We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience”

Hotel Karpagam International
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Karpagam International
Ranked #119 of 366 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An interesting experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Don't come here if you want your standard 4 star western luxury. This place is a treat to stay in because it is a long way from a Holiday Inn. The staff don't speak much English, but enough so you will usually get what you want, but you will get what you need. The men who run it are friendly and try hard to help in anyway they can. The rooms are not all that clean but it is all made up for by the crazy, noisy temple market street right outside. This is honkey, bustling commerical/religious India as its best or worst. The street is a market place with daily traffic jams and daily parades of devotees and gods from the temple across the street. There is a huge temple with a tank that is often filled with water. There are mad sadus on the street and dozens of fruit and flower sellers. Sangeetha is the best close restaurant, it is close to the main road. There are great coffee stalls.
If you are a music lover this is the place to stay as many of the greats of Indian classical music stay here. Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the temple tank
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Karpaggam for a day in November 2013. I really liked the size of the room. Compared to other hotels which have just enough space for a double bed, this room was huge.
All AC rooms in this hotel. TV, wardrobe and two ACs in the room. Two wash basins; one inside and one outside the bathroom.

Pros
- Spacious and clean
- Location - Mylapore, walking distance from Kapaleeswarar temple
- Clean and good beds

Cons
- No lift. Had to carry my heavy luggage to the second floor
- Bathroom needed improvement; dark and no shower

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grshekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location - Absolutely Strategic! If you are ok with the hum drums of a vegetable market surrounding this place, then you can go for it. What is bad is the water quality. Super hard water, to say the least. if you have a hair bath in such a water, rest assured, it will be as stiff as a rod!!! Also, on the day we were to leave, it was early morning and the North East Monsoon had just set in Chennai (Oct 22 2013). The weather was pretty chill, at least for my parents and they wanted warm water, if not hot water for a bath. The Hotel has NO facility to provide hot water, for a bath.They rely completely on Solar water heater. What happens on those days when the sun refuses to show its face? Be prepared - you only get plain (hard) water in the tap. Even after complaining about lack of hot water, no effort was made to give us at least half a bucket of warm water for a bath. Charging Rs 2000 per day, this is not the level of service I would expect. I would not want to rate this hotel more than 2.5 (but that choice is not available here!). The room as such was clean and good. Mattresses well maintained. Restroom / bathroom just above average. The taps / Showers are not clean because of hard water stains.

Since we had taken a AC double room, the AC was functioning really well. Television was working fine as well. There is a hotel downstairs, where meals are served at Rs 70 a plate (in the non ac section). This was just average, in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandering_soul1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seri Kembangan, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is strategically located near Kabalaeeshwar Temple in Mylapore. The location is ideal if you intend to visit nearby temples. Service and receptions needs improvement. The Manager is not friendly and give lame excuses to fill forms for foreigners. Good vegetarians restaurants are available within the vicinity of the hotel. After a 2 day stay, my suggestion to the hotel management is to upgrade the facilities, provide better service and cleanliness at floors- though I am not sure that this will bring in more profit!! The only value addes is the location, that makes up for all the drawback!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thina613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

we have stayed in hotel two year before & this Jan 2012 However hotel in basic Reception charge different rates two time one same week in Jan 2012 as agreed we do not mind paying more or less matter policy agreed with us Reception in charge previous may be charged incorrect i agree if that cases I have requested for copies of bill which I denied to print for us
However this place recommend by my friend two year before
however mosquito whole nights its bit cold we do not a/c on this tempature but we have struggle with mosquito, No nets for mosquito its fly free in rooms & price ok but No room service done for three days & they did not ask for fresh towels or clean sheet we have requested extra bed they give us thin matters to put on floors we do not want to complaints to management but its not what we excepted from hotel good place if they keep cleaning the rooms and small bits tcl

Room Tip: Please check price before booking they may change there mind every time & who on reception some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank UK_Trip_Visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I were at Chennai for a marriage and had been booked to stay at Karpagam hotel at Mylapore, Chennai. We have several relations in Chennai but could not stay with any of them since they were not in station.

The hotel provides minimal services at a competitive price. As such, one cannot complain much. However, the level of cleanliness and hygiene has room to improve.

The best part of the hotel is its location - Mylapore is a central locality with the famous Kapaleeswarar Temple and excellent shopping opportunities. There are good restaurants that provide excellent vegetarian fare and an early morning visit to the temple can be an invirogating experience. With all the facilities around, one does not depend on the hotel for food.

The check-in formalities are very simple and there are enough "boys" to help you with the luggage. We had to change the room since the AC was not fucntioning properly. The new room was not very spacious but the AC worked well. The bath room and other facilities were just about OK!

After a 3 day stay, my suggestion to the hotel owners will be to upgrade the facilities, provide better service and raise the room rates - though I am not sure that will bring in more business!!

As of now, the location makes up for all the shortcomings!

Chandrasekaran K

Room Tip: Check the AC before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.3 mi away
Shelter Hotel
Shelter Hotel
#185 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Executive Comfort UNA Xpress Mylapore
Executive Comfort UNA Xpress Myl...
#133 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.0 mi away
Executive Comfort St. Mary's Road
Executive Comfort St. Mary's Roa...
#134 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.1 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#41 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karpagam International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karpagam International

Property: Hotel Karpagam International
Address: 41 South Mada Street | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing