We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“conveninet hotel in the heart of chennai and close to us consulate and gemini fly over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmgrove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmgrove Hotel
Ranked #86 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“conveninet hotel in the heart of chennai and close to us consulate and gemini fly over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel of yester years has a old world charm with lot of space around. It has quite a bit of lung space and a good vegetarian restaurant at medium prices. The dining hall has been refurbished and the food is good and serves nice vegetarian food. The meals are sumptuous at around 145 rupees. The staff may not be very sophisticated but they serve you nice food with sumptuous quantity. There is sufficient parking space.

The rooms need some refurbishing. It is comfortable if you do not have a flashy mind set. It is within walking distance of the American Consulate and Gemini flyover and Anna salai(mount road) and not far from Chennai Central Station and Egmore Station. The Airport is also accessible from Anna Salai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kumar803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    32
    15
    16
See reviews for
45
10
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Palmgrove is a quaint hotel frozen in time by about 40 years. Nevertheless, for mere 203 bucks one can have great buffet breakfast. The hotel provides fruit juice, two types of fruits, bread toast with butter/jam, pongal, kesri bath, upma, idli-vada, dosa, tea/ coffee. Consistently good taste is maintained. Good restaurant to patronise frequently.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank gururaj_bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just a average hotel in the center of the city, only advantage is that its just walkable for the visa consulate office.
As others have mentioned you will find the following:
Pros:-
Huge clean rooms, walk away from bus stop, easy to locate.
Really awesome food and a cuisine of veg delight for breakfast(complimentary for all).

Cons:-
Look out for bed bugs and pls take rooms in 2nd floor only!! (the only floor with no mosquitos and bed bugs)
The service guys will torture you like anything. don't be surprised if cleaning staff just burg in your room for every 10 min and asking for tips( they just kept disturbing non-stop and disturb your privacy for room cleaning, bath room cleaning, laundry, even shoe polish and water supply).
Not a value for money deal!!! but its just at a location which you cant ignore!!!

Room Tip: Walkable from US Visa office ( Ideal for short stay). Take a room ONLY in 2nd floor else don't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AjayBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed only for Two days in this hotel & the experience is terrible,
Service is very bad
Check-in waiting is too long
All the servants are like beggars
Each & every order they expect TIP from Customers [They will ask for it].

Hotel Room Toilet is very dangerous i.e..the Geyser is like 25 years old...

Overall its one of the worst Hotel i ever seen....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sajishr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Vellore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

You walk into this hotel and you might think that you have suddenly gone back into the 70s or 80s. And I don't mean that in a good way. The hotel looks and feels old, from the lobby, to the old furniture, the old type doors and windows, the old (but working) AC the old style toilets. I was a bit apprehensive at first, but there are some good points about this hotel also. for eg
1. The location - at the heart of Chennai, very close to the business and shopping locations, also the US consulate.
2. There are lots of rooms, so was able to walk in without a reservation and get a room.
3. Food- Only had the complimentary breakfast - they had a decent spread although veg.
4. The rooms and toilets were huge and although looking old were neat.
5. Huge campus with facility of car parking

Well it's a budget hotel. There is nothing there that will excite you or make u want to return. It's only USP being the location.
So there's nothing great, it's just ok....

Room Tip: Even the basic rooms are huge. So don't know the advantage of going for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeethu E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Palmgrove hotel is an excellent value for money hotel, close to city centre and if someone is looking for homely vegetarian food. The hotel has both room and cottage options. We had our reservations initially as we we were wondering how a hotel in the city centre could have cottages.. we took the plunge and booked the same for 2 nights on our visit to Chennai/ Mahabalipuram and loved the space we got in the cottage. with 2 children who would have been all over in a hotel room.. the cottage option was a great relief as we had lots of space for children to run around.. separate space for dining, living and bed room! all at an unbelievable price compared to what we would have paid otherwise at the pricey 4 star or 5 star hotels nearby. Service was very good. Hotel doesnt have too much of choice with restaurants as there is only one Indian vegetarian restaurant.. However that serves excellent food and unless one is particular to explore other kind of food.. it more than suffices.

the hotel has its old world charm and has barely any modern amenities barring the basics one needs... telephone/TV/Geyser etc. Room service could be a little faster but once you reconcile to the old world concept you will enjoy the service. Location is unbeatable !! All in all if you need space and want to stay in a service apartment/ cottage in the city centre .. this is value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hi,

I booked this for my cousin and grandma who had been to chennai for visa.
At middle of night they found lot of bedbugs coming out of the bed and no body was there to respond in the room service. My cousins had to go to the reception and fight with him to get alternative room.

The alternative room they gave some type of suite in which water was getting blocked in bathroom. When asked about it, they said its the only alternative you have and you have to adjust.

Finally when they checked out, those ****ers charged more than what it was supposed to be saying that my cousins stayed in a suite for which cost is more. That bloody suite where water gets blocked in bathroom. horrible bedbugs and the people do not speak any other language other than Tamil, so very difficult to talk or speak to them, because of which my cousins had to pay full amount.


I suggest, Do not step into these type of hotels

Room Tip: Just do not go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kishandvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#94 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#53 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
The Park Chennai
#54 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savera Hotel
#38 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#11 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Hotel Oriental Inn
#204 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Hotel

Property: Palmgrove Hotel
Address: 5, Kodambakkam High Road, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing