We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Business Trips”
Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #17 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I thought my stay would have been disastrous because the moment I checked in and walked to my room, I found my room in a mess and wasn't done up. The hotel made a mistake but was quick to rectify the situation. They immediately got me another room and were very apologetic about it.

I have to say that the service at the hotel was fantastic. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Comparing to the other Taj chain that I have been before, I have to say that Taj Club is much better in all aspects - cleanliness, comfort, and service. Though I have to note that its strange that the hotel leaves the doors to unoccupied rooms open. Its kind of creepy to be walking to your room and finding the doors leading to your room open! Maybe the management can look into this.

I had the opportunity to dine at Beyond Indus (Indus region, Punjab, Rawalpindi and Sindh cuisine), Club House (European bistro with Asian fusion), and Kefi (Mediterranean restaurant serving cuisine from Greece, Turkey, Spain, Morocco and Lebanon). Loved my dining experience at Kefi. The food was very good but not exellent (depends what you have). The waiters are well informed about the food they have on their menu and very helpful in helping you decide. The rooftop bar outside Kefi is really nice, especially when you go during their 'winter', its just nice to sit outside.

I must note that I love the thoosai or dosa, which is fermented crepe or pancake made from rice batter and black lentils. It is served fresh and crispy from the Club House and I have been having that every morning for breakfast :) The variety at the breakfast buffet is quite amazing too.

Would have loved to try their in house spa but it was fully booked, and when I have an available slot, there was only men therapist available.

The hotel is located in the least expected place. It is however, walking distance to one of the biggest mall in Chennai, Avenue Express.

Room Tip: I had the corner room which was near the store room and so it was a little noisy when the staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here last week for 3 nights n was happy with the usual taj kind of hospitality which was missing in the taj west end property ...check in was fast n the lady who checked us in was very pleasant n seemed happy to serve us ...all the staff from the valet drivers to the security personnel have a smiling face....

We ate at the kefi restaurant and the beyond Indus ,both have excellent staff and food was awesome too...breakfast is a good spread ...


We hope that the staff continues their excellent service ...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preeti a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights while I was on a business trip. I had arrived early at the hotel and the staff was able to check me into a room. I did have to wait for a bit but then the front office staff was quite accommodating and pleasant to ensure that I was not harried!

This is a new hotel and has all the modern amenities required in a room for a business traveler.

The breakfast buffet is sumptuous and a treat for the food lover. It keeps you going t

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The services of the hotel were fantastic. they gave me a room upgrade as well as considered me for a late check out. The hotel is one of the best hotels and the best business hotel in chennai. The location was also very close to my office and at the centre of the city. The staff are very helpful and the taj hs really maintained its standards

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soni23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visit dates: Jan 20-23, 2013

Location: Its excellent! Located conveniently at Mount Road. Eating joints, shopping mall, Pompuhar (Tamil Nadu Govt Emporium), Handicraft Shops and VTI Arts and Craft (to name a few).

Hospitality: Taj as usual. Nice big rooms with all basic facilities. You can order a movie of choice from the list of DVDs available. Nice breakfast, they also offer a packed breakfast. Though the staff at the Kefi (Mediterranean restaurant on the 7th floor) are too pushy, I was obliged to order another dish even though I was full.
Swimming pool complimentary for guests, spa and sauna facilities available (though you need to book in advance)-Spa charges are nominal.

Comfort: Definitely 5/5 in spite being on the main road, the noise levels are low.

Value for money: 5/5

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson_and_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

i stayed here for 4 nights.very good experience.my check in time is 2.00pm but i was there early 9am but the manager offered me a room without charge .food quality is very good and tastefull morning breakfast they had a lot of varieties in buff really very good hotel sure u should visit the roof top food and wine restaurant awesome experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vimalgiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

By far one of the best experiences in terms of service levels and friendliness of the staff.
The room was great too and so was the overall property.

I have stayed at other hotels in Chennai, but this one beats them all hands down when it comes to service. Also, the food is great, both in variety and taste. Also, the location makes it even more great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk_dost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,206 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,604 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#29 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,381 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,553 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Royapettah , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing