We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Office tour in Chennai”
Review of Pratap Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Ranked #75 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Though my official visits to Chennai are not so frequent , whenever I visit , I prefer to stay in this hotel. Within our budget it is quite good and comfortable for stay. The reception and the staffs are very polite and co-operative. The breakfast is quite good. Neat and clean.

Room Tip: Premiums are better but standards are also ok for single person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

I visited Chennai alone for official tour & stayed in this Hotel (as referred by my office colleague); I checked in room no: 103 & stayed there from 8th April to 11th. The hotel is found to be good for the following reasons:-
1. rooms are big & clean, toilet is OK
2. location is good, you can call a taxi & can expect it to come within 15-30 min; or, if you are in a hurry, an auto stand is situated adjacent to this Hotel (although auto fare is extremely high in Chennai); If you need cash money in urgency, 3 ATMs (SBI, ICICI, HDFC) are adjacent to the Hotel.
3. So far the restaurent in the Ground floor (Chennai 24) is concerned, food is OK, & atmosphere is cool.
4. Room Service is also good.

So, next time I will be in Chennai, I will go for this hotel; only one thing, If you are in a personal tour, it might be a little bit expensive. So, think for your budget twice, for that case.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sourav_KoL_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The Chennai city needs a thorough overhauling to eliminate mosquitoes. Even I understand that the case is same with 5 star hotels. It is very difficult to have a peaceful sleep with Good night mats they put in the rooms. All mosquito repellant manufacturers should take up a test in this city and in this hotel, which is a sample setup.

Room is quite decent with proper toilet with western commode etc.,

The breakfast which is complimentary is very good.

But the price tag is on higher side given the mosquito treat.

Chennai should be avoided for some time till it has won over mosquitoes.

Simple south Indian food is also very costly compared to its quality and variety.

Then do U have a choice? - I am not sure.

R V B Rao, rvbrao@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvbrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

After We checked in, after getting fresh and having breakfast at 10.15 am the receptionist told me that the room in which they made us stay is "premium" and i have booked "standard" so they are changing it to "premium". I objected as they did not informed me in advance. In standard room furniture is old. Even a small thing like water jug was having broken tap. Room service is severely bad. Waiter brought tea in broken thermos. In room card, laundry collection was stated at 10 am but when i called they said laundry boy left at 9am. Our cloths remained unwashed. After two days suffering i decided to leave hotel. Not happy at all with the information system of hotel. Staff is not affectionate towards the guest. Breakfast buffet is boring. Both days We found the same things.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yash842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I am new to chennai was on here for a business visit. I was referred by my friend to stay in this hotel as it is in a center place. I also booked a room before one day. During my booking they said room is available for tomorrow. I said them that i will check in by 5:00 to 6:00AM. But once i reached by 6:15, the receptionist casually said sorry sir rooms are full. I asked them cant you ring me & say that the rooms are full, u dont have a courtesy to call.....? if you would`ve said so i might looked for some other hotel. So i advise people not to take chances to stay here....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Vinod_cbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Mr. Vinod,
We thank you very much for your comment. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience faced during your visit to our hotel. We will take the necessary corrective actions in this regard to ensure smooth services in the future.
We thank you once again for your valuable comment.
Regards,
Sunil Samuel
Manager -Operations,
Hotel Pratap Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Location is good.Rooms not up to standard,Restaurant is expensive and not so good.Can manage for a day on urgent basis.Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil-Gajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We thank you very much for your valuable comment. Now we have renovated the rooms and the quality of food has been improved. We look forward towards your next visit.
Thanks & Regards,
Sunil Samuel
Manager - Operations
Hotel Pratap Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was in Pratap plaza only for a night and I had a good experience. Not great, but enough to keep me comfortable. The standard room was big and the bathroom was clean with really soft towels.
The AC in my room stopped working and they fixed it for me right away. The breakfast spread the next day was amazing, with a good mix of south indian and continental items along with cut fruit and freshly squeezed juices. It completely made my day. I would recommend pratap plaza for a comfortable, budget, no-frills stay in Chennai

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K-Rupal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We thank you very much for your valuable comment & we look forward towards welcoming you to our hotel as our privileged guest. Thanks & Best regards, Sunil Samuel, Manager - Operations, Hotel Pratap Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
192 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#101 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
315 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#96 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#42 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
275 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
The Belstead
The Belstead
#72 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
52 reviews
Treebo Mount Kailash Suites
#63 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratap Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratap Plaza Hotel

Address: 168 Kodambakkam High Road | Mahalingapuram, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £22 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pratap Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pratap Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing