We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Chennai Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chennai Gate Hotel
Ranked #292 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was on business trip and i was staying at Chennai gate, a comfortable stay i had as the service and rooms were good and i enjoyed my stay. The location is nothing to write much about but the price was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    13
    2
    10
See reviews for
9
9
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

just opposite to Chennai Egmore Railway Station. Well maintained hotel Chennai central. Room rent include breakfast which you can hop on Service is good and makes an ideal place for short stay. we regularly visit the place for short stay and conveniently located to railway station.

We do not however, eat breakfast as the hotel has the non vegetarian dining hall attached to it famous for Briyani etc. Vegetarian breakfast available but we prefer just lodging

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We landed up in Egmore and since it was close to the station, we decided to take 1 room for the night. Everything is tolerable, so if getting just a quick nights sleep is what you are after, that too close to the station then it will work for you. If you want anything else, including room service, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Well maintained hotel in the heart of the city, near to agmor railway station and also near to chennai central and parrys

Room rent include breakfast which you can hop on

Service is good and makes an ideal place for short stay. we regularly visit the place for short stay and conviniently located to railway station and food joints

Room Tip: Room on reception sides are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maniesh_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Its my sincere request to you all, Please avoid this one as there is nothing on offer here except for the location. In fact this advantage also gets nullified because there are better hotels at cheaper rates in the vicinity of Chennai Egmore and Chennai Central.

The hotel smells, produces unwanted noise, has not so co operative staff, theft prone, has poor bathrooms and in short it sucks...

Please avoid...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiitkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Please don't go by the photographs of this hotel on the website. Appearances can really be deceptive. The location of the hotel is excellent, because it is bang opposite the Egmore Railway station. However, if you want to keep your baggage and get out then it's o.k. cause the hotel is not worth living in. The amenities are pathetic. The whole hotel stinks. Nothing seems to be working - even their electronic door locks can go wrong...would be a nightmare if your baggage is in! The price that they charge for their one room is really not worth...there is no place in the room to even move about! Use this hotel if only you need a stop over and don't want to spend. Even then there are better options in the row opp. Egmore Station like Sangeetha Business Hotel, Hotel Chandra Park and the 3 star - Fortis which is excellent. The worst is interacting with the reception staff - they can't understand one word of Hindi or English. The best person was their doorman a chap from Mumbai - hence he helped with all the necessary information and language translation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwd_want2cworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
802 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed with my family in this hotel on 25.04.12 and 26.04.12 by booking 2 delux rooms.Rooms and hotel location were ok for the price and our problems started from time we checked in and remained till we checked out .In this hotel service is non existent and it is only slightly better than staying in railway station plat form.No drinking water available.A/C ,health fossets not working.The main problen is communication and no service even after asking 10 times .This one of the worst hotel stay in my life.Food is just hoorrible and thanks for near by good restorents.Staff is not co-operative and just cont understand any thing and even you make them understand they will not do any thing.Please avoid this hotel even if you are single or with family.Not recommended to anybody and more so for vegitarians

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chandra shekar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#83 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
107 reviews
Hotel Pandian
#84 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
180 reviews
FabHotel Udipi Home Egmore
#108 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
Sakthipriya Hotel
#272 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
6 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#253 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chennai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chennai Gate Hotel

Property: Chennai Gate Hotel
Address: 17 18 Old No | Gandhi Irwin Road, Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chennai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing