We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #16 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

very nice place to visit and the food was very good, the service people were very attentive,,came here for dinner with my family had variety of Indian food and beef we had in the buffet with walnut on the top was moist and the sauce was great,over all we had great time thanks to the chefs and i will recommend my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shyam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that the overall quality of service and food at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

I have taken the liberty to convey your appreciation to the entire team, especially the chefs and they were delighted to receive such wonderful feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.


With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    362
    86
    24
    34
See reviews for
106
97
79
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Taj Clubhouse was my home for six months whilst I was in Chennai. The friendliness of staff and excellent customer service made it an absolute pleasure to stay there. However what really sticks in my memory was the excellent continental dishes I was served on a daily basis by the Chef Pradeep. His food is truly outstanding. I wish all the staff at the Taj Clubhouse all the very best for the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheelbarrow27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of service and food at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

I have taken the liberty to convey your appreciation to the entire team, and they were delighted to receive such wonderful feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.


With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel staff are the best professional staff one would ever meet.
Ajit and Danish, in the Club House coffee shop are perfect.Kathir , the supervisor, pays attention to the smallest details.Jithesh J, the duty manager, will make sure your stay is comfortable.

Thank you for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of service at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

I have taken the liberty to convey your appreciation to the entire team, especially those whom you have mentioned and they were delighted to receive such wonderful feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.


With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

3days back I stayed in this property for a night... but was disappointing. I checked in around 3am... and been promptly assisted in Front desk...been put in one of the room in 5th floor (547 or 517 not really sure with the room number). I decided to get refresh... as I opened the tap... I had muddy water splashed all around and it went on for around 30sec. busted celling light on top of bed and there are gaps in a wall which looks dirty. and the door chain lock is broken. smelly bath towels... stained bed sheets... understanding that these are not the standards of TAJ... and its an evident that rooms are not managed well.

as a guest I have expectations and I've been charged for it... only commendable thing is the break fast in all day dining restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,


Warm Greetings from Taj Club House!!!

Thank you for your recent visit and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all comfortable and I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.

You can be rest assured that corrective measures have been taken with regards to your concerns and you will definitely see a marked improvement on your next visit. We sincerely hope you treat this as an isolated incident and not a true reflection of the Taj services.

Your valuable feedback shows us the areas that we need to improve upon and will go a long way in helping us improve our standards and levels of service. Please feel free to bring to our notice anything you think would enable us to enhance your experience and delight you on your next visit.

We do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to meet your expectations.


With Kind Regards,


Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Taj Club house for 1 night as I was in chennai for work. Had a late night check in and was promptly helped by the reception. Wanted to watch a movie from their collection and was promptly accompanied with cold drink and pop corn. Had a great breakfast and checked out. Really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shackya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.


With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This is what makes Taj hotels stand out in the crowd! The warm welcome, the willingness to accommodate early arrival, the amazing breakfast, the friendly staff!!!
The location is slightly away from the centre so you need to set aside extra time to commute as the traffic in Chennai is a nightmare.
The speciality restaurant by the poolside is absolutely amazing. I had Lebanese food and it was world class!
The spa is superb and the staff are very well trained.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquaspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of service and food at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback particularly about our Spa and Kefi our Mediterranean restaurant.

I have taken the liberty to convey your appreciation to the entire team and they were delighted to receive such wonderful feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.


With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This time around I have no complaints with my stay at the hotel. The service, room cleanliness and everything else related to my stay gets an A+. The staff as usual is very polite and courteous.

Hopefully the same experience will be repeated in my next month's visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay

Thank you for your feedback particularly about our rooms and service.

I have taken the liberty to convey your appreciation to the entire team and they were delighted to receive such wonderful feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.

With Kind Regards


Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,281 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,021 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
2,488 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,105 reviews
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#15 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Property: Taj Club House
Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing