We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Purely Business hotel - not bad but not overwhelming too”
Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Ranked #273 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Purely Business hotel - not bad but not overwhelming too”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night on my business trip to Chennai. Overall it's a OK hotel.

I booked my room over phone. Sabina the receptionist offered me 20 % corporate discount over the phone only.

I reached hotel in evening around 5.25 pm. The reception did not take much time to check in. In fact I asked them to show me the rooms first. I saw n selected the room. It's a good property. But the interior needs to be improved. The lift specially needs to be replaced. I could not understand the logic of lift being outside.

The bed was good. But I felt it was not replaced for few days. I felt it was stinking. Later I found that it was surely not replaced as I could see that it was dirty inside below the blanket. The next day when the bed was replaced. It was clean and tidy. I asked for packaged drinking water. They charged me Rs 45/- for it, which I consider is too much.

They had a nice spread of buffet breakfast. South Indian as well as a few Continental. For eggs u need to ask them.

Overall it was a good experience. They do have a restaurant and a bar which I did not try.

In the vicinity itself around a walk of 5-7 min u will find good restaurants.

I recommend this hotel for short stays.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amit16021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
7
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for work. The rooms were alright and clean. The WiFi was horrible, which affected my work quite a bit. The breakfast was also not that great, mostly Indian good. There isn't anything superb about this hotel nor do I have any drastic complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohankoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel is located in posh area where you find many good north Indian restaurants nearby such as Delhi Highway where you find very good punjabi food & snacks. Please do not take economy rooms as these are very small.





  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niranjansingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Rooms are clean and good, Reception staffs are helpful, we went for sight seeing we enjoyed the stay & trip with the help of those people who where at reception, especially Sabina. South indian dishes are nice. For my child they gave extra bed as complimentary, overall good good good.

Room Tip: Give a perfect detail on reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansi752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasik (Nashik), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Staff are generally cooperative and eager to help.The breakfast is good but the restaurant barely functions otherwise. The lift is unpredictable and very old. The rooms differ in sizes. A standard room does not particularly adhere to any particular standard. If you are lucky for the same price you might end up getting a bigger room .The air conditioners are old and be sure you don't let the attendant off unless you have put on the A.c and checked on the television. Generally , its a positive experience if you are willing to live with less than perfect . The price is very reasonable and the reception services are very good.

Room Tip: check the A,c and television before the attendant leaves your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunita30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Rooms were clean, though could have been better. Nice ambiance & service, overall decent property. The only complain I have is that they didn't gave me a bill since I booked online through Cleartrip, they said they will send invoice to cleartrip & I'll have to make use of the online voucher/invoice given by Cleartrip. I need original invoice for claiming expenses from company.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Pandian
#79 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#85 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Nungambakkam
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#63 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FabHotel Udipi Home Egmore
#116 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Malles Manotaa
#122 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#96 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Property: The Kings Hotel
Address: No 32 Halls Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kings Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is is a stylish executive star hotel in the heart of Chennai's business & entertainment place.Located at a walking distance from shopping malls,Restaurants & Night spots.Your experience will indeed be exceptional,Whether it is a Business trip,Vacation,Corporate meeting or Banquet function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing