We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More bad than good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Residency

Olive Residency
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olive Residency
Ranked #283 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More bad than good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last nite .its poor. the staff were friendly n the place was clean .now the down side the tv sound was faulty the toilet seat was split in half right where it hurts .the air con only worked on one temp .the fan on one speed and we were given a single blanket for two people in a double bed .when i asked the resepenist for a towel he just laughed . I was kept awake all nightby what seemed to brought construction work takin place on a near by building .so take my advise n give this place a miss

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank toytowntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
2
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is average budget hotel. Rooms are not so clean but bed and bathroom were neatly arranged. Towel was neat but bearing signs of huge usage in past. This hotel have 4 floors, while their lift runs only till 3rd floor. Rooms are of 10x12 feet at max and with noisy but effective AC. Location is good considering it's proximity to Shankar Netralya, Apollo hospital and egmore railway station. This is situated on greames road and autos are available till late. They do supply hot water.

Near the hotel, within 100 meters, there is average restaurant. You can get cheap tiffins and meals.

While official rate of this hotel is INR 1075 but you can get 10% corporate discount. I have stayed here for a night and had good night sleep. I have called them directly and were able to book it without any advance.

Room Tip: I like the 4th floor, because it allow you to have access to small terrace. Note that terrace is ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhubri, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

As I am in this Hotel right now very good Hotel for family stay, location is very good, sea Beach also near by this Hotel approximately 3 to 4 kilometers away, the main thing is that about location the famous Apollo Hospital is just walking distance of 10 mins. By the way rooms are very neat and clean, Bathroom is small but ok as this is a budget Hotel, they have elevator also, suits rooms are much better, most of TV Channels are in Tamil and Telegu, Be-careful in one matter that is, if any one book this Hotel Room over telephone be sure they kept room from you, what happen with me i came to Chennai near about 11 pm when i was here they allotted me only one double bed room, while I was book one Suit room and one deluxe double bed room, even when I have taken confirmation on the same day before flight take off. But in all way Hotel is Good, it will much better if you book through Trip Advisor site.

Room Tip: Corner Suit rooms are better for stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshimMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

stayed here for 2 days.
Room is very basic with a tv and an a/c (noisy one). Hotel location will be preferred if u want to live in a busy area with restaurants and traffic activity on both sides, otherwise opt for less noisier options in Chennai. Was a single female traveler and from that point of view the hotel is safe. Recommending it to budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wannabemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

1.It's olny 10 min. walking distance from Apollo main hospital, 7 min. from Apollo Children's hospital and 5 min. from Apollo heart centre.
2.Though this hotel does not have their own restaurant, there are many decent restaurants around.
3. There is a Masjid next to it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Najeebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The booking was easy. The receptionist guy was good. He patiently took up the booking and also cared to confirm.
Pluses:
1. It is near apollo hospital, American embassy, Mount road
2. Less tariff compared to other hotels
3. Clean compared to other hotels with the same tariff
4. Decent
Minuses:
1. No ample parking space. Have to park outside the hotel
2. Rooms become dusty and sandy because it is in the main road

Overall it is an average hotel and value for money

Room Tip: Take the rooms which does not face the road. So that u can avoid the dust
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheerfulmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed only one night and it was satisfactory. The noise from the street was very loud, but that is to be expected in Indian cities. Our room had a nice balcony looking down on the street. The service was good and the cleanliness was okay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
KTDC Rain Drops Hotel Chennai
#107 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Sakthipriya Hotel
#266 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Sun Serviced Apartments
#223 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Melody
Hotel Melody
#251 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#201 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Residency

Property: Olive Residency
Address: No.2, Greams Road, | Thousand Light,, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing