We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Ranked #35 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
“Feel like home”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Apart from a very nice room, clean and super equipped incl. some complementary food - I cant be enough thankful for the great welcome and service at the entry and the desk.
Polite, clear, helpful and quick. Don't know what more to ask for but come back for a longer time !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai and sharing your experience through this forum. Our team was delighted to read your review. We hope to welcome you back to Somerset Greenways Chennai and promise to deliver more such memorable experiences every single time.

With Warm Regards,
The Management,
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    82
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
92
39
21
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Somerset for 1 night in a studio executive room.. Never had a better birthday.. D staff is courteous (Mr. Ashok at the desk).. D food is awesome.. The ambience superb.. And the rooms well maintained... It was raining so couldn't use the pool but d rooftop pool is the cherry on top..
Definitely a 5 star stay experience...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi07-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways and for writing such a positive review about our serviced residence and our service. Our team was very happy to hear about your experience. We've also passed on your compliments to our colleague, Ashok. We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Greenways on your next visit to Chennai.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

good place to stay in if u wanna be dependent on urslf cmpltly...terrible food service...ppl try to show dat they wanna help but they cant do much bout it....can improve...no shopping place nearby...
I had a stay wid y fiancé 4 a week...din work ou well 4 me though dis place was recommended by my fiancé herself...she was surprised to as she din expect such service..
but must say spacious rooms..good in room facilities..

Room Tip: try it out if u gonna stay over a week
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakaiyamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, General Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways on your last visit to Chennai. I read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered at the restaurant. As we do not handle the operations of the restaurant, I have brought your comments to the attention of the restaurant management.

I would appreciate it if you could please contact me directly at +91 44 7100 0071 or write to me at supriya.malhotra@the-ascott.com, so that my team and I can investigate this further and address your concerns appropriately. We would need more information on the incident so we may take remedial action immediately.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Somerset Greenways once again.

Warm Regards
Supriya Malhotra
General Manager - Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Value for money, a peaceful place, away from the city chaos. Rooms provided with all facilities
Including a hot plate, microwave and utensils , good specially if u are visiting chennai with kids.
There is no eatery or market nearby and the hotel room service is just terrible
N my first day came tired from days work around 8pm, wanted to order
Some food but even 10 calls no answer, finally I had to satisfy my hunger
With the complimentary biscuits provided in the room, same thing repeated
Next day. On enquiry I found that they do not run a Resturant on their own.
It's outsourced to some third party.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcpusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways on your last visit to Chennai.

Our guest service department is operational 24x7 and would've been delighted to assist you had they been informed about the inadequate response from the restaurant. As we do not handle the operations of the restaurant and food service to the apartments, we have brought your comments to the attention of the management of the restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Somerset Greenways because of this.

We really hope to welcome you back once again and promise to not just meet, but also exceed your expectations on your next stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Recently we stayed at Somerset Greenways at Chennai. We were very impressed with the quality of the room, cleanliness, service, courteous staff and the location of the hotel. good value for money. I would any day recommend this hotel for a good stay in chennai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways and for writing positively about our serviced residence. Our team was very happy to hear about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Greenways on your next visit to Chennai.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great serviced apartment - spotlessly clean, quiet and very spacious, this was an ideal choice for a short business stay. Very comfortable bed and great facilities, including microwave, hob, washing machine etc, not that I was there long enough to make use of them. The staff and general standard of service was excellent.
My only criticism would be in the restaurant - the food was of a good standard, service a little slow, but there was not a drop of red wine to be found, in the bar or the restaurant!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways on your last visit to Chennai and also for your very positive review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the restaurant. We've stocked up on all our beverages since and also, as we do not handle the operations of the restaurant, we have passed on your comments on the service to the concerned personnel.

We'd be delighted to welcome you back to Somerset Greenways once again.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and had a good stay, enjoying a spacious room and a nice swimming pool on the rooftop overlooking the city/some coastal areas. The room is bigger than a standard business hotel room with a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with a separate bathtub and a shower room, and a small kitchen. It was nice to have free Internet too.

Breakfast is quite basic but adequate. Staff were mostly friendly and very helpful, though the person who handled the bill at the time of check-out did not say anything and was not pleasant (unlike other Somerset staff).

One thing that bothered me was food smell that woke me up in the morning. I think it came from another room where a resident nearby was cooking. The smell did not come every morning but I would have preferred to have woken up fresh without any food smell.

Since the room is generally bigger than a hotel room, and it is quite well-equipped with facilities (e.g. gym, pool, rooftop area, children's play area, etc), it can be a good place to stay for a family with children too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikiHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, General Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Greenways as your accommodation during your recent trip to Chennai. While I was delighted that you rated your stay with us with 4 stars, I read with much concern about the unpleasant experiences you encountered during your stay here. I assure you that this is the first complaint we've received with regards to our staff's attitude or the exhaust system at Somerset.

I would appreciate it if you could please contact me at +91 44 7100 0071 or supriya.malhotra@the-ascott.com, so that my team and I can investigate this further and address both issues appropriately. We would also need more information to identify the apartment you stayed in so we may rectify any issues with the exhaust system in the neighboring apartments.

It is our every intention to provide excellent service and products to our residents. I would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard we strive for. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm Regards
Supriya Malhotra
General Manager, Somerset Greenways Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#13 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Greenways Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Greenways Chennai

Property: Somerset Greenways Chennai
Address: 94 Sathyadev Avenue | MRC Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Greenways Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Greenways Chennai is managed by The Ascott Limited, a member of CapitaLand. Head-quartered in Singapore, The Ascott Limited is the largest international serviced residence owner-operator with more than 200 properties across Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. It operates three award-winning brands Ascott, Citadines and Somerset in over 80 cities spanning more than 20 countries. The 187 contemporary serviced residences at Somerset Greenways feature fully-equipped kitchens, separate living rooms complete with state-of-the-art home entertainment systems and extensive recreation facilities including an infinity swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym with steam and sauna rooms, a residents' lounge, Cubbies Kids' Club and outdoor play area for kids. These extensive features and warm and attentive, personalized services ensure that our guests feel the comforts of home even when they live and work away from home. Located just 10 minutes from the central business district in Chennai, you can travel conveniently throughout the city while enjoying the comforts of home with designer layouts, furnishings and facilities. They are complemented by the extensive services tailored to executives and families. Two international cuisine restaurants and a lounge bar are located within the residence. The rooftop garden offers a secure area for informal social gatherings, barbeques and relaxation. For business or leisure travel, choose the comfort and security of a private apartment with the personalized service and facilities of a Somerset Serviced Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Greenways Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Greenways Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing