We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian Delight in Chennai City Centre Cottage!”
Review of Palmgrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmgrove Hotel
Ranked #80 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Palmgrove hotel is an excellent value for money hotel, close to city centre and if someone is looking for homely vegetarian food. The hotel has both room and cottage options. We had our reservations initially as we we were wondering how a hotel in the city centre could have cottages.. we took the plunge and booked the same for 2 nights on our visit to Chennai/ Mahabalipuram and loved the space we got in the cottage. with 2 children who would have been all over in a hotel room.. the cottage option was a great relief as we had lots of space for children to run around.. separate space for dining, living and bed room! all at an unbelievable price compared to what we would have paid otherwise at the pricey 4 star or 5 star hotels nearby. Service was very good. Hotel doesnt have too much of choice with restaurants as there is only one Indian vegetarian restaurant.. However that serves excellent food and unless one is particular to explore other kind of food.. it more than suffices.

the hotel has its old world charm and has barely any modern amenities barring the basics one needs... telephone/TV/Geyser etc. Room service could be a little faster but once you reconcile to the old world concept you will enjoy the service. Location is unbeatable !! All in all if you need space and want to stay in a service apartment/ cottage in the city centre .. this is value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hi,

I booked this for my cousin and grandma who had been to chennai for visa.
At middle of night they found lot of bedbugs coming out of the bed and no body was there to respond in the room service. My cousins had to go to the reception and fight with him to get alternative room.

The alternative room they gave some type of suite in which water was getting blocked in bathroom. When asked about it, they said its the only alternative you have and you have to adjust.

Finally when they checked out, those ****ers charged more than what it was supposed to be saying that my cousins stayed in a suite for which cost is more. That bloody suite where water gets blocked in bathroom. horrible bedbugs and the people do not speak any other language other than Tamil, so very difficult to talk or speak to them, because of which my cousins had to pay full amount.


I suggest, Do not step into these type of hotels

Room Tip: Just do not go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kishandvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Was in Chennai for the US Visa interview. Been here before for the same purpose. I do not see any reason otherwise to be in this below average hotel.-- Its only the location of the hotel , close to business are and of course the consulate. This is a pain as the visa process is spread over 2 days now.
The service is poor. Food is OK south Indian fare. The rooms are musty with the AC and require a complete re-do for at least the past 10 years.
The housekeeping request tips for all jobs- cleaning, moving luggage and are funnily dressed in brown shirt and shorts and compete with the brown clothed auto drivers in fleecing you!!

Room Tip: Go there only for the US Visa interview location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunilvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

i went there two weeks back after my earlier visit which was some years back. the ambience remained the same . may be, they are preserving it for loyal customers, who must be old timers there for a long period !. though the stay facilities are above average, it is a nostalgic experience !. the food is really good in their restaurants and the quantities are sufficient !. the price is very competitive considering the locality and other facilities !. a budget hotel and for nostalgic remembrance !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitcha6908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

if some one needs good tasty tiffen at chennai then it is the place this is a budget hotel where you have access to city and stay comfortably it is worth the cost you are paying
pure vegetarian hotel and not very expensive

good sambar and iddlies

it is a treat to watch people coming staying and eating

enjoy

Room Tip: book in advance hotel is located near gemin fly over higher floors are better to stay i wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aknarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This place exists due to its location in the city. For the rates they charge for a room I find it a horrible experience. Its an old building and there was nothing much comfortable about it

Few of the staff were plain rude. They denied a room first saying they dont accept a passport for identification. I still do not understand there reasoning behind that. But another staff member came in and agreed to give a room.

Then they told me the rates just went up and they only have there top class rooms available. Out of desperation i was ready to pay the extra cash as the time was also too late. The room was too old, with very rough bedsheets and towels. Room service was good. But the restaurant is just average.

I wouldnt stay there on my next visit. It was a very unpleasant experience for me. If you are looking for a nice and comfortable stay for your cash try elsewhere.
IF you just want to try to sleep and have a shower in a hotel in prime location, you may find it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arunetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I chose deluxe a/c rooms. Rent close to 3200 per day.

Pros
1. Close to US Embassy.10 minutes walk only if you take sub way to cross. Other wise 5 minutes is required.
2.If you are from Kerala , Kumarakom hotel is 2 buildings away.

Cons
1. Room is not clean
2. No internet
3. Plates, Tea cups everything in bad shape and color
4. Mosquitoes in third floor
5. Pay tip for anything and everything. Bring lots of 10 rupee notes.

Room Tip: I have no idea ! Choose this for us embassy only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tubeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#101 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
315 reviews
Mylapore
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#59 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
368 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Chennai
#48 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,744 reviews
Mylapore
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#45 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,064 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Hotel

Address: 5 Kodambakkam High Road, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £12 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing