We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lotus Serviced Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievably helpful staff”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We've been travelling for half a year now, but I have never yet encountered such helpful staff in any accommodation anywhere. I don't know the title of Raga Dharsan at the Lotus Serviced Apartments in Chennai (most call it the Lotus Hotel), but he runs the desk at the hotel and provided us unbelievably good service. We are traveling in India for three months and moving every 5 or 6 days, so the logistics are formidable. We stayed at the Lotus for 5 days to give us time to schedule the next two months. Raga booked all of our trains, found us snorkels and masks for the Andamans, printed our plane reservations and made accurate suggestions on everything from restaurants to buying underwear. The Lotus already wins all sorts of awards as a place to stay, but the hidden gem is Raga. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-and-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    47
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
14
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kabul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel gets great reviews in a popular travel guide, I can only say that generally standards in Chennai must be poor.

A few weeks ago, on new years eve, I was staying in a hotel in central London for not much more than I am paying here so I expected a higher standard.

As i entered the room at check in, the concierge emptied one of the wardrobes of somebodies clothes, however he neglected the half full bottle of water beside the bed.

Most upsetting was, only a few months after recovering from Dengue fever that left me hospitalised for 10 days, I came back to a veritable swarm of mosquitos in the room. In Asia this is normally attributed to cleaning staff leaving the door wide open and the insects migrating in from the corridor. However they arrived in the room, the hotel should not be putting their guests at risk in this way. Enough said.

More effort required

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteamyKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at this property for a day with family. The stay was comfortable as the check in check out was smooth, rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable

Also the location was good as the hotel was near to the best shopping place in Chennai- T nagar...
All major shops are at walkable distance from the property..

The tariff was also reasonable and we felt it was a value for money hotel for stay.

Would definitely recommend the property to family and friends and would ourselves consider coming back here again if needed for our future travel need.

The front desk people were smiling and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghavlakshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

There was a hiccup with the check-in as they did not have availability of the room i had booked but they didn't make me wait . I was immediately provided with a temporary room and was told i would be shifted as soon as something was available or i would be upgraded.And as promised i was upgraded to the suite from a standard. The staff are very courteous.Was overall a pleasant experience.

The only thing that i didn't like was that our room was cleaned even though we didn't ask for it to be.Felt like a slight invasion of privacy. But apart from that the whole experience was comfortable and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get one of the bigger rooms with the queen bed and a kitchenette if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarunthenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stepped off the plane from London at 10 am and needed somewhere to freshen up and have a small nap before going to the station at 4pm to get on an overnight train.

The room is a bit tired and the bathroom was a bit grimy but perfectly acceptable. We were charged for a full night stay which was a bit rough (£40).

Good Indian restaurants nearby though!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

During our recent visit to Chennai, India - we opted to stay in Lotus Service Apartments - after having heard good reports from family. We stayed there for 10 days and found our stay to be surprisingly pleasant. The room with a double bed and a bathroom/shower was clean and sufficient for our needs. Breakfast came with the room and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast every day of our stay. House staff kept the room clean every day. An added bonus was the car and driver that we had for our trip - who came independently of the hotel though, which made our trip that much more enjoyable for the Driver (Raman - 9840254123 & 8939004666) afforded us the mobility that we needed.

The service apartment is centrally located which made our stay that much more convenient. I would recommend a stay at the Lotus for anyone who needs a clean place to stay in Chennai - at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Located in a quaint street, the property is well maintained and clean. Once can stay here very comfortably. The rooms are comfy, clean and noise proof. even though my room over looked the street there was no noise.

Since this is a service apartment concept there is no food, but the reception has couple of menus out there which you can order from. The bill is paid by the reception and gets settled in your final bill.

Almost all rooms are alike so there is not much to choose from. Breakfast is ok, nothing great and the staff is not keen to give a good breakfast experience so don't bother about it. What ever is kept on the counter is all that is there and eggs to order take time and due language issues you may not get what you ordered.

Rest the place is good for business travel and being in T Nagar you have many other options for food.

Room Tip: None other than food - of you plan to eat outside great place to stay else you may face challenges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#12 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
The Residency
#34 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#15 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lotus Hotel Sameera
#93 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#11 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Serviced Apartments

Property: The Lotus Serviced Apartments
Address: 15, Burkit Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 621 Speciality Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lotus Serviced Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Lotus Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Serviced Apartments Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing