We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb! Great Location, Pleasing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #16 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
239 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Superb! Great Location, Pleasing Service”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Taj Club House was recommended by a friend over other Taj Properties in Chennai. The location is just superb near Spencer plaza and Express avenue just off Mount Road. The ambiance is very good and the service is pleasing on par with the Taj standards. The morning breakfast was a big let down in terms of taste as the chef must have gone overtly continental with south Indian break fast, but the personnel there just identified our displeasure and ensured we have what we wanted in quick time. This again reemphasizes the Taj hospitality and care for their guests. The rooms are good and spacious with ample lighting. The place is a nice one to be at and strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are just great and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramachandran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that the overall quality of service and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

Whilst we are glad that you were very pleased with our service, we regret the shortfalls with regards to the breakfast. Please be rest assured that corrective measures have been taken in this regard and you will definitely see a vast improvement on your next visit.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.

With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    362
    86
    24
    34
See reviews for
106
97
79
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The decor is enticing but I was surprised to note we were the only people in the bar. Still those couple of staff are on their own world and nobody looked our way. I have to go to them to get their attention. I have ordered the moderately priced wine … they didn't have it. Even the young wines they stock is over priced and we couldn't find any good wine at right price. Good atmosphere …but uninterested staff… over priced wines…. we moved away to a better bar. This is the first time I get to see a dull Taj establishment!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

At the outset please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to meet with your expectation.

We apologise for the lapse in service with regards to your complaint about the service at Blend. You can be rest assured that corrective measures have been taken with regards to your concern and you will definitely see a marked improvement on your next visit.

Your valuable feedback shows us the areas that we need to improve upon and will go a long way in helping us improve our standards and levels of service. Please feel free to bring to our notice anything you think would enable us to enhance your experience and delight you on your next visit.

We do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to be able to meet with your expectations.

With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our entire family was staying their as we had booked it for my sister's wedding!

It was a joyous occasion and our stay was very comfortable.

Did not use any extra amenities but room service, quality of food and service was very good.

The staff was very professional and helpful!

Room Tip: The corner suites are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of service at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.

With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I just had 2 days in the Taj clubhouse. The hotel and room itself being a reasonable standard, I found the service standards throughout to be superb. I have spent many years in hotels around the world, but the customer care and service at the Taj is probably the best I have experienced. A bit of a drive from the airport, and the rooms on the small side, but clean and well furnished and comfortable. Thanks for your wonderful Indian hospitality. It was a real pleasure to experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dislike-divas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of service at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.

With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Well located with friendly service and well tailored and good value for money packages especially for corporate/ business travel.
Rooms are a bit small though and there are limited cuisine choices. Also the upkeep could be better as it seems to fall short of the usual taj standards.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank madhav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Whilst we are glad that you were pleased with our service, we regret the shortfalls with regards to your comment on the limited selection of food, room size and upkeep of the hotel.

We would appreciate if you could share your contact details with us so that we can get a better understanding of where we were not able to meet with your expectations.

Your valuable feedback shows us the areas that we need to improve upon and will go a long way in helping us improve our standards and levels of service. Please feel free to bring to our notice anything you think would enable us to enhance your experience and delight you on your next visit.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you.


With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is realy nice, staffs are courteous, rooms are bigger,only the sad part of the room is view...food is excellent, morning breakfast buffet is lavish....it's being 3-4 times I have visited this hotel altogether I always had a comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nancy2nidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of food and service at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback especially about the rooms.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.

With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent business hotel. Superb service from the moment you enter the hotel.
They gave me a room upgrade.
They even found me a tie as I had forgotten to pack one.
The breakfast was excellent.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Please check with the hotel about the route to the hotel as the work on the Metro has resulted in a lot of roads even arterial ones being made one way.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D, General Manager at Taj Club House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It’s extremely pleasing to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and that the overall quality of food and service at the hotel measured up to your expectation.

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Taj Club House.

With Kind Regards

Ian Dubier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,282 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,021 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
2,488 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
1,105 reviews
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#15 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Property: Taj Club House
Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing