We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended at all”
Review of Orchid Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Inn
Ranked #323 of 402 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed 31 March 2013

After seeing nice photos we decided to book our first nights in this place. For a start we got numb service at reception desk, we felt as we disturb them and they dont want to even say a word. After we got key we got another surpise, room was very poor and for this price 1235rs / night it was even terrible, no hot water but bedsheets were reasonable clean. Another surprise was to see room rates card which state 1000rs if you just walk in and not book by some website. You can surely find better quality in Chennai for this price. Finally it happened to be one of our most expensive nights in two months in India!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank VirtualtromsoDotNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Rooms are reasonably spacious and clean compared to other hotels in Chennai. No in house Restaurant. But Room service available. Advt says Wi Fi, but not available.

Suitable for business as well as family trips if we just need a decent hotel at a reasonable price, in the centre of the city, without expecting too much of flamboyance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Perumal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We were conned by the pictures on the website.I had an impression that this hotel is very neat and good.But it was horrible....There were rats and cockroaches,the rooms were not that neat.We couldnt sleep peacefully due to rats...!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Silambarasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It is Ok to stay for short trip . It is near to all business centers around mount road. It is near to sarvana bhavan where we can get a very good food. Hotel rooms are little old. The overall service is ok . ,,,

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jayaguru P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Me and my wife want to stay in Chennai to attend a two day event -Hamfest 2012, the yearly gathering of Ham radio operators. Even though I stayed many times in Chennai Hotels, this was the first with my family. Started searching for various options and finally last minute with the discount from Cleartrip I booked with the Orchid Inn.

The stay was comfortable, the room service was good, food was tasty and finally the sleep was without any mosquito bite! The small lift was very helpful to my wife who have problems with her Leg. Hot water, Jaguar fitting in the Lav!For 1000 and odd bucks-great value. I am afraid this will make the management to hike the price!

Negatives: The management should put little more effort to keep the rooms clean, especially toilet closets, ceiling fans, electrical wiring etc. The room boys are to be told to use the door bell. Waiters for room service use them but if you keep the door unlocked, the boys will give you shock!

Caution: At the heart of the town, near Central station, the auto drivers will kill you and they will carry your 'dead body' to the place where you want! 5 km=200/-. Always stand in the que and do get the prepaid only. Otherwise take time and bargain.... at least less 20% sure.

Wish all good time and seasons greetings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank peejaypalakkad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Aditya N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days in December 2012. Between being in a state of reconstruction and the elevator not working, it was a good value-for-money kind of stay. The deluxe AC room was small but well equipped with a queen size bed and a TV that sticks to majorly Tamil channels. The best part was the efficient and fully working AC, which is a kind of rarity in Chennai hotels. You can order in food but the quality is just above average. Tried the Paneer Noodles and the Chili Prawns which were passable. Bathroom was clean with running hot water. Location is probably the USP of this hotel, very near to the US embassy as well as to Express Avenue. Reception staff, however, could do better - not very helpful and could definitely think about being more friendly!
In a nutshell, a value-for-money place thats near to shopping destinations.

Room Tip: They are renovating, so quality will hopefully change for the better. Stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKR2N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Himalaya Residency
#197 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Melody
Hotel Melody
#271 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Mount Residency
#93 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OYO Rooms Saidapet
#319 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
5 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#233 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
135 reviews
New Regency
#126 of 402 in Chennai (Madras)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Address: 164 Peters Road | Rayapettai, Chennai (Madras) 600014, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 402 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £8 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchid Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing