We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and reasonable for the price”
Review of Samco Hotel

Samco Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samco Hotel
Ranked #103 of 402 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel is decent, reasonable for the price and located at a convenient place. The staff were warm but did not pay heed to any special requests. (like extra pillows/hot water). The AC is working fine and room was clean. Do not expect anything than a decent place. Overall if you want to spend just a night and nothing more, this is a place to be in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aryan_kasturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

I visited with my family to Chennai on Dec 1st. AC is working fine. Didnt try food here, but i had ordered milk of my kids, milk 2 cups was 140Rs, shocked to see it. But had no other go than to go to for it. Rooms size was ok but with dirty towels. Hot water is avaialable only in morning. Rooms had cockraoches. For a night stay had to go with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KavithaGanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed in November 2012 for my parents' US visa interview. An average hotel. The rooms are spacious, but there is no space for parking as it is at a busy junction. Valet parking is available.

Pros: Courteous staff, relatively low rent, central place to US OFC center and consulates, restaurant food is tasty

Cons: Stained towels (I asked for replacement towels, but even they were stained and looking old), Cockroaches in the room (my parents' room had about 10 cockroaches all over the bed and floor when we returned to the room after dinner - executive room 201 (we got the room changed), too small a wash basin for 'standard' room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Nice food. Decent ambiance and reasonably priced. Their briyani and tandoori chicken are what I mostly go for, must say they are always good. Used to be a small hotel and going by the business setup and packed houses, one would be convinced this has some popularity to attract. Name ofcourse sells too!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank d_world12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

reasonable hotel, amazing food ( n i really mean amazing food specially the biryani a must try). not really clean. air conditioner was fine. take a bit time for cooling tho. one of the towel in the bathroom was torn. the other was ok. else the bathroom was average. rickshaw to both ofc and consulate cost around 40 bucks. crossword right opposite to utilize your spare time. went to near kapleeshwara kovil to saravana bhavan to try some tam food. which can b accessed by 12 b bus and share rickshaw for a 5-7 bucks. however had a tough time figuring out a bus from central to alwarpet. most of the people said you can get to alwarpet on bus 5c from central, but i litterally waited for 2 hours to find a bus from central to alwarpet. now you might think y i waited so much. i had ample time and nothing much to do so didnt want to waste much of bucks :) else i think by rickshaw from central it should b around 80-100 bucks. a lot of banks around so wouldnt find a problem with atm's. Cons: run down hotel, and not to the best of cleanliness. stayed in 104 so not much noisy however can get noisy in the night bcos its on a cross junction. however if you idea is consulate i think it should b fine for the price range of 1.5k . couldnt find anything reasonable than this.

Room Tip: if u want some neat towels and is choosy about rug on the bed it might stay up to your mark. non-veg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varghesejimmyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Hi All,

I have visited Hotel Samco, Chennai sometime ago. Whatever we ordered it was supplied very quick. the Tanddor Chicken is very good. Even pure vegetarians can have quality veg food here.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the month of may. The stay was ok, due to proximity with main city is an added advantage. Only problem is that the reception is on the first floor and you need to either climb up or down. food is average not so great, the pricing is a bit high vis-a -vis the quantity and taste.

Room Tip: at the same tariff better rooms are available at stone throw distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDevasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Iris Hotel
#60 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
197 reviews
GLM Meridian
#124 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
84 reviews
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
#97 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adyar
AMS Raj Palace Sundar
AMS Raj Palace Sundar
#46 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
113 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#36 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
269 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samco Hotel

Address: 174 Eldams Road | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 402 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samco Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing