We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Overall Experience”
Review of Ashok Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashok Residency
Ranked #192 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Overall Experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Deluxe rooms. Very spacious, neat and clean. Restaurant offers nice seafood. Although all the staff does not understand English, they serve you well.

Location is on an outer road, easy access by taxi to the expo center.

Room Tip: Opt for Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delhimanindelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
3
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tirupati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Clean rooms, Good room service, Good location, you get lot of restaurants near by including KFC, Mary Brown. Reception people were polite and helpful. Highly recommend if you want to stay in Porur location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Sumanth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Okay, this is not the greatest place to stay in Chennai, but we went here in the middle of the night and they quickly checked us in. The restaurant could be better and the rooms could be be improved. Overall, I would give it three stars and if you want to have a quick crash, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I chose this hotel as the venue of my visit was closest to this. I was a little hesitant initially because of the other comments that I read online but perhaps the hotel has made a big change for the better! My cousin in Chennai too vouched for the changes that has taken place there.

I had a good experience right from the reservation of room from Cochin till I checked out from the hotel. The GM, Mr. Ganesh, was very approachable and pleasing; helpful too. Second floor renovation has been done very tastefully.

I wish the hotel had a travel desk.

Room Tip: Request a room in on the second floor; the rooms there, along with the reception and restaurant, has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yongyongbomban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

head captain ramesh (name we been told) was very dumb and slow with no smile and courtesy . food was ordered was not up to the standard highlighted . ordered coffee came out to be curdled one ,still pouring in the cup and left . after bringing that to his notice he didnt even apologize and just got the bill with out asking for another one . they DONT UNDERSTAND OR GIVE RESPONSE OR RESPECT TO THE PEOPLE WHO DOESNT SPEAK THERE LANGUAGE . VERY RUDE. WILL NEVER VISIT SUCH PLACE WHERE THERE IS NO RESPECT AND COURTESY TOWARDS YOU .

Room Tip: Please do learn there local language if you want the right respect or service that they give out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkyacheffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

calicut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I booked a room in this lodge one month before a conference in srmc.when i called to confirm this one day beore conference .....reply was no room availble.so dont plan your travel with booking room in this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azeezchemmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My colleagues and I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Chennai. The guest rooms were spacious although they could have been better maintained since the ones we were given were damp.

The complimentary breakfast which consisted of South Indian dishes was decent as was the dinner buffet.The room in which dinner was served smelt funny though.

The hotel has no Wi-fi or a computer for accessing internet which is a problem for guests who are on a business trip. I found the staff at the reception helpful and they even arranged a car for us at short notice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roving_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.4 mi away
V7 Hotel
V7 Hotel
#66 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residence
Grand Residence
#194 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Treat
Grand Treat
#200 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sakthipriya Hotel
Sakthipriya Hotel
#272 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel Shimona
Lemon Tree Hotel Shimona
#54 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mahalaya Residency
Mahalaya Residency
#146 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashok Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashok Residency

Property: Ashok Residency
Address: No. 1/460, Mount Poonamalle Road | Ayyappanthangal, Chennai (Madras) 600056, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashok Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashok Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing