We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments spoil by bad service and poor food quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Ranked #36 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Overall the hotel is clean and well presented, spoiled by staff not well versed with customer service. On many occasions when rooms were serviced a shortfall for resupply of towels or soap seemed to be an issue, having to chase staff many times until late evening to supply.Burgundy Restaurant, food served cold, seemed to be a reluctance to follow standards for food to be stored in heated containers. I was reluctant to relocate, my apartment was well appointed, comfortable and in new condition spoiled by poor room service and food quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriya_Malhotra, General Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr Thomson,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai and for sharing your feedback with us. It is our every intention to provide excellent service and products to our residents and we are very sorry that there was a lapse in our service during your stay with us. I would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard we strive for.

We've taken your comments very seriously and are in process of taking remedial action on the same. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us, giving us another opportunity to serve you better. Please contact me at +91 44 7100 0001 and/or supriya.malhotra@the-ascott.com, so that I can help you with your stay arrangements.

With Warm Regards
Supriya Malhotra
General Manager
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Somerset Greenways Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews we booked this hotel and were very disappointed.. The rooms were just ok but the service was very poor.. The breakfast food quality was very poor, cold, stale and lacked flavors.. The management also needs to learn to fix these issues when such issues are raised.. Very disappointed!!

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank 74travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriya_Malhotra, General Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai and also for taking the time to share your feedback. We read with much concern about your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time an issue arises so that his/her concerns are addressed promptly.

Please contact me at supriya.malhotra@the-ascott.com or +91 44 7100 0001 to brief us about the incident that left you disappointed so that we can take every possible remedial action to ensure the incident does not occur again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Greenways Chennai, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

With Warm Regards
Supriya Malhotra
General Manager
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Exceeds all expectation. Have been staying here frequently since last one year whenever in Chennai. The quality/service of hotel is equal or better than any 5 star hotels. The only drawback is with limited choice of food. They have a nice lounge Bar with good collection - expensive when ordered in room. If you have it from the lounge bar they offer discounts to room quest. There are good restaurants around the vicinity of the Hotel which provide delivery to room.
Hotel has great gym & swimming pool. The hotel staffs are very friendly and makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Have stayed here many times in different rooms. All rooms are equally good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukesh n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriya_Malhotra, General Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We are pleased to inform you that in addition to Burgundy's, we have also newly launched another restaurant, Social, located within the premises of Somerset Greenways Chennai. Now our residents can choose from two restaurants serving a variety of Indian, oriental and continental dishes.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again.

With Warm Regards
Supriya Malhotra
General Manager
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Perfect place for a family, business or personal stay. Staff is good, friendly, ready to help and make genuine efforts to keep the guest happy.!
Property is great with all up to date facilities!
Play area for kids is a great value add in this pollution free part of Chennai.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardiknirali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

With Warm Regards
The Management,
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel/serviced apartments 3-4 times over the past year.
I'll keep coming back as it ticks all the boxes on my list.
Location is very central. Amenities such as pool, gym, 24 service, wi-fi etc. are all excellently maintained and provided. The rooms are tastefully and conveniently furnished.Good value for money( especially if your an online member- which btw is free!)
Special note to the all the staff at somerset who all do a very good job at keeping all the tenants happy. Especially a Mr. Vinodh who was went out of his way to assist me.

Room Tip: The Studio Premier rooms which come with a balcony is a refreshing addition especially in the cooler...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun211087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Greenways Chennai. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Rooms are very spacious and equiped with lot of white good like washing machine, drier, oven etc. Good location i.e. close to the beach and very calm and serene.
Service is also good however there are no frequent replenishment of toiletries
Gym is good and so is the swimming pool, jacuzzi
Reception is very close to any changes and do not accomodate any changes at all. This was a serious turn off for me. They do not have any loyalty program either
Breakfast and dinner is very good and the bar hosts some of the best brands. Overall a pleasant experience

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karthikg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We're delighted that you have taken the time to write about your experience at Somerset and also for the very positive rating you have given us.

We did, however, read with much concern about the incidents where we failed to meet your expectations. We've taken this up with the team and assure you that is not the usual service standard that we strive for.

We hope to welcome you to Somerset Greenways once again and give us an opportunity to serve you better.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Located in RA Puram, Somerset Greenways is a very good hotel. Love their whole concept of extended home.

The room - comes with a full fledged kitchen (including utensils and cookware), a front loading washing machine, spacious bathrooms which include bathtub and shower area,extremely comfortable beds and a small couch

Amenities - the infinity pool is located on the roof top and has an amazing view of the sea and the beach. There is a separate kids pool, which is also clean and well maintained. Clean towels are provided along with beach chairs. The roof top provides an amazing view of chennai and is really a treat during sunset. The gym looks good but did not get time to use it. There is also a common room with a Nintendo Wii and some board games. Some very easy ways to keep young ones engaged

Food - the breakfast spread is pretty taste and I observed a lot of people who are not guests also walking in for breakfast. A good mix of Indian and continental fare (including some very tasty danish pastries). Did not try lunch or dinner at the restaurant.

Service - The staff are courteous and patient with kids but did not use room service or request for anything different

Overall - a great place to stay in case of a business visit or with family. Would surely recommend the place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Procrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on this forum. We look forward to welcoming you to Somerset Greenways once again.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,487 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
897 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,162 reviews
Citadines OMR Chennai
#83 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
14 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Greenways Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Greenways Chennai

Address: 94 Sathyadev Avenue | MRC Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £63 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Greenways Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Greenways Chennai is managed by The Ascott Limited, a member of CapitaLand. Head-quartered in Singapore, The Ascott Limited is the largest international serviced residence owner-operator with more than 200 properties across Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. It operates three award-winning brands Ascott, Citadines and Somerset in over 80 cities spanning more than 20 countries. The 187 contemporary serviced residences at Somerset Greenways feature fully-equipped kitchens, separate living rooms complete with state-of-the-art home entertainment systems and extensive recreation facilities including an infinity swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym with steam and sauna rooms, a residents' lounge, Cubbies Kids' Club and outdoor play area for kids. These extensive features and warm and attentive, personalized services ensure that our guests feel the comforts of home even when they live and work away from home. Located just 10 minutes from the central business district in Chennai, you can travel conveniently throughout the city while enjoying the comforts of home with designer layouts, furnishings and facilities. They are complemented by the extensive services tailored to executives and families. Two international cuisine restaurants and a lounge bar are located within the residence. The rooftop garden offers a secure area for informal social gatherings, barbeques and relaxation. For business or leisure travel, choose the comfort and security of a private apartment with the personalized service and facilities of a Somerset Serviced Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Somerset Greenways Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Greenways Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing