We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #17 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A great hotel located at the heart of the city. Taj service as always, impeccable. Surprisingly affordable and worth the money spent. Recommended for the business traveller who wants to stay at the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJEEVAyyappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at the taj club on 18th of june for 2 nights... It was very relaxing. Staff was very polite n concerned... We were upgraded cos we were 3 ppl... The club house restaurant serves excellent food... The buffet breakfast had a huge variety ....The roof top restaurant was also good... Will definitely go back.. The warmth of the staff really touched us.... Will recommend this hotel wholeheartedly....

Room Tip: The rooms are very comfortable and not noisy at all cos the location is in a bye lane... At the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayajacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

this Taj property on Mount road in Chennai is very comfortable and freindly hotel in busy business district in Chennai.great food,courteous staff and excellent comfort. there are great food options.Egg Curry with Malbar Paratha for breakfast was real great experience for me.very clean rooms and hygenic enviornment.although the piloows were not very comfortable for me.

Room Tip: the rooms in the front side have a good bright view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjaymuthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What makes a hotel a pleasure to stay in? Is it the location? fixtures in the room? the bar? the gym?.... I do not know about all these for the Taj Club House (maybe they are good). Was there only for a night. The level of service is what makes this hotel a star performer. THe only other place I remember such dilligent service levels is at the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. The FO personnel who checked me in (Pranav, if I remember right.. with a striking resemblance to MS Dhoni, India cricket captain) was just superb at not just providing the service but also anticipating in advance what I may look for!! And the dinner was again at the same high levels of service more than making up for the so so spread...
And by a stroke of luck I ran into Anil Kumble, a former India cricket team vice captain!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank husaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lovely lobby, nice breakfast, fantastic roof top swimming pool, very courteous staff in swimming pool area. If u r visiting with kids, the staff at swimming pool area will offer u sunscreen, lime water without being asked for. Overall a service oriented hotel.

Only little tiny winy problem i faced is that there is no hand shower( health faucet ) or any tap in toilet area, so how do u manage! i reported the same to management but they were also helpless and said that v also face same problem but top mgmnt will decide this addition, so being a TAj inner circle member i send them a mail, but got no reply so far.

Overall nice location and value for money.

P.S. - When my 5 year old daughter who recently learned to play piano tried to play the lovely piano in the lobby she was intervened by the staff for no valid reason, may be the piano is just a showpiece !

Room Tip: Higher floor for unobstructed view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maniji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I visit Chennai on business occasionally; found Taj to be best in service and Quality. Staff is curtious and very hospitable. Room I stayed was up to the mark clean and comfortable with no noise at all. Food Quality is good with lots of options and the chef looked after my requirements perfect to the mark.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel more than once and i love this place. It is a little far from the airport and you should budget a little more than an hour from the airport. I have stayed in their smoking rooms and non smoking rooms. They have a small nook in the ground floor where one can smoke if you want to. The bar is next to it.

What stands out is the service. I have checked in and out at odd hours (After 12 in the night checked in and left before 4am) and was always greeted with a smile.

They go that little extra mile - Upgrade you to a better and bigger room if that is available and if you are nice. They gave me a complimentary packed breakfast after i checked out two times in the morning without having breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvikC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,206 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#9 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,607 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#29 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,382 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,553 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Royapettah , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing