk staff responded "Yes, smoking next" then ignored me.

6. Late at night, drunkards trying to find their way down from the top-floor bar, or perhaps trying to loot rooms of their contents, will randomly try turn doorknobs.

7. In the restaurant, where the television is blaring, every time I ask "I would like to sit AWAY FROM the television" I am moved progressively closer and closer to the television.

8. In the restaurant when I ask for a diet coke I am told to go and buy it in the market.

9. The so-called "travel desk" is a joke. I try to have my onward air ticket printed, nobody at the hotel can sort out how to make their own printer work, and after much wasted time I am told to go to the Internet shop down the road.

Never stay here, unless proximity to the beach is enough for you to tolerate a dirty, careless establishment infested with mosquitos, cockroaches and alcoholics. And in any case, if the beach is what you're after, Elliot's beach just a twenty-minute auto ride away in Besant Nagar is much nicer than Marina Beach.

Room Tip: If you can't avoid staying here, then at least try to get a sea-facing room where you'll hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I travel to chennai almost every month. I prefer to stay in Manhattan because of the affordable rates and the homely atmosphere. Location is not crowded but next to the city centre which is a shopping mall. The beach is walkable distance from the hotel and a very nice place to spend the evenings. Rooms are fairly large and the restrooms are also ok. Room service is good and the staff are quick to serve food in the room. For a much quicker snack or food there is a restaruant on the ground floor. The reception staff are really helpful. Its worth the money you pay. I have recommended this hotel to my collegues and friends who also stay there when they come to Chennai.

Room Tip: Any room away from the lift will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masthmanbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

clean big rooms, friendly reception, good room service, close to the beach, in the middle of maylapore, close to triplicane and the shopping center. free !!! high speed internet. and the restaurant on the top roof with a great view to the beach and over the city. my compliments I will come back definately and stay for longer !!! ( Im a frequent guest of RAJ PARK, often in SAVERA and also NEW WOODLANDS in chennai)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganesha2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Royapettah
Regenta Central Deccan
Regenta Central Deccan
#85 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
258 reviews
Mylapore
Shelter Hotel
Shelter Hotel
#161 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
85 reviews
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#60 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#291 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
138 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Address: 1 Dr Radha Krishnan Salai | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Mylapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £29 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing