We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Central Location with Good Service”
Review of YWCA Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YWCA Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed four nights at this friendly guest house with delicious food. The place offers excellent value for money. The evening meal is particularly good with vegetarian options. Aruna on reception is knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. She is a great asset to the place.
Note that while the house is named YWCA International Guest House, men are welcome.

Room Tip: The twin rooms seem to be larger than the doubles. The location is fairly quiet and set in a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hannamjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very good place to stay staff very friendly especially Aruna the receptionist always with a smile greeting the guests. Rooms are ok for the price you pay. Very clean and complimentary breakfast in the mornings are good. The garden and general outter atmosphere was very pleasant and homely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prinita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Ywca guest house is located about a kilometer from the central railway station on Poonamalle High Road, with the Egmore stationjust 5mins away by foot.
It is a bed and breakfast guest house. Its surrounding are kept very neat and clean. The rooms are not big but adequate with attached bathrooms and TV. The sheets and towels are changed everyday.Breakfasts are a mixture of Indian and western. Very tasty Vegetarian lunches and dinners at just Rs 150/= are available. Nonvegetarian meals are also available if ordered in the morning.
Its an ideal location for families as well as business travellers and the rates are simply unbelievable for a city stay

Room Tip: Noise from traffic could be disturbing without the AC in the rooms facing the road. The other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MACKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My experience at the YWCA guest house, Chennai was indeed overwhelming – and one of its kind. After having spent 4 nights and 3 days there, I feel more confident of adjusting to any adverse condition in India and abroad. Despite booking a deluxe double room almost two weeks in advance, I figured, on the day of my arrival, that the A/C was dysfunctional and the TV refused to switch on. The reception staff, who were immediately alerted, tried their best to convince – and later on argue – that A/Cs worldwide took an hour to cool down room temperature. Except for Ms Aruna who was more sensitive towards the matter, I found the rest of the personnel unhelpful or, perhaps more aptly put, unprofessional.

Room Tip: A safer bet would be to go for a non-A/C room, as one with air conditioners give you a similar effec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Unni27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This quaint guest house features attentive service, fresh Indian meals (breakfast included in the night's stay; lunch and dinner optional), and clean lodging. One can't do much better for an economical stay in Chennai.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed for nearly a month with another friend. We took an A/C room. However, the A/C would turn off on its own in the middle of the night for the first few nights we were there. It was terrible because the heat would wake me up with the A/C off.

When we were there, a few guests checked in after us and midnight horror would ensue. These guests would blast the TV set from the lobby area from 11pm (there is a lobby with a TV set on each floor) to midnight. After that, the children would run up and down the room corridors till 1am and slam on the room doors of other guests. I could not take the nuisance and rang the reception, asking them to check on the situation. Just as I thought the noise was over, the whole hullabaloo resumed 10mins later. I called the reception again and they didn't answer my call this time. Very poor handling of the whole situation!

Other than that, the food was local South Indian and the laundry service was pretty decent. Friendly staff overall and nice garden just outside the reception.

Room Tip: Go for an A/C room, as the heat in Chennai is unpredictable. Also, I had no problems with mosquitoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellover2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights. The pros - it is a nice place, the staff are very helpful, it is reasonably priced, and the location is fantastic, very central. The restaurant is just OK. The breakfast that is included in the room price is pretty basic. The big issue for me was that I was in a air-conditioned room and the air-con was completely ineffective. I complained after the first night and they tried to fix it but did not succeed. If you are staying in an air-conditioned room, make sure you check that it actually cools the room. If the air-con had worked, I would have given this five stars. Everything else was pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgguy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#56 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
671 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,991 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#271 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#70 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,557 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Guest House

Address: 1086, Poonamallee High Road, Chennai (Madras), India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £26 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YWCA Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Guest House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing