We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pleasant Stay Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at Pleasant Stay Guest House from 1 August 2014 To 3 August 2014. It is neat and clean guest house. We got homely treatment there. It is well furnished guest house. Mr. George has left permanent mark in our mind. If I visit Chennai again I will stay only at this guest house. I can say it is home away from home.
Ajit Pachore
Sangli (Maharashtra)

Room Tip: AC deluxe room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajit1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Mr. Ajit1957,

Thanks for your comments,

It is very nice of you to spare time to write the comments as you are a very busy person.

YES. To keep the Guest House clean, the amount of time and money we spend is enormous. The main point is that we offer our guests a very clean place to stay. This is our top priority. The persons like this guest is able to understand and compare other places of their stay and appreciate the cleanliness in our Guest House.

With best regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Pleasant Stay Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Am writing this review after TWO official visits to Chennai in AUG 2013 & AUG 2014. And both the times there wasn't an ounce of difference in the comfort and hospitality at Pleasant Stay Guest House. In fact, it got better and better.

And what makes this guest house a Seven Star hospitality is the modest, polite, friendly, affectionate & stupefyingly ORGANIZED owner, MR. GEORGE ! He will be your guide in this region with a language problem for non-Tamils. You ask anything & Mr. GEORGE will help you if it is practically possible for him to do. What makes him STUPEFYINGLY ORGANIZED is, the detailing of small but extremely vital things like providing a visiting card along with the address printed in Tamil (to show it to taxi/rickshaw drivers) right when you check-in, providing facilities like Wi-Fi, a detailed list of cab services & their charges, menu cards of around five hotels, provision of tea-coffee (self-help & free), provision of iron (laundry) a washing machine & so on !!!

The guest house has a great welcoming room for the guests with collection of huge antique items which immediately puts one in a great mood right after entering the guest house. And this guest house is well-protected with a nice Pomeranian & a huge Labrador who again are STUPEFYINGLY TRAINED as they will come close to the guest ONLY IF the guest wishes to. :)

At least for me, when it's going to be CHENNAI, it is always & always going to be Mr. GEORGE & THE PLEASANT STAY GUEST HOUSE !

--- NINAD PAGEDAR..

Room Tip: Just enjoy. All the rooms are equally GOOD.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NINADPAGEDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello Ninadpagedar,

Thanks for making positive comments on our Guest House.
YES. This is the second time this guest had come to stay at our Guest House. Like this guest, we are very confident that those who come to Chennai for the second time will positively prefer our Guest House.

From the comments made by this guest, the reader can understand that we give priorities to minute details. For us the comfort level of our guests are very important.

We thank this guest for his valuable comments.

With best regards,

George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As mentioned in previous reviews, George, the owner of Pleasant Stay Guest House, was wonderfully helpful and concise from the very get-go. After viewing tariffs and room options on the direct website, I wasn't too sure what would be the best set up for my boyfriend, my friend and myself who were all stopping in Chennai for one night before heading to Delhi. So I emailed George and received a very prompt reply with clear information on available choices for our short stay. We ended up going with the deluxe suite with an extra bed. After replying with confirmation of our booking I received another prompt email back from George confirming our booking as well very clear information on how to get from the airport to the guest house, with details on how to book a taxi (by getting the taxi company to call him directly for directions and instructions) and how much it should cost. Then the day before we were due to arrive, George sent me another email advising that the booking was confirmed, but he would be out of town, so sent us alternative contact numbers for his assistant Mr. Robin.

When we touched down in Chennai, everything that George had outlined in his email had been spot on. We arrived at the guest house within 20-30 minutes and was greeted by Mr. Robin (and a very cute dog!). He had us settled in our room within moments and after freshening up and settling in, we ordered an Indian breakfast on Mr Robins recommendations, which was delivered in about 40 minutes.

Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom had lots of natural light and wasn't too bad - my only qualm was the water pressure, which was pretty poor and the hot water didn't seem to work, however it was so hot that a cold shower was fine. Wi-fi worked well all over the guest house and there was a lovely lounge and common area outside our room which faced the charming little garden downstairs. There is also a fridge in the room, which we thought was broken t first, but then we realised we had to plug it in and turn the temperature down to cold (doh!).

As mentioned, we only had a short stay in Chennai, so we had a rough idea of what we wanted to see and Mr. Robin provided us with some great information on the best way to get around and the operating hours and general information of local temples and sights. We chose to get around by taxi and could have a driver for 4-6 hours for a fixed rate - I can't remember if it was 800 or 1200 rupees, but I remember it wasn't too expensive. And honestly it was the best way to get around Chennai in the short amount of time we had. It saved us from wasting time with navigating and he basically chauffeured us around all day.

After a long day of sightseeing we decided to order dinner at the guest house and got a couple of curries, naans, roti and rice. The servings were massive and between 3 of us, we managed to finish the naans, but there was curry and rice left over.

George ended up meeting us later that evening and was very professional and personable. He arranged a taxi for us for our early morning flight the next day and farewelled us the next morning. All in all, my companions and myself were very pleased with our choice to stay at Pleasant Stay Guest House and would have no hesitations in recommending it to anyone visiting Chennai. It was a lovely guest house, helpful staff (Mr. Robin was awesome!), well-priced and a good variety of food options and was conveniently located about 20-30minutes from the airport. My only suggestion would be to pack some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, as you can hear the constant beeps and horns of traffic from the roads (but that's India in general, everywhere we went in India we could hear horns blasting from the roads).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P-Dingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello P-Dingy,

It is very nice of you to make SUCH A LONG COMMENT ON OUR GUEST HOUSE. We appreciate you for sparing so much time to write so many details and about your experience in our Guest House.

The travelers look for such detailed comments in TripAdvisor for their guidance. I am sure your comments will help a lot of travelers.

As you had stated in your comments, we try our level best to answer ALL the E-mails with-in few hours of their receipt.

We have noted that the water pressure in the entire house is very good. In the specific accommodation in which you had stayed, there was clogging and it was removed and that problem was rectified.

We are happy to note that you and your friends had enjoyed your stay in our Guest House.

We thank you very much. All our staff and myself are grateful to you for making such wonderful comment on our Guest House.

With best regards,


George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were travelling to Chennai with our 19-year-old son and wanted a place near to airport. As we were to stay, only for one day had booked a standard room with an extra bed. The place is neat, clean, and well located near the Church. We could order dinner from a nearby restaurant for delivery and had it in their dinning hall. Next day continental breakfast was handled by the family and was very good. The owner is a fine person. We were pleasantly surprised when George moved us to a bigger room for the night, which made our stay more comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK_672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello RK_672014,

Thanks for your comments on our Guest House.

YES. In some cases, even-though the guest had booked for a smaller room, if the bigger room is available and if there are children involved, we up-grade the accommodation and give a bigger accommodation for the earlier agreed smaller room charges. This is only to make the guest feel comfortable. This is done only in rare cases.

It is nice of this guest to state this point in their comment.

The comfort level of our guests are very important for us. The money is secondary.

With best regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The best thing about the guest house is GEORGE.
GEORGE takes care of everything
A wonderfula and an awesome host.
the stay there was comfortable and wonderful.
Hospitality is amazing.
the place is close to airport and the railway station.
food is on order but George manages is BEauuuuuuuuutifully.

Thank you for making our stay so comfortable
Amit

Room Tip: if you are a couple go for the king size room. it has an awesome feel to it. if you are on business...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athussu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Athussu,

Thanks for your comments.

YES. The Extra Large Deluxe Suit is the best suit we have. It is very reasonably priced. An accommodation of this size, costs double of what we charge in other places and in hotels. People who ever had stayed in this specific accommodation had commanded very highly of the arrangement. A person feel great to stay in such a big accommodation.

This Extra Large Deluxe Suit accommodation has a Fridge, sofa set, private dressing area, large writing tables, bath tub in the toilet etc.

Regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The best thing about Pleasant Stay Guest House was the host, George. He basically organised everything, we didn't have to worry about the how, what, and where :)
Located about 30 minutes drive from the airport, it was the ideal place to stay as i had to catch a flight back home that night. It was clean, good size room and bathroom, with free wifi. Highly recommended when you are transitting in chennai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_n0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello lil_nom,

Thanks for your comments.

YES. Our Guest House is an ideal place for transit passengers. Our Guest House is only 4 KMs from the Chennai airport. With in 15 minutes you can come from the airport to the Guest House. We also arrange for airport pick-up and drop for those who ask for it.

Many times the travelers need a clean place to stay from 6 to 10 hours. They look for a reasonably priced and close to airport accommodation. Even pilots and air-hostess had stayed with us. In Chennai, you need to stay some where close to the airport in such situation otherwise you will spend hours in travelling and it will also cost you more money.

The comments from this guest will encourage transit passengers to select our Guest House.

Thanks.

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a good option if you are in transit via the airport. Spacious room in a lovely house with friendly dogs and owner. No eating options in the immediate area but George will phone for the takeaway of your choice, pay the delivery driver and serve it to you on a dining table with crockery & cutlery - just settle up at the end of your stay. George doesn't charge, but be aware that some of the establishments add up to 20% for delivery, and George will add a small tip to the driver (just Rs15 or so). Tea and coffee are freely available and there's a fridge you can use (best to label your stuff - another guest nicked my bottle of Slice thinking it was a freebie!). Downsides? - um....maybe the aircon was a bit noisy, otherwise I can't think of any!

Room Tip: Its a small guesthouse, not a hotel - so there is no lift
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello Kate JS,

Thanks for your comments.

I am sorry to note that the small child from the family staying in the next room had - by mistake - taken one of the bottles of the fruit drink kept by this guest. We have apologized for the same and supplied another one to this guest.

Some times, when guests ordered from special restaurants that are far away, these restaurants charge for the transport / delivery charges. We are advising them to reduce these charges.

I am glad to note that this guest had enjoyed their stay in our Guest House.

Regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
1.1 mi away
Trident, Chennai
Trident, Chennai
#10 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#19 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Feathers A Radha Hotel
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Chennai
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#68 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
72 reviews
1.8 mi away
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Stay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Stay Guest House

Address: 4/18. St. Patricks Church Main Road | St. Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 401 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: £38 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House and Furnished Accommodation of International Standard offered for foreign tourists, Non-Resident Indians ( NRIs)and for those coming on work assignments to Chennai, India. Exceptionally clean and safe accommodation at a very reasonable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pleasant Stay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing